We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richmond Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Richmond Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Richmond Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Richmond hill hotel has many pleasant memories as I used to stay here every year for conventions. The location is beautiful at the top of the hill. Gym sauna swimming pool area was always great fun, clean and well maintained. Breakfast was fine, nothing special. Rooms always tidy, and depending on which area you stayed in, they could be really pokey and small, or a normal size room which was perfectly adequate...didnt matter if you booked single double or twin, it was always a game of chance. Can't really fault it but wouldn't call it 4*. Solid 3*, maybe a bit over-priced but I'd always pay just for the location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    263
    186
    91
    45
See reviews for
154
331
38
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for an event they were hosting and I must say I found the staff to be very helpful, the room was spotless and the breakfast was outstanding considering some of the breakfasts I've had in other well known hotel chains!

If you want a decent hotel, not too expensive in a perfect location only 5-10 mins walk from the town centre then I'd recommend this hotel any day, all day long!

Also if you can, try get a room at the front overlooking the views of Richmond and the River Thames.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6 weeks whilst working in London. The staff are this hotels greatest asset. At all times they went out of their way to be helpful including helping to play a joke on one of our group. Special thanks to Anna in the restaurant who soon got to know our preferences and was there with tea and coffee as soon as we sat down, it was like being at home. The new rooms are probably on the small side but even so they are nicely decorated and the beds are the comfiest I have ever slept in. I so enjoyed being here in the week that I brought my family he for a long weekend break. We had one of the lovely luxury rooms looking over the River Thames. Thanks for the Easter eggs on the pillows when we returned from a day in the city, a really nice touch. Look forward to coming back. Oh, and great breakfasts.

Room Tip: Go for one of the rooms in the older part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights in this hotel. What a disappointment. Whilst it is spotlessly clean it has no soul. The reception area (although newly renovated) is grey and lacking those touches, such as flowers, to make it welcoming. The same can be said of the bar and restaurant. Our room was functional but the lavatory was almost inaccessable. My husband who is not a huge man, 6'1," had to sit sideways due to the presence of a toilet roll holder screwed to the adjoined wall which protruded 10" over the pan. No mineral water was supplied which one would expect in a hotel of this standard. There was no information pack either. The staff were friendly and helpful, but overall not an enjoyable stay as our room was over the cooling systems which gave out a loud hum, even with the window closed. You obviously need to book a front facing room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

For business reasons I needed to stay in Richmond , having stayed in the area previously at a quite disappointing hotel ,I searched for another that would be convenient , with a little bit of luxury I like when I am away . Well I found it The Richmond Hill Hotel , high on the hill with breathtaking views of the river and beyond . The hotel is based around a Georgian house circa 1726 , adding grandeur to first impressions . The parking was busy but there was still plenty of spaces . The lobby is also impressive ,very like a small boutique hotel we stay at in Brighton . Soft greys and full of style . The greeting from reception was friendly and efficient . The lift however is tiny , there would be only enough room for one person if one had a large suitcase . What a let down when the lift doors opened on to the landing . The paintwork is chipped and tired , there is a solitary , stained stool tucked in a corner , the nets blinds to the window are a dirty brown , this was a heartsick moment . However , go through the fire doors into the corridor , the heart lifts again , the corridor was well decorated with decent carpet , unlike the tired grubby landing . The room very good the furniture is a little old fashioned , but the bed big and beautiful . The linen crisp white . We had a balcony which caught the afternoon sun , what treat . The balcony furniture needs upgrading , that did let the moment down a bit . The bathroom is modern , clean with plenty of white towels ( one thing that let it down was the lack of a towel rail . The early morning call was spot on . The restaurant is lovely . The breakfast a feast of everything . The staff first rate . On checking out , I felt sorry to leave , I would have liked to have had lunch or supper there . Ok will return well done Richmond Hill Hotel . I recommend , try. It , go and enjoy the view . .

Room Tip: Try and get a font facing one . Mine was at the back , but I would haved to have been able to look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Lots of us were staying for a family occasion so five or six rooms with lots of children. We all arrived well before check in time and after we arrived we had to change a few of the rooms around at short notice as the children wanted to sleep in different rooms so quite a challenge for the staff but they couldn't have been more helpful. They got the rooms ready as a priority for us so that we could get changed, shifted rooms for people and were genuinely very helpful. We only ate breakfast at the hotel but it was very well done and very welcome after the night before. Rooms were comfortable and fairly reasonable for London - we booked online. Pleased to recommend the hotel and I'll be staying again.

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of your time at the Hotel, I am delighted the staff tried to allocate your group early into the rooms; we try to be as helpful as possible to accommodate guest’s requests. It is lovely that you have taken the time to acknowledge this service and is very much appreciated by the team.

We do hope you return to the Hotel, when next visiting the area.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel looks as if it has been recently refurbished and is comfortable and clean. We were greeted warmly by the reception staff and given a room despite our early arrival. The basic double room was small but adequate and with pleasant furnishings.
The hotel itself is about 20 minutes walk from Richmond train station which was a bit of a trek especially coming back up the hill, but taxis and buses are available. The local area is delightful and lovely for a wander around on Sunday morning.
The only slight downside was the function on Saturday night. We could hear the disco and the very enthusiastic DJ in our room. It wasn't booming and wasn't disturbing but it was a relief when it stopped at midnight. I would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerRichmond, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Julia,

Thank you for your review of your time spent with us at Richmond Hill Hotel. I am disappointed you were slightly disturbed by the noise form the function, we try extremely hard to allocate rooms of guests not attending functions away from these event.

I hope you return to the Hotel again and we can make sure we reserve a room in a quieter area for you.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner -Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 6RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond-upon-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richmond Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.