We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location, great spa,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Gate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Gate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% OFF Room Rate
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Location, great spa,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 night in a suite. The room was lovely and the location is great, the use of the spa was wonderful but there was a few problems with the hotel. We had a problem with ants in the room and in my sons bed. There was also no blind in the bathroom opposite the shower that looked out onto the main road. (i noticed once in the shower) The breakfast (cooked) is poor and the service was very very slow. I had £100 taken as a held payment on arrival and this took 6 days to go back into my account. We was offered a stay again and we used the cottage that was on the grounds. I must say the cottage itself was very nice but some parts of the decor was run down and needed cleaning and replacing.some points breaching health and safety regulations. on this stay the breakfast service was again very slow. I was given a bill for a phone call that the staff had made from the cottage on check out. I think the Hotel is nice and in a great location but I do not think it lives u to its 4 *s. I have had emails letting me know the comments and complaint I had made them aware of have been dealt with but this did not take the problems away from my stay and the money I spent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewLee191301, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for writing and review. As discussed with you the ants unfortunately were a “one off” issue and were dealt with immediately and the problem resolved. We did try to look after your family on both occasions and I have taken all of your comments on board and discussed with my team. All feedback is gratefully received.
Regards
Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    138
    87
    47
    26
See reviews for
72
192
17
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed just one night at this hotel. If the opportunity occurs again we will certainly return. The staff were most welcoming. We arrived quite late so were unable to make use of the great facilities that were on offer, such as the pool and fitness center. The bar is very pleasant and there are lots of areas where one can sit quietly. Up early and a quick stroll in Richmond Park. Room was good though I thought 'a little tired'.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewLee191301, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for writing and review and I was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. I will review your bedroom and ensure that the maintenance manager reviews this as I would hope that all rooms are maintained to a high standard.
Regards
Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a Friday night. before we were meeting friends in Windsor the next day. We actualy booked it through Secret Escapes so we had a great deal on the room plus a £25 off voucher as we had recommended Secret Escapes to a friend. The hotel is lovely, although a long walk up Richmond Hill and situated right next to Richmond Park. When we checked in and got our room key we discovered that there were already people in the room - good job we only saw their suitcase and shoes on the floor as we went in or it could have been very embarassing! However the reception were extremely apologetic and offered us an upgrade.Needless to say the room was amazing! It had a four poster bed and the room was big enough to house a sofa and chairs - I think this would have been the equivalent of one of the executive rooms that are normally around £375 per night! My only concern about the hotel is that they take £50 off a credit card for 'incidentals'. If you don't use anything else the money is put back on the card but I still found this unnecessary, as I will still be charged by my card holder for a £50 transaction for nothing and I am not sure when that will get put back on my card. They already have card details from the room booking so I don't see why they have to take a £50 transaction.

Room Tip: Room 14 was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewLee191301, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and I was very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were initially booked into an occupied room, but I am very pleased that this was dealt with efficiently and that we were also able to give you a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite. The pre-authorisation is purely to allow you credit facilities within the hotel to charge for food and beverage as an example – we normally ask for £50 per night. If you would prefer to pay cash as and when you order anything then that is fine, but it is purely to make the process easier for the guest. Whatever you do not use we then released on your departure. I hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Regards
Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We only stayed a night here but it was a welcomed relief the bed was a lovely big queen size and extremely comfortable, the whole place was so clean and beautifully presented, the bathroom and shower really great too, and excellent fast service, very much appreciated for weary travellers, plus the wifi is really good a and strong even in the rooms and free everywhere in the hotel! This hotel is really well situated right next to the gorgeous Richmond Park, and within easy walking distance to the shopping centre and an excellent pub which we had dinner at (sorry cannot remember the name but it is a hop skip and jump down the road on the same side as this hotel!) there are some lovely walks also to the Thames and cafes along the way too! We would definitely be back here we really enjoyed our stay! The only negative would be breakfast is a bit exy at £16.50 per person we felt this was too steep so we ate elsewhere, but there are plenty of choices just down the road!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewLee191301, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and I was very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Regards
Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel in April with my partner and we were so happy and decided to have our honeymoon here. it is very close to Richmond park and all staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a very relaxing time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewLee191301, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and I was very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and the team looked after you so well.

Regards
Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Glad i chose the Richmond Gate hotel , it is in such a lovely setting right next to Richmond park and a lovely 15 minute walk into Richmond. Richmond railway station is about a 25 minute walk where you can catch the undergound or main line trains. The gym and swimming pool at the hotel are really good. We had breakfast at the hotel which was excellent, plenty of choice. i would recommend the Richmond Gate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewLee191301, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel. Hopefully you will return again in the near future.

Kind regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Proximity to Richmond Park, made this an excellent choice for accommodation. I cannot fault this friendly hotel. Courteous staff, good food, smart, clean and comfortable rooms. The majority of the wedding guests stayed here, including the bride and groom. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone weanting to stay in the Richmond area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewLee191301, General Manager at Richmond Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Roger,
Thank you for writing a review and I was pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for the recommendation.
Kind regards

Andrew Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Gate Hotel

Address: 152-158 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star Richmond Gate Hotel is an elegant eighteenth century building situated at the top of Richmond Hill. Located in Surrey just 7 miles from London's West End and within easy distance from London Heathrow Airport. Richmond Gate is ideally located for visiting the attractions of West London and Surrey, including Twickenham Rugby Ground, Wimbledon Tennis, the new Wembley Stadium, Kew Gardens and Hampton Court Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.