We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A divine dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bingham to your Saves list
Bingham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 - 63 Petersham Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A divine dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We ate at the Bingham on January 16th and had a marvellous experience. We started with cocktails by the fire in the cosy bar. My one complaint there was that the cocktails took a while to arrive and had far too much ice in them. It was hard to get to the drink!
We were shown to a lovely, comfortable table by a picture window overlooking the river. The scallop and ham hock starters were mouthwateringly delicious, followed by the equally divine venison and pork belly. The food is rich so we shared a dessert - blackberries and chocolate. It too was enjoyable although the milk icecream was a little bland.
The service was excellent with the waiters being attentive yet unobtrusive. The sommelier was friendly and gave helpful advice on our wine choices.
We also loved the little extra dishes from the chef, especially a kind of passion fruit granita which was a great palate cleanser.
All in all, a wonderful, romantic evening with superb food and drink. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    67
    28
    13
    19
See reviews for
29
126
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A terrifié boutique hôtel in the charming city of Richmond. Stylish with a terrific kitchen that served a fine breakfast and superb dinner fare. The staff was more than cordial and made us feel at home from the moment we waltzed in the door. Spent a lazy Sunday in the bar/ library/ lobby and watched the river flow over a tasty chenin blanc - "Ain't life grand?"- at times yes; this was one of those times. Bravo Bingham.

Room Tip: Ask for the river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have never stayed at the hotel as we are relatively local but we eat at Binghams restaurant probably twice a year and I have to say it continues to deliver absolute top class food and service. The new chef has taken what was really excellent food and by minor touches of flair has added an extra level. I heartily recommend this restaurant ............ and we will be eating here again ourselves.

Room Tip: If just eating, take a taxi as car parking is very difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Bingham is a wonderful hotel nestled in leafy Richmond. It has wonderful staff, gorgeous rooms (we had a river view) and great food. It's staff are very friendly and always happy to help. You must stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I've eaten very little better. restaurant is lovely. The service is fantastic and the food is amazing. We enjoyed every course that we are. The different bread that they bring round to the tables is delicious. The starters through the main courses & desserts were all exemplary; the quality of the ingredients, the quality of the cooking, the presentation of the food and the portion sizes were spot on.Thoroughly recommended and an asset to the area..Michelin star?Time will tell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been coming here for 5 years for dinner, afternoon tea, cocktails (exceptional) and more recently our daughters 6th birthday party. The service, food and drinks are excellent and the ambience makes any trip special.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

1 night business stay for single guest.

Great location for Richmond centre. Service was very good, room and hotel in general felt very luxurious.

My room as a bit small (up in the attic) but was very well equipped and very comfortable. Lots of nice touches in the room (like homemade biscuits) and ipod player etc.

I didn't use the restaurant as my business allowance didn't stretch to the prices!

View over the thames was really nice though!

I managed to get a discounted rate online, but otherwise I saw that the prices per night are quite high considering the room size I had. So dont over pay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bingham

Address: 61 - 63 Petersham Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6UT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bingham 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bingham is a restaurant with rooms in a beautiful Georgian townhouse overlooking the Thames and has been awarded an AA red star. Refurbished in a classic chic style, its award-winning restaurant has three AA Rosettes. The Bingham has also won awards for its afternoon tea. There is a destination cocktail bar, and the Bingham has 15 individually designed bedrooms, all en-suite. The popular Garden Rooms events space, and riverside garden are ideal for business and family celebrations, and weddings. Located in a picturesque riverside setting just minutes from Richmond town centre, Richmond's Royal Park, and world famous attractions such as Kew Gardens, and Hampton Court Palace, are all within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bingham Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Rodeway Inn Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.