We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shame about the food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Carluccio's

Carluccio's
31-35 Kew Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 2NQ, England
020 8940 5037
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, shame about the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great location,
Good service,
Poor food - bland, cold plates and the food had been heated up in a microwave (different temp across the plate)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    38
    23
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner. The starter of lentil soup was really tasty. Everything else was average to bad. The service was ramshackle but acceptable. The heating was upto 50 degrees Celsius and made it a bit uncomfortable. Worst of all though was that 3 of our 4 main courses were terrible. No flavour at all. Really bad. Boo

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good for a restaurant chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stopped here late one evening not long before last orders at 11pm. I expecting to be rushed, but we weren't, so that was good. The menu is fairly unadventurous but that was OK on this occasion. The pasta portions aren't that generous and for what we paid for starters and mains was double that for four 3 course set menus. So my recommendation is stick with the set menu as the À la carte is poor value unless there's nothing you like.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Visited for lunch 13 Nov 2013. Food was good, but one very overworked waitress was not able to provide quick service. (20 mins. wait to place an order. About another 20 mins. to receive the food. We were wanting a quick lunch. I don't blame the waitress. She was working hard, but I think she could use some help. The restaurant was more of less full, hence very noisy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Taste of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A really friendly atmosphere, helpful staff and good menu choices. Food cooked really well with authentic Italian flavours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carluccio's also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
 

Been to Carluccio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carluccio's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.