We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dukes Head Inn

Save Saved
You added The Dukes Head Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Dukes Head Inn
42 The Vineyard, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed with my Brother in Law on a trip to watch the England vs Wales rugby match (it turned out not a very good "match" - Wales were far to good) at the Orange Tree pub.
The food was good, had dinner on the Friday evening & an Irish cabbage and ham on the Saturday night! The breakfasts were v good.
We had 2 double rooms and they were clean and the electric heater was useful because the central heating was not on - it was March in the UK! Beds are comfortable but the walls are a tad thin, My toilet bowl is a little to close to the wall and some adjustments are needed to 'get comfortable'.
All in all a good stay with a friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
13
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st helens merseyside
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Dukes Head is in a perfect location only 5 mins from the centre of Richmond but in a quiet residential area. We stayed in a triple room which was very clean and a perfect size for our two night stay.
Breakfast is very good cereals fruit juice and a cooked breakfast with toast and free papers. A cooked breakfast being included in the price is a rarity in other hotels in Richmond.
The pub food is also excellent, try their burgers you won't be disappointed.

The staff and owners are very friendly and make you feel very welcome, The Dukes Head would be my preferred place to stay in Richmond on future trips.
PS I didn't hear any planes!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a triple room together with our four year old son. The furniture of the room is a bit outdated, but it was clean. There is an extra radiator in the room, which came in very handy due to the cold temperatures. You could not hear any noise from the pub on the ground floor, but the planes flying into Heathrow can prevent you from falling asleep, if you do not use ear plugs... Breakfast is great, full English, porridge, cereals, etc., all there. The location is perfect, walking distance from Richmond city centre and station and close to many good restaurants. Recommendable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Dukes Head Inn is a wonderful little B&B in Richmond. I stayed a few nights while in London on business and enjoyed it. Wonderful food and great staff - extremely friendly. The pub atmosphere is a mix of local and visitors and the service is professional and fast. If you enjoy being close to the action but like your peace and quiet, book at stay at The Dukes Head Inn.

Convenient to bus routes and the Richmond train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed there one night to visit Richmond. It is very central but at the same time it is not on a main road so it is pretty quiet and you can get a decent sleep until early morning when you can hear the planes in and out of Heathrow (which I guess you would hear anywhere else in Richmond too). Bathroom is very small but serviceable and breakfast is good. Excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My 8 year old daughter and I stayed here for a week from 6 October 2012. We very much enjoyed our stay. Our twin room was spacious, warm, and spotless. It had ample wardrobe space, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and accomodating, and we loved our cooked breakfasts in the morning! We are looking forward to returning for another one-week stay next month.

Room Tip: If you are staying here on a Friday night, you might try and get a room that does not face on to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The room décor was a little dated but it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small but serviceable and there was plenty of hot water. The full English breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of toast, tea and coffee and a selection of papers to browse. The staff were very friendly and engaged freely with the customers. It was good value for the price and only 5-10 minutes to the train station. It is a good base for going back in to London or going to Ascot - it is on Heathrow's flight path; they woke me up at 6.00 and every 2 minutes after that. The car park is small but they will squeeze you in if they can. All in all a good value B&B. I would have given 5/5 if the rooms were upgraded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dukes Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Head Inn

Also Known As:
The Dukes Head Hotel
The Dukes Head Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Address: 42 The Vineyard, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dukes Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dukes Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.