We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Considerate and friendly service in a London hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% OFF
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Considerate and friendly service in a London hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Richmond Gate hotel last week, with my wife's parents who are aged 91 and 89 - and apart from age are mobile and fit for their age. On arrival at the hotel, one of the managers (I did not get his name, but he was a Portuguese gentleman and most charming and helpful) immediately identified that the room they were allocated to was on an upper floor and he arranged for them to be on a lower floor.

The rooms in the hotel were excellent, we had a lovely view over the river, the dinner on both nights was extremely pleasant as was the breakfast. It was extremely useful to be relatively close to central London (it took me no more than 50 minutes to reach a business meeting in the City - door to door) and it was also convenient for us to travel to and from Euston for arrival and departure.

The staff were helpful, friendly and considerate - an important factor when you are travelling with elderly parents. My father-in-law was making a visit to the Bomber Command Memorial (he flew in Bomber Command 1941-1944 and was a PoW 1944-45), so at his age this was a significant trip. To stay in a comfortable and pleasant hotel was very important to him and to my mother-in-law.

Room Tip: De luxe rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    167
    98
    53
    33
See reviews for
86
231
19
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for 16 years and in the last 6 months it has become a very poor place to stay. This week I stayed for 2 nights and found the service on reception and at breakfast was poor as was the quality of the food. Bedroom decor is looking shabby with patchy paint work on bathroom ceiling and a shower that leaked spraying water all over the bathroom. Ordering a morning paper at check in ensured one was delivered on only one day of my stay. It's a shame as this was a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Expected a 4 star hotel but I would say its more closer to a 3 star. Location was excellent. If you like a drink I would suggest to use the pub opposite as the hotel bar is very small and during my 2 night stay we hardly saw a bar tender (think he doubles up as a receptionist) the food in the pub was first class also.
The rooms are comfortable with free wi-fi which was a bonus and I would recommend the hotel breakfast which was top notch. All in all a pleasant stay although slightly over-priced.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Arrive at 10pm. Just miss end of main room service menu but ask for cheese & biscuits.
Very prompt service, but only offered 2 packs of cheese biscuits - can't do / don't have cheese & biscuits (even though its on the room service menu that ended 15 mins ago!).
That will be me hungry until tomorrow then.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at the Richmond Gate Hotel 2 days ago. I had booked the hotel on a deal, that had some wrong information, which I didn't discover till after booking, unfortunately this was for a 60th celebration. I called the hotel and spoke to McCormick (the General Manger) who went out of his way. Not once was I told that as I had booked the hotel on a deal and that he couldn't do anything to help....he gave me everything I wanted plus more, he gave me my 3 wishes. He was so helpful as was his staff who also went out of their way to make our stay a really special one. Everything was excellent and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice decor throughout hotel, reception staff lacking and difficult to get anyone to answer a phone. Bar very small and limited range of drinks offered and very slow. Breakfast best avoided not enough staff on and breakfast room very small to accommodate size of hotel. Bedroom clean and comfortable although very strong smell of cigarette smoke. If in the area again would try another hotel based on experience of stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed with my family for a one night stay on a Friday night and had a lovely stay. The room was really well equipped and refurbished to a high standard and plenty big enough even with two extra beds in it. Bathroom was lovely too. Staff were very efficient and friendly and breakfast was great. Fantastic location opposite the Park and 20 mins walk from the tube station, ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have lovely view over the Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.