We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some positives but way more negatives” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Some positives but way more negatives”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

We booked into this hotel as we are having work done on our house and needed a place to stay in the area. This may have made our view of this establishment slightly less forgiving as we were not on holiday but rather we needed a nice place to sleep.

The building itself is lovely with terrific views. It is a clean establishment and the bar is quite nice with a recently renovated look to it.

Now to the less positive notes - the first room we stayed in had the most uncomfortable bed in the world. Both sides sloped down and it was a small double meaning that the two of us crammed into the middle to keep from rolling off of the sides!

The next day we managed to change rooms (with a much better bed) however the room was stifling hot. As there is no air conditioning nor mini-bar, we opened the windows and ordered cold water from room service at 0230. Even the tap water was warm. It was miserable.

This morning when I took a shower was there ZERO water pressure and the trickle that did come out made it hard to even get the soap out of my hair.

At 0800 people started working outside of our windows so it was less than peaceful. Fortunately I had to go to work so wasn't looking for a lie-in however my other half works nights so his sleep time was precious.

The staff at reception were nice but slightly clue-less and slow. We asked where we could watch the football and we were sent down the road to a pub, only to find out that they have TV in their own bar!

Fortunately we managed to get out of reservation a day early and will be spending the remaining time elsewhere.

It is a lovely looking place but the general facilities are poor when all you really want is a good nights sleep.

  • Liked — Views across the valley
  • Disliked — The standard of the rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    237
    171
    89
    44
See reviews for
133
305
36
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

Our daughter chose this hotel for her wedding venue and reception so we had a 2 night stay. Luckily our room was quite large and in the older part of the hotel, recently refurbished and very clean. It was above a "venue" room but this didnt bother us. Our daughters room for the night before her wedding was another matter and was the size of a large cupboard with a double bed squeezed in it! You could only get 2 people at a time in there and it was by the laundry so she had a dreadful nights sleep However the food and service at the reception was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We did find that although we paid in full with cash the hotel still charged ur credit card with the "holding fee" but I hope that is now sorted out and our ard re-imbursed. The Spa was very usable and an excellent extra for the price

  • Liked — View from our room and excellent service
  • Disliked — Size of our daughters room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

We spent a long weekend based from this hotel (Fri-Mon). We got a great rate on a Suite so treated ourselves. The suite was recently refurbished and very nice. Large king size bed, small comfy lounge, walk in wardrobe and sandstone tiled bathroom. We where very pleased with the room and did enjoy our time spent relaxing there even if the suite had a poor view out the back of the hotel.

The hotel in general seems to be undergoing a rolling refurbishment and in general is well decorated and comfy in most areas. The hotel is in a lovely position at the top of Richmond Hill, one of the nicest views I’ve seen in London. It's a 2 minute walk to the gates of Richmond park and 15 minutes downhill into Richmond’s posh shopping areas (tougher walking back up-hill after a long day shopping!).

Our main issue with our stay was the late night noise from the many wedding/birthday functions this hotel hosts on a weekend. Our room seemed to be right above the main function suites and we where forced to listen to the disco till 12.30 on Friday. The night manager tried to find us a quieter room but all the suites and large rooms where taken. On Saturday we where let off with a 12am finish after assurances that there would be not loud music after 7pm. The staff tried hard to help us but with a packed hotel our options’ where limited.

We had room service on one night which was excellent and we noticed the hotel holds an AA rosette for its main restaurant so I would expect the food to be quite good. Breakfast on the other hand was pretty disappointing. Buffet style with everything left in a mess, hot food gently congealing in its own fat, and no real effort to maintain or refresh the buffet by any of the staff. Service and clearing was slow and the team preferred to stand in a corner talking with the managers rather than clear plates or tables. We arrived at 9.30 one morning and only just managed to get some food before the now eager staff started clearing the buffet, probably keen to get to their after breakfast break!

Overall what could have been a great stay was let down by late night loud music and a poor breakfast service.

  • Liked — Newly refurbished room
  • Disliked — Late night music
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

We booked a spa weekend break which included room, dinner, breakfast and 1 treatment each for £180 which seemed good value.
On the plus side the hotel is in a great position with fabulous views over the river. The check in was frendly and efficient, the room was nicely furnished and clean and bed very comfortable, the bathroom was very small but OK.
The spa treatments were professional and staff very pleasant but not very luxurious e.g no robes available. The pool and sauna/steam room was nice but very busy and noisy with lots of children on Saturday afternoon so not relaxing but was quiet on the Sunday morning.
The restaurant was disappointing, not so much the food, which was fine and a good choice on the inclusive menu, but the atmosphere- it is quite large and there were only 2 tables occupied on Saturday night and more staff than guests. Breakfast was Ok apart from terrible coffee and orange juice.
Overall OK but given the great location could be much better

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

We have just spent the weekend in london, the richmond hill hotel is a great place to stay.

Our room although rather small was very clean,modern and well equipped with everything you need.

The food and service was excellent, and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

Its also a great base to explore london with the underground about 25 minutes walk away, and richmond town centre has a variety of shops,
restaurants & bars.

Would certainly stay there again

  • Liked — modern & clean
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

We booked the hotel 4 days prior to our visit and were lucky enough to pay £99 for a double room which included breakfast. I requested a room with a view and we were given a front room overlooking the Thames and Richmond Park.

Reception was clean and nicely decorated and staff were very helpful and polite. However, we did arrive at the hotel around 6pm and parking was a problem so we parked in the Richmond Gate Hotel next door!

Our room had a superking size bed and it was nice and clean!

The only let down with this hotel was the health spa which you are allowed free use of as a guest staying at the hotel. We decided to go for a swim on Sunday morning and it was very busy with lots and lots of children! Changing rooms were tiny and it wasn't the cleanest swimming pool by far!! But it was 'free' so you can't moan too much.... Definately worth the money so book now!!!

  • Liked — location and decoration of the hotel/room
  • Disliked — the spa!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Stayed here on the weekend of 15/16 February 2008
Booked this through one of the Lastminute "secret" deals, got the name after we'd paid and then looked at the previous reviews and thought "Oh No"!
However.
Yes, the room we had was small.
It was well-decorated and clean.
The double bed was comfortable.
The room was warm - adjustable thermostatic radiator valve
Some of the best towels we've had in an English hotel and plenty of them.
We asked for a quiet room and the friendly efficient staff gave us one on the 4th floor (there's a 2-3 person lift) and at the rear. I always take ear plugs with me but didn't need them here. I expect if you got a room over the function rooms then noise might be a problem - as it can be anywhere these days.

We didn't sample the breakfasts and are therefore unable to comment on them.
We were able to drive straight in to a parking place on arrival, but I expect its a problem when there's a function on.

It's either a ten or so minute walk downhill (gorgeous views over the Thames) to richmond where there's an excellent train service to the centre of London ( one every 10 minutes or so for a 25 minute train trip to Waterloo - £5.80 off-peak travelcard) - or you can walk round the corner from the Hotel and catch the 371 bus into Richmond (£2 fare) for a 5 minute bus ride.
There is an excellent indoor gym, swimming pool and Spa bath adjacent to the hotel - to which the guests have the use of - with warm water in the pool and even warmer water in the spa - just as it should be.

The biggest test is "would we be happy to use this hotel again"? and the answer to this is "YES" - for the price we paid, despite the small room it was value for money.

  • Liked — The towels and also the pool and spa
  • Disliked — the size of the room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.