We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, tasty pie but where's the beef?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The White Swan

The White Swan
26 Old Palace Lane, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 1PG, England
+44 20 8940 0959
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $24
Cuisines: European, British, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Nice place, tasty pie but where's the beef?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This a pretty, nearly riverside pub with foodie pretensions. Yummy, I thought, haven't had a beef and Guinness pie with lovely flaky pastry for ages. What a disappointment: rather like Mrs Lovett's pies BEFORE she went into lucrative business with nice Mr Sweeney Todd, there was no filling. Was it "what with the price of meat dear, when you get it?" I don't know, but four mouthfuls of beef in a serious lot of gravy and onions, even with flaky pastry, just doesn't do it for me. Shame cos the chicken pate was good and my companion enjoyed what she had.
Might give it another go...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    42
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Swan-LIKE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We visited with a party of 4 and everyone was delighted with their choices (Sea Bass was phenomenal).

Beautiful food, warm surrounding and attentive service and a good range of beer/ale!

A must if you are in Richmond and a short walk from the green! A great location by the Thames. I imagine even better in the summer with the beer garden!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great riverside pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Proper pub grub, nice picky bits off the starters menu if you're not having a meal. Super range of beer with well kept ales and the best view in town. Nice walk through a charming area to get there. Great after a winter walk by the river which is why we go there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Swan-derful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This riverside pub is the perfect place for a Sunday roast or casual drinks.
The roast are huge and the staff are very friendly.
Save room for the sticky toffee and bring your dogs!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Essential Richmond visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place ticks all the boxes. Great service, lovely ambience, dogs welcome, I really cannot fault it. Utterly delightful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.