We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in a time warp” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hobart Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hobart Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Hobart Hall Hotel
43-47 Petersham Rd, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stuck in a time warp”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Apart from the reception, which is quite attractive, this guest house is very poorly presented in many ways outdated. Our double room was small, carpets were old and stained, the paintwork was dirty and the bathroom was very outdated. The standard of cleanliness was borderline.
Breakfast was uninspiring. It featured ghastly fat free yoghurts with 'three for £1' emblazened across the lid and dull breakfast coffee - isn't it nearly always in hotels?
The dining room, overlooking the Thames, could be delightful but it needs decent furniture and decoration. This was a hasty pre-Christmas choice and a mistake.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    5
    11
    8
See reviews for
5
8
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

Where to start? Quite frankly this hotel is a complete rip-off! The room was fairly clean - sheets, towels & bathroom at least. Everything else was dusty & dull. Paid for a river view en-suite, but the river was barely visible through the overgrown foliage. Room was tacky, like going back in time to the 70's, NOTHING like the decor shown on their website. If you like tassles, plastic flower bouquets and odd furniture you'll love it here! Just naff. Lowlights include plastic curtains that don't close fully, stained carpet, a crusty shower head, lamps that don't work, an old, small & fuzzy TV, manky plastic flowers and an uncomfortable bed. To be honest we couldn't wait to get out in the morning, the thought of a continental breakfast didn't appeal in the slightest. But wait, nobody at reception til 7.15 and my car was blocked in by an inconsiderate guest! Booked this place in a hurry to ensure accommodation in the area after a slap-up £300 meal. What a downer it was returning here after such a good night out, even being very 'merry' didn't help much! Extortionate £110 rate when realistically a stay here is worth about £40 (and i've stayed in similar places in london for that price). Typical London tourist rip-off job! If your looking at spending this sort of money do yourself a favour and go to a holiday inn or travelodge instead! Glad we only stayed for a night! Horrid. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My daughter granddaughter and I stayed here, the room they put us in was very poor and needed updating, the TV was an old 14"inch and on a shelf about 7 foot up the wall so we struggled to see it. The bathroom had a badly stained and very smelly carpet, the large window was directly opposite the toilet, it had clear glass, so we had to keep the curtains closed all the time, as there was another window facing ours.
The breakfast was very disappointing, not much variety, no toast, and do not expect a pot of tea or coffee, you will be lucky to find a member of staff anywhere in the mornings.
The lounge was full of plastic flowers, and a very large plastic tree in the middle of the floor, the whole place made me think of the film Psycho.
The car park entrance is very steep and could damage the bottom of a car, the car park is very small.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, but there is no double glazing. Large flock of Parakeets on the trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I cannot understand any of the positive reviews for Hobart Hall unless it's purely for the location. I can only assume they are for people who don't care about where they stay but want to pay as little as possible. However, we paid £110 for a double room which I did not consider a bargain. The room was absolutely nothing like the photos on the site. As other reviews state, it is desperately in need of refurbishment. Plastic flowers and plants everywhere, surreal decoration in the hall and stairs and the most basic bathroom & TV I've ever seen in a hotel. I can forgive the dated decor, faded pictures and ancient bedding, but not the stained carpets, two small towels (not even a hand towel by the sink), no shower gel, a rusty shower, ONE tea bag, plastic curtains and the smell that could have been shake 'n' vac (oh and found a used cotton bud, nice). Got the impression that some elderly people live there permanently. We skipped breakfast as I couldn't imagine what the kitchen would have been like compared to the standards elsewhere. Wished we hadn't bothered trying to find somewhere individual and had stayed at a Holiday Inn/Premier Inn instead.

Room Tip: Floorboards creak all around you with other guests moving around. Permanent bright lights in hall me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The place is so tired and dated and is in dire need of some love, care and renovation. It is clean-ish, but.... Great location by the Thames, but... that does not ignore the fact that this is a terrible guest house. The breakfast, continental, left a lot to be desired. My particular favourites were the plastic floral curtains in the rooms and the carpet in the bathroom - goodness knows what was residing in that!

Room Tip: No idea what to do - stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I think this hotel is great value for money. The public rooms and the garden are lovely (although I wish there were benches in the garden), and the bedrooms perfectly adequate. You can park there, and the staff could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

I stay at this hotel frequently if I'm working late. I always stay in the single rooms with the communal bathroom - it's less than £30 a night and the breakfast is incredible. The single rooms are small and they are all on the ground floor over looking the car park with a single glazing window (read some car park noise). However, they do have amazing oil fired heater, tea facilities (with biscuits) and a tv (which works although is very small!). The toilet and bathroom are separate (there is only one of each between 10 rooms although I've stayed 30+ times and never had a problem with the bathroom in the morning).

There is a great lounge to hang out in with a large tv and new magazines.

It's a bargain and in a great location - you definitely get what you pay for (with the incredible breakfast as an added extra). Don't go expecting the Ritz!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hobart Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobart Hall Hotel

Address: 43-47 Petersham Rd, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hobart Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Hall Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobart Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.