We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kew Grill

Kew Grill
10b Kew Green, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 3BH, England
02089484433
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kew Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $58 - $97
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Holte, Denmark
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a nice restaurant for a business meeting. The place looks OK, not special but staff is friendly and the food was OK. It is a restaurant where one can find dozens off, not very special but OK for almost any occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    51
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best steak this side of the Thames”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

kew grill is my favourite restaurant in the area - especially for its superb steak. the delicious steaks complimented by an extensive wine list, cosy atmosphere, and a variety of side orders, appetisers and desserts (creme brûlée was a personal favourite) mean we always leave with a smile on our face. My only two - minor - complaints would be that the tables are very close to each other and the only beer they serve is Peroni. Despite this the staff - led by the very friendly Anthony, always ensure we enjoy our meal.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have never been keen on "celebrity" restaurants with cookery books in the reception, creating a perception of the chef rather than the food. I went here with modest expectations, and came away pleasantly surprised. The scallopes with black pudding were perfectly cooked and well proportioned, the T bone perfectly medium rare and excellent quality, and the four desserts ordered by the table universally enjoyed. The criticisms are minor - perhaps a little close to the next table, and a uninspiring choice of reasonably priced reds - but a very decent restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

tucked away just off Kew Green in a picturesque setting, the grills here are good but slow service and price don't offer very good value.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Very cosy restaurant and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a lovely restaurant, the decor is very warm and cosy with a lovely intimate ambiance. The staff are very friendly, pleasant and very patient (especially since people in our group kept changing their minds about food/drink choices!). I had a mushroom on ciabatta starter with melted cheese and a lamb rump dish for main. Both were absolutely delicious and the lamb was cooked exactly the way I wanted it. We all had two courses and drinks and the bill was around £40 per head.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kew Grill also viewed

Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Kew Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kew Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.