We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Matsuba

Matsuba
10 Red Lion Street, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 1RW, England
+44 (0)20 8605 3513
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $82 - $82
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was really looking forward to my Bento box before going to the movies. The quality of the food did not match expectations and was expensive for what we received.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    12
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Very pleasing - will visit again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised on our recent lunch visit. Matsuba is pleasantly furnished in a contemporary style with lots of dark wood. The menu has a mix of Japanese and Korean options, and although I might agree with other reviewers that this isn't typically authentic Japanese, it's pleasing nonetheless.

Although it's on the pricy side, I must say that I couldn't fault the food or the service. We will definitely visit again, and would highly recommend giving this place a go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Food is great (when it arrives) but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been visiting Matsuba regularly for over a year and there is always a warm welcome from the owners....BUT...

Food quality is always excellent and I can't fault the taste, presentation or quality of any of their dishes that I have tried. A nice touch is that they will frequently give you a small taster dish on the house to start your meal - encouraging you to try new or different flavours.

Service is variable - typically there will be two junior waiting staff along with either the owner or her son. There seems to be a typically high turnover of junior staff and they are often unfamiliar with the menu or options available - they can also be busy and it sometimes takes a while to get anyones attention even when the restaurant is quiet.

When it comes to the end of the meal it can be a bit of a surprise/shock - prices are significantly higher (for portion size) than the other local Japanese (Maki) or Yo Sushi! Also, note that their signs indicate that they accept Amex (and there is a current Foursquare Amex marketing deal offering money back if you pay with Amex) but for the past 3-4 months I have been repeatedly told that they cant accept Amex due to 'a short-term problem with their card machine'.

Disappointing as they do make an effort with the food and it's always great...but price and service always make me think twice despite being a regular visitor.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Give it a miss.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Really disappointing. My main was cold and when I told the maitre'd, he argued and was reluctant to change it. After 5 minutes of discussion he did but this took the best part of fifteen minutes by which point my stunning boyfriend had finished his main. Generally, the food was overpriced and there was no real atmosphere. Do yourself a favour and give this place a miss.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“poor sushi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Well this is not proper sushi lovers place very poor selection of fish, Some Korean dishes, but not bbq for proper Korean food better try to go to New Malden "Sorabol" Korean restaurants. For japanise food is not bad MAKI in kew road. Matsuba is only good for bento box in lunch time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsuba also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
 

Been to Matsuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsuba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.