We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - shame about the musak” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dysart Arms

Dysart Arms
135 Petersham Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW10 7AA, England
020 8940 8005
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dysart Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The Dysart Petersham is family owned and run. Everything about The Dysart Petersham, its initial restoration, approach to food, drinks and service, commitment to quality ingredients and responsible sourcing, concern for tradition, garden, is driven by a guiding family view and firmly rooted in the shared values of Manager, Barny Taylor, and classically trained Head Chef, Kenneth Culhane. Both are constantly inspired and re-invigorated by our beautiful, country, surroundings in this village and the changes it sees through the seasons. They are supported by a wider team, front of house and behind the scenes in the kitchen and by gardener and forager, bringing delights to us at unexpected moments. Both love the moment when new ingredients arrive each day, freshly gathered to influence the dishes. Together, the team is passionate about food and wine, sensitive to the increasing need, understood naturally in earlier years better connected with nature, for ethical treatment and welfare of animals, thoughtful and natural cultivation of plants, the value of old varieties and breeds, the richness that wild herbs, flowers and plants add and the wise use of resources. Both are keen communicators. Both want to make guests happy. Barny is never happier than when showing our nature board, explaining the ingredients, the flavour balances, the cooking methods, sourcing and traditions to those who want to listen - and why a particular wine is so good with them, often a surprising wine, but has the sensitivity from experience to know when guests simply want to enjoy the company, the food, the wine, the hospitality - the occasion.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food - shame about the musak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good food in this gastropub on the edge of Richmond Park. Friendly staff, but why do these restaurants insist on putting on ghastly 'wallpaper' music? Do most of their clients have nothing to say to each other? Even after 40 years together we have things to say and require some background peace in which to say it. We left before the live pianist started, thank goodness. In their favour - they did allow us to bring our dog into the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    46
    23
    17
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very good grown up evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a lovely dinner of lamb and pigeon, and the fabulous chocolate and fig puddings. Cost £100 for 2 (with a glass of wine) so not outrageous. Main course lamb was quite salty but generally innovative and very carefully cooked. Service was friendly but unintrusive.

It felt like a sophisticated, grown up restaurant in the guise of a pub. Seeing some of the reviews, I'm actually not surprised that young children aren't particularly welcome. I have young children and wouldn't want to bring them here. It's a grown up place to have a quiet grown up meal, and I think it's OK for some restaurants to be like that. I enjoyed the serene atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and unique food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We visited for a business dinner - with our office based in Thames Ditton, this was a short drive and provided a superior alternative to local Kingston or Esher restaurants.

The staff were superb - friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. For instance, highlighting items on the menu were sides may be desired. Their wine recommendations were also welcome and given with good humour.

The food was fresh and tasty, in particular the specialty homemade bread. There were interesting vegetarian options as well as plenty of good meat on offer.

I’d highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking to celebrate an event – it would also work well for a date night.

Coupled with onsite parking and seating inside and out, this is a hidden gem in Surrey/outer London.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“wine dinner to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Visiting London and a friend told me of the Wine Dinner hosted by the Dysart Arms for the Italian wine maker Jermann. The gardens are delightful and the interior stylish modern, Barney the Maitre 'D managed the evening seamlessly and the food was seriously inventive - we started off with four canapes, Smoked haddock, pink peppercorn & parmesan coulant ( a kind of spring roll); white asparagus veloute with lemon curd (a savory yet sweet expresso); girolle mousse, macerated cherries, toasted garlic, interesting tastes... and Hibiscus tea lollipops amazing with a white chocolate coating. The 2012 Pinot Grigio IGT (also available from a almost royal chain of wine warehouses) was so different from the completely vapid PG that one is frequently served elsewhere.
The miso glazed white pork belly, with Columbo spiced chick pea sauce was well made but was almost an anticlimax (2012 Vinnae complimented well). While the following course of Skate brandade, was completely enlivened by the sauce grenobloise (2010 Capo Martino).
The Marzipan roasted chicken sounded very weird but was brilliant due to the subtlety of the cooked combination ( with a hazlenut jus) and o what a joy - the tastes and smells of a proper bred chicken perfectly cooked. the 2011 Dreams (dreadful name) was a good Meursault quality chardonnay.
We finished with a perfectly mature cheese Brillat - Savarin aux truffles with a mini loaf of raisin polenta bread and one of Jermann's few reds a pinot nero the 2010 Red Angel a youngish pinot. To conclude a very fine evening with carefully executed, inventive food and an interesting selection of fine Friuli (Italian ) wines, ( apart from some completely banal names). The Dysart Arms is definitely a restaurant to return to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb food, beautiful surroundings, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Called in without a reservation on a Saturday evening at 8.15pm and the manager said he could to fit us in if we would wait for half an hour. We had been a number of times previously but not for several months. The place is really nice inside and we were happy to wait at the bar. When the food came it was superb. My friend had soup that was delicious (he had to wrestle it from me after letting me taste it). Everything we ordered was just gorgeous - lamb and beef for the main courses. The staff were friendly and helpful and all in all it was a great evening. I went to Hakasaan in central London earlier this month and paid £100/head. This meal cost half that and was twice as good. Confused by references to Gastropubs though - this is more of a restaurant with a bar area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dysart Arms also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Dysart Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dysart Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.