We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Convenient and decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Good location between Heathrow and the City. Requires a cab ride from Richmond tube station, or a car. Small room, barely big enough for the reasonable bed, but well appointed. Good restaurant and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    263
    186
    91
    45
See reviews for
154
331
38
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I were given a night at the Richmond Hill hotel by friends as a wedding present. We spent our wedding night there and had a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and we were upgraded to a beautiful suite. The room was elegant and was exactly what we could have hoped for.
When I left my wedding dress behind in a fit of post-wedding madness, the lady at reception made an extra effort to check the lost property room even though she received my panicked phone call well after hours. Special thanks to whoever the wonderful person was from housekeeping who found the dress and handed it in!
We will definitely be thinking of a stay there for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport-on-Severn
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Richmond Hill Hotel has got a lot of character because it consists of a row of 18th century mansions which have been joined together to form the hotel. Despite the impressive size of the hotel the staff are very friendly indeed and there is an unfussy relaxed atmosphere. Our room was very nice and had its own balcony looking out over the back. There are some very nice public lounge areas where you can sit and relax. The lift is tiny and can only really accommodate two people with their luggage. The breakfast area is very nice and the breakfast was very good, with attentive friendly staff on hand. We attended a wedding in Richmond Park but we did notice a room set out very impressively for a wedding at the Richmond Hill Hotel. The hotel would certainly be an excellent wedding venue and has got a variety of rooms which would suit any family occasion or business event. The hotel is in quite a stunning location on the brow of Richmond Hill and it is a two minute walk to the entrance to Richmond Park. On the opposite side of the road you can walk along the street and it opens out onto a stunning view over a magnificent curve in the river from which you can see Ham House. The hotel staff let us check in early at 12 and we did not have to check out until 12, which was very helpful and gave us a 24 hour stay. We did have to pay £5 for parking. Because it consists of houses joined together the hotel does feel like a bit of a warren in parts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Richmond hill for one night after a wedding in the surrounding area. We stayed there on 23rd dec and the hotel christmas decorations were beautiful! Check in was easy and staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an executive room as there were 3 of us,2 adults and 1 child. The room was a little on the small side but had everything we needed incl iron and board, trouser press, mini bar etc etc. Breakfast was included and there was a great choice of food on offer from fresh fruit and yoghurt to cereal and traditional english. I would definatly stay here again and recommend to others. Thanks for a lovely stay and your beds are the best!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed overnight following a weeding held nearby. Early check made possible so able to unpack, make a cup of tea and settle prior to leaving for the wedding. Friendly, efficient staff, small but comfortable room. I was lucky and had a quiet night but some of our party were disturbed by a party held in the hotel. Breakfast included and a 'wedding package' package price so very good value. Would recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I would like to say to all your staff a big thankyou for making my wife's 60th a night to remember.
The venue was superb, the ballroom was decked out with Christmas decorations the food was excellent and staff so attentive and polite.
The rooms we all had were first class and decorated to a high standard and I did not hear one complaint from any of them. Best nights sleep for a long time.
The Richmond Hill Hotel was well situated for London and many local places of interest which some of our friends took advantage of.
Please give your staff a big thankyou and I am sure we will see them again.

Room Tip: Just book a room - you won't be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was after a dinner that I stayed at the hotel and it was very stylish with comfortable rooms with a lovely breakfast in the morning nothing was too mucg for the staff and they are very frinedly, its near the ton so you can waljk if you feel like a good walk or take a stroll down the river path

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.