We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian food I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delhi Orchid

Delhi Orchid
5 Petersham Road, Richmond-upon-Thames, England
02089488790
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Delhi Orchid is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Indian food I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I've been in Richmond with my girlfriend for several months now and we frequent Delhi Orchid at least once a week. We've tried every Indian place in Richmond and Delhi Orchid wins by far.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    23
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have visited Delhi Orchid many times and have never been disappointed. Our most recent visit found the restaurant pretty empty - a real shame and so here I am writing a review in hope to inspire others to chose this establishment over others in the area.

Of all the Indian restaurants in Richmond, this is the best of the classic variety. The service is excellent, friendly and efficient and as soon as the poppadoms and accompanying dips arrive, you know you're in for a good meal. Flavours are varied and fantastic and at the end there's always enough left to take away with you.

If you're after a good, classic curry that ticks all the boxes - go to Delhi Orchid.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“High quality curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Had a lovely meal. The Lamb Karahi I had was very tasty, with good quality tender meat. Tarka Daal was nice and garlicky, the garlic naan crispy and light. The food overall was a cut above the norm, as individual spices and flavours were apparent, not just a soup like some other places. Not a posh looking place, but it's the food that counts. Will definitely return when in the area again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MMM...something better?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were expecting something amazing by reading tripadvisor rewievs! But it's nothing special! Its quality is arguable! We'll come back, they have unlikely had a bad day!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felpham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were staying over in Richmond for the night and decided to try this restaurant . We were not disappointed. The food was lovely and the service was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delhi Orchid also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Delhi Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delhi Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.