We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Fish & Chips!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tir A Mor

Tir A Mor
9 Denbigh Street, Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park LL26 0LL, Wales
01492 640421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Llanrwst
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“GREAT Fish & Chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This little take-out has a very diverse menu but their actual selection was limited that evening. Still, their cod was delicious- moist and tender, with a very flavorful, crunchy batter that was not greasy at all! This was the best batter on any fish we had from numerous places in Wales and Ireland, even those where we paid twice the price or even more! I would definitely go out of my way to return here if I were in northern Wales again. When ordering, I would only get one order of fries for every 2-3 persons. They are tasty but huge portions, and you'll want to save yourself for the generous fish portions. The folks there were cheerfully helpful and friendly, and their playful attitudes made the (brief) wait for our order pass by quickly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Visited this Fish and Chip shop a couple of days ago when visiting North Wales. I have to admit. it is one of the best we have been to. The staff were really professional and nothing was too much trouble. Well done for such great service and many thanks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

In the town for the weekend and this was the second place we were recommended.
As a fish and chip shop it is good. Busy so there's no soggy batter that's been sitting around for hours, not cold soggy chips either.
If you have trouble parking outside there is a FREE car park by the library, just around the corner and two minutes walk away.
Quick, efficient service. Hot and tasty food. Stuck to fish and chips. The fish was simply the best I've had from a chippy - even in Whitby! The batter wasn't too thick, just a thin crispy layer cooked to perfection. The fish was flaky, white and delicate, like it should be. The chips were good too!
Lined up for our next visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clun, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“May be unlucky but distinctly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

All the good reviews meant this was a go to place on a recent camping trip but sadly the experience was not as good as expected.

Certainly portion sizes are good and I like that the meals are served in cardboard boxes rather than sweating in paper.

Unfortunately though the food was cooked in rather old fat which spoilt the taste and the fish itself was rather dry and chewy.

It was certainly busy though. And parking to pick up was something of a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great fish and chips big portions great owners and friendly staff chips are very good and fish is always fresh and white with no aroma curry sauce good too

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tir A Mor also viewed

Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park
Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park
 
Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park
Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Tir A Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tir A Mor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.