We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shandon House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shandon House Hotel to your Saves list
Shandon House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   36 - 38 Church Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 1UA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't recommend even for my pet dog! Rooms were dirty, stains on the sheets, awful bathroom, cracks in tiles on floor and the breakfast what breakfast? Consisted of cereal and toast (which was made by a lady hiding in the corner not wanting to make it!) pay a bit extra and stay in the travel lodge, better value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    17
    13
    6
See reviews for
11
18
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on route to Vietnam.We chose this hotel in Richmond as it is close to Heathrow and only a few minutes walk from the centre of Richmond, which has lovely walks beside the river Thames.The bedroom was clean, but in need of updating. Our bed was comfortable and of a decent size. There was some road noise, but not too bad for the location.The light breakfast was good and had variety.The staff we met were friendly and helpful.
Given the price we paid (GDP 80 ) and its location, we considered this hotel to be fit for purpose !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Considering it was the cheapest deal I could find in Richmond it was fine as I only needed to sleep there. Decor was tired and the bathroom in need of an upgrade but the shower worked well and I have stayed in smaller spaces. TV screen was a good size- didn't need binoculars. Staff were extremely helpful- offering to take my luggage to my room. Chose it for proximity to station but in the end got taxi to the airport (too much luggage). Taxi organised for me and even rang mobile to tell me it was arriving. So all fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed in a single en-suite room with an American single bed. Bed is lovely - very big for a single. Room was very clean and more than adequate. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a more than adequate continental style - choice of cereal, toast and yoghurt with a very helpful member of staff making sure you are okay. Only downside is flight path of planes from Heathrow - but you get that all across Richmond - just takes a bit of getting used to for a visitor. Will definitely stay here again. Very close to train/tube station quick journey into the city and Kew Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had the double room near the reception. The cleanest of the room was a lot to de desired. I wrote hello on the dust on the headboard. The bedside tables we had to wipe the dust of them. Didn't feel I could have a shower tiles on the floor all cracked and the bathroom looked out to the road. The noise that we heard from our room couldn't sleep with staff from the hotel going in and out and also because the noise upstairs. The walls very flimsy. This is an old Victorian house converted into a hotel in Richmond. Stay in the travel lodge better value for money. We paid £80 wish we hadn't listen to me I'm not joking.Also we just had a room they wanted £20 for breakfast say no more

Room Tip: Don't have the room behind reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shandon-Richmond, Manager at Shandon House Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
The rate of £80 for this room includes VAT and continental breakfast, there are no additional charges for breakfast. This bathroom (Room 6) does have a window in the bathroom however the glass is frosted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Richmond-upon-Thames hotels

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

A new job has me based in Richmond and as the hotel round the corner I can't fault it. If you want all the trimmings then this isn't the hotel for you. If all you went is a comfy bed, good breakfast and a relaxing stay then this is for you. Ok, so it's under the Heathrow approach and the first plane of the morning can waken you, but this is a minor point.
Well worth the money. Will be staying here a lot this year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Two night stay for rugby match at nearby Twickenham. A comfortable, convenient hotel near the station and within easy walking distance of the stadium (although there was an excellent shuttle bus service on the day). Breakfast was cereal and toast, but plenty of cafes a ten- minute walk away offering full English. My only slight grump was the very small washbasin in the shower room. Pleasant staff and free wifi. Nice big flatscreen telly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shandon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandon House Hotel

Address: 36 - 38 Church Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 1UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shandon House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few hundred metres from Richmond Station and the town centre, the Shandon House Hotel offers free parking and clean, modern and stylish rooms at great-value prices. The Shandon House Hotel has a good, central location, close to all of Richmond's bars, restaurants and leisure facilities. Richmond London Underground and National Rail station offers easy access to London and the Home Counties. Trains run regularly to the heart of the capital, with Clapham Junction just 10 minutes away and London Waterloo just 20 minutes away. The attractive Victorian building houses newly refurbished rooms, all of which are comfortable, stylish and modern, and have LED flat-screen televisions with built-in Freeview, good quality beds and crisp bed linen. The bathrooms have granite surfaces, wall-size mirrors, chrome fittings and simple, yet stylish white tiles. Reception is open 24 hours and a continental buffet breakfast is available each day in the conservatory breakfast room. Free on-site parking is limited and is subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Shandon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shandon Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shandon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.