We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maenan Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maenan Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Maenan Abbey Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maenan LLanrwst, Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park LL26 0UL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Abergavenny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was my second stay in this hotel, cheaper than the Premier inn and with tons more character. The staff are friendly and efficient, the food is excellent and good value, the rooms spacious and full of character. The full welsh breakfast was tasty and filling. On the down side you have to like animals - the hotel has a number of cats roaming around and dogs are welcome. Fine by me but not to everyone's taste.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    36
    19
    18
    16
See reviews for
41
69
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here. The hotel is in a lovely setting, with beautiful scenery nearby. We had a lovely warm welcome, our room(room 6) was gorgeous, the staff were friendly and helpful, the restaurant food was delicicious, and all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We checked in without any hassle and found the room to be really nice. We ate in the restaurant one of the nights we stayed and the price was very reasonable indeed (£13 for 3 courses)

The hotel, rooms and bar were all clean and tidy. Friendly staff who were always happy to help. Perfect location and the front grounds of the abbey were lovely.

Only down side was the problem we had with the room door. We were unable to lock it and they said they would get a handy man to look at it for us after our first night.. We came back to find door in same condition so we had been unable to lock it at all for 2 days. Fine while we were in room as we could put the chain on the door but useless while we were out. We left all our baggage etc in room but took our iPad, camera, gadgets etc with us. no one went in the room at all and everything was as it should have been so no real worry.

All in all a great hotel that I would happily return to as it was a thoroughly enjoyable weekend break.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a family Sunday lunch here, and were all very impressed with the ambience, hospitality, excellence of service, and well presented quality food. It is always possible to find somewhere that will exceed any individual dining experience, but I cannot imagine that any substantial improvement could have been made to the meal, and overall experience that we enjoyed, without at least doubling the budget. Three beautifully presented and very well cooked courses, with coffee, plus a round of drinks, for four people, in a welcoming warm victorian country mansion style hotel, with superb service, seemed a bargain at less than £20.00 per person. Couple this with the fact that the hotel enjoys one of the most picturesque settings with delightful gardens, and is easily accessed off the A470 between Llanwrst and Glan Conwy, and it is apparent why this venue enjoys the popularity it does.
We were so impressed by the hotel we have booked it for our wedding, and have been more than pleasantly suprised by pragmatic approach to the occasion taken by the hotel. Rather than perceiving the event to be an opportunity to make a killing financially, their attitude is that we are a party of people choosing to enjoy a meal at the hotel, and for a very modest extra charge we can have the use of their facilities for the civil ceremony. Amazing! The whole thing, excluding the registrar, will cost less than £35.00 per head, including welcoming drinks and sparkling wine for toasts! All we need now is sunshine so that we can use the lovely grounds for our photographs, we are certain that David, the manager, and his staff will do everything else they can to help make the day memorable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALWAY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've always thought you can have a hotel that's not too good, but so long as the staff are good, you can forgive a lot of things.

However, this is the opposite, the building is beautiful and a nice setting but the staff, in particular the general manager are so disinterested in their customers' views, it's not true !

What a shame. Could be a lovely place but the Manager needs to listen to his customers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were staying about 2 miles away and decided to have our evening meal here.We ordered our drinks and were offered a menu was quite varied,The waitress took our order and after a short wait were shown to our table.After a minimal wait the food was served,We found the quality of the food exellent and was served by friendly and accomodating staff.We enjoyed the whole experiance so much we booked for the whole week.Our thanks to manager Dave and all the staff and look foreward to visiting again next year.

Roger & Margaret

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abergele
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I must admit only had a meal in the restaurant, we booked our table for seven. we made ourselves known to the staff and that we had booked, we were shown into a bar room with very little seating and spent a very uncomfortable tree quarters of an hour waiting to be told what was happening. people came after us and were ushered into the restaurant. I can only assume they were staying guests and so took priority over us.but we were just ignored. restaurant was decorated on a budget and meal was mediocre. shan't. visit again. beautiful building,unfortunatly no printed history was available to read,which is always a bonus to a grand building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maenan Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenan Abbey Hotel

Address: Maenan LLanrwst, Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park LL26 0UL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maenan Abbey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maenan Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenan Abbey Llanrwst
Maenan Abbey Hotel Wales/Llanrwst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maenan Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.