We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacco

Bacco
39-41 Kew Road, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 2NQ, England
02083320348
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bacco is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $39 - $109
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A well established family run restaurant where the pasta, foccacia bread and desserts are all home made. We serve only Italian wines from all parts of Italy. We also have a small private dining area which can accommodate up to 27 people.
Ilkley
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Not much to fault here : perhaps the shredded duck salad was not truly authentic ;maybe the waiter should have brought me the Chianti I ordered.... but the starter salads were terrific and the Salice Salentino wine replacement was both weightier and tastier and the waiter did let me have a glass of the Chianti just to prove the point.

Main courses were great - veal scaloppini with truffle sauce and a swordfish, the latter being a touch tasteless, but rescued by what came with it.

Charming service, topped off with an on the house grappa.

A great dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    34
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a nice lunch here. They have a set menus. £15 pounds for two course. The food was good but nothing special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Have been on a number of occaisions for a wine tasting dinner. Most recently had the excellent butternut squash filled raviolli as a starter, which were delicious, and the lamb with mashed potatoes. Considering we were 30, the food was served efficiently, all the plates were piping hot and it was enjoyed by all.

This is not in the main restaurant but in the side room. Only drawback, 30 is rather tight and 25/26 max would be more comfortable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A happy return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Back to Bacco.
Its an excellent place. Good food, wonderful service. The fresh pastas are a delight, as are the breads and coffee.
Its so good that we have booked ourselves in for Christmas Day lunch .
So, it will be Christmas Morning Mass at St John The Divine across the road, and Bacco for lunch.
What could be nicer ?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“You won't regret it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The ambiance is excellent for a conversation. Welcoming, calm and proper without any stuffiness. My husband and I came here for a dinner date outing, one of our few as life with a young child permits seldom outings. It was very comfortable, good service, welcoming. The owner is nice and brings a delightful Italian feel to his restaurant.

The food was good, the suggestion of a prosecco for aperitif an excellent one!

Not a place where I'd bring a young child, though who am I to say?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacco also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
Richmond-upon-Thames, Surrey
 

Been to Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.