We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was luck enough to stay here for work, beautifully, clean and had a huge room and massive bathroom. bar and Reception staff very good. Great Parking and excellent location. Wish I had longer to stay

Room Tip: Ask for the split level room :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. I do hope you have an opportunity to return at leisure, Richmond is a delightful part of London to explore.

kind regards,

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    237
    171
    89
    44
See reviews for
133
305
36
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Only stayed for one night while attending a family party in the area. Location was great and we were lucky enough to find a parking space in the car park even though there was a wedding taking place. Room was clean and functional and the bed was comfortable. Hotel was quiet and had a good night's sleep. Lovely walk down the hill into the centre of Richmond with views over the river. Breakfast was a buffet and the food was high quality and fresh with a great selection. Lovely fresh orange juice and little extra touches like Wilkins ketchup and brown sauce. Check in and check out was a breeze. Yes, the standard rooms were quite small, but it wasn't a problem for a one night stay. Would definitely use again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed review of your time with us at Richmond Hill Hotel. It is encouraging to know that our attention to detail has been appreciated, particularly that you noticed the freshly squeezed orange juice.

We are constantly reviewing our standards to try and make our guests stay extra special, I appreciate the feedback you have provided I hope you return to Richmond, when we will be sure to look after you again.

kind regards

Diane Tapner -Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel has a beautiful frontage, with several houses combined into one. They have their own open air car park with 24hr car parking costing £5. The ground floor interior is open and bright. Reception staff very friendly and welcoming. The lift is tiny with room for no more than two and bags at a push! Our room which was an Executive on 3rd floor overlooking Richmond Park was clean, warm and spacious, bed on the firm side but comfy and gorgeous duvet and pillows. Ensuite bathroom was ok. Largish bath with over tap shower and shower curtain. The layout upstairs consists of a warren of narrow passages.
Breakfast was very good with an amazing array of foods and drink to choose from. And service was very good.
The location is superb, with all you could wish for, try a drink at the nearby (5min walk) Roebuck pub. You can enjoy your drink outside and take in the most scenic of views!
Only downside for us staying on a Friday and Saturday night was that they had two weddings on both days, making it bustling at breakfast, although nothing that the staff could not cope with. However the thumping base music does reverberate through the hotel until midnight after which the silence is golden! This was not a major problem to us as we were at a wedding in another venue or out but others in our group who had hoped to go to sleep at 11pm found it disturbing.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review of your time spent with us at Richmond Hill Hotel. It is always a delight to me and the team to receive such positive feedback.

You are quite correct in your observations regarding the lay out of the Hotel. The original Georgian house, which now incorporates the restaurant, was built in 1726. In the late 1880’s two wings were added to the house and they now incorporate the Pembrokes bar and Queens’s room. Around 200 years ago (early 1800’s) the three houses at the far end of the site were built and they incorporate the now reception area. The original house became the Queens Hot el in 1874 then became The Richmond Hill Hotel in 1913 and following the Second World War the Grand Ballroom was built to link the two buildings.

With this heritage we are sometimes restricted with the size of modern extras we can add, the lobby lift being one of these limitations, although we are looking to replace this in the new year if we can do so without affecting the Grade 2 listing of the property. The Warren like corridors referred to we like to think add character however I can agree are sometimes a little confusing.

I am delighted that overall you experience was an enjoyable one and do hope that you choose to return to the Hotel when you are next visiting Richmond.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans

kind regards


Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

It's always pleasant to find a decent hotel, and the Richmond Hill Hotel is just that. Just. It has some faults; the standard rooms are small and pokey, the bathrooms are a bit dated; some carpets are stained; like most London hotels they charge residents to park there ( am I the only one to find this annoying, you are staying there for goodness sake!); and the wifi is free only if you opt for the "reduced bandwidth" option instead of forking out another wedge for the full service; and they charge £12.00 for breakfast. I remember a time when a decent breakfast was included in your stay...alas no more. Having said that the hotel is quiet, convenient, beautifully situated, and the food was of high quality. The bed in the executive room i was moved to was excellent, and the room was clean. All in all, a very pleasant stay, and although there are a number of minor niggles, the location cannot easily be beaten.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review of your time spent with us at Richmond Hill Hotel, I am delighted your stay was better than you expected. You will be pleased to hear that we are due to refurbish some of our smaller rooms in 2014, and hope to address both size, facilities offered and our environmental footprint with the works. We will keep the goose down toppers and duvets which have proved such an important part of the good night sleep our guests enjoy while staying here.

I am sorry you found some small niggles, breakfast is sometimes still included, particularly on our weekend or school holiday promotions, and these are regularly updated on our website. Mid-week a majority of our guests prefer to have a choice of a breakfast exclusive rate hence this has become popular over time.

Thank you for your comments regarding the food offer, the brigade in the kitchen work hard to provide freshly cooked dishes and are very skilled in creating delicious food, they appreciate your feedback.

I do hope you return to the hotel again, perhaps even trial our sample bedroom due to be completed in November, guest feedback will be important to us creating the right bedroom environment in the New Year.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner -Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

clean basic hotel, great place to make a base for thames walks and Kingston Shopping! room service and no problem replenishing tea coffe etc.comfortable outside smoking area away from the doors situated on top of richmond hill a stones throw from the lovely Richmond park

Room Tip: one at the front would be good as the view is not grat at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Hotel, I am delighted you found time to enjoy the local area. We do hope to welcome you back.

kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. The room was clean but the bathroom was extremely small on the 3rd floor. Breakfast had a very basic selection but had good quality food.

The hotel is quite expensive for what you get especially for such small rooms but the beautiful location makes up for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger bathroom then room 345 otherwise you might be struggling to get in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your business stay with us, I agree that we are very lucky to be situated in such a delightful area of London, Richmond is truly beautiful and we sit in a great location.

I am disappointed you found the room small, we do have a large variety of bedrooms due to the age of the Hotel, and try to accommodate a guests needs wherever possible. Hopefully you will return at leisure to explore the area and we will find a room that better suits your needs.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our eldest son was getting married in Richmond and as we live at the other side of London we needed to find somewhere nearer to stay for the night before and after. We looked on Google and liked the look of the Richmond Hill and we were not disappointed. The hotel is a calm haven with excellent service and facilities. Across the road are glorious views of the river and the town centre is nearby.
The restaurant had amazing food and friendly, efficient service. The breakfast was extensive again with excellent service. The rooms were clean and well appointed with everything you would expect in a hotel of this quality.
It provided an excellent base for the wedding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Theresa,

Thank you for your review of your time spent with us for such an important celebration. I think we meet during your time here while you were sitting in the lobby. Your review of your experience is a great motivator for the team at the Richmond Hill Hotel and we all appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and hope you return again soon.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.