We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For that Special Occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Maenan Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plas Maenan Country House to your Saves list
Plas Maenan Country House
| Maenan, Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park LL26 0YR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Llanrwst B&B and Inns
WIGAN
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“For that Special Occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I visited Plas Maenan Country House, with my wife on a Travelzoo offer which stated that 588 vouchers had already been purchased and that August & September were fully booked. When I contacted the Hotel I was offered an upgrade, for an additional payment, as there was just the one vacancy on the 1st August in a Suite. Our room was The Derby Suite and I can only describe it as 'A desirable one bed roomed flat'. The Suite has everything you would expect in a modern Kitchen, including a Utility Room, and a beautiful view of the Conwy Valley and Mountain range from either of the two windows. The shower has an adequate flow although the hot water does takes a long time. Very comfortable, peaceful and quiet and although there is not an Internet connection in the Suite, there is in the Hotel's main Dining Room but not in the Breakfast Room at the rear. In the event of a fire the fire exit is immediately outside the door to the Suite. Some of the Suites have a balcony but not the Derby.
If you like vegetables with your main meal then you have come to the right place. A small dish of cauliflower, carrots and beans accompanied the pan fried Duck my wife had chosen and, my choice, the Welsh beef which, I must admit, was perfectly cooked and melted in my mouth.

Room Tip: The Suites have the view of the Conwy Valley and Mountain Range
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    20
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
104
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chorley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at this wonderful hotel and it was absolutely amazing. Food was excellent, fresh and flavoursome, and the scenery is breathtaking. What made it really special was the way the owner (sorry can't remember her name!) welcomed us personally and was attentive but not obtrusive to all guests. A hearty welsh breakfast was served in the beautiful garden room. All in all a stunning location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We held our daughter's wedding at Plas Maenan yesterday, and couldn't fault it. Both she and her new husband enjoyed every minute of the occasion, and much of the credit must go to the efficiency and helpfulness of the staff.

From out very first visit, we were treated exceptionally well and nothing was too much trouble. The staff are very much experts at hosting weddings at Plas Maenan, so everything went like clockwork. We were extremely lucky with the weather, and most people spilled out onto the terraces for much of the day and evening. That said, the formal bits were held indoors and went off beautifully.

We had exclusive use of the hotel, and the staff were on hand if we needed anything. The service and food during the reception was excellent, as was the food served later on for our evening guest, and those who might still e a bit Peckham. However the portions are so generous, I'm sure this was unlikely!!

Quite few of us stayed overnight in the beautiful suites and rooms. Without exception, everyone was very complimentary about the standard of the rooms and the breakfast the following morning.

I would certainly recommend Plas Maenan as a venue for a wedding, or just for the reception. Quite apart from the experience they have with this kind of occasion, it must be said that the costs are extremely reasonable for the quality of service given.

Thanks to all the staff and management, particularly Nerys who acted as our co-ordinator for the occasion. It was a memorable day.

Room Tip: They are all gorgeous, with high quality fittings and fixtures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A beautiful little hotel, with a warm welcome from friendly staff, good service, excellent rooms, wonderful food with good choice and generous portions, well presented. Add to this a delightful location with stunning views. Highly recommended! Would like to keep this secret to myself, but can't!

Room Tip: We had a back room with no views of the valley, but it was delightfully furnished in a French style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greasby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We received a very warm welcome on our arrival, quickly shown to our room The Cricieth Suite. It's a great suite (twin beds) and well worth the upgrade price. The staff were all very friendly, a special mention for great service and attention from Ceinwen and James.
Our room and all areas of the hotel were very clean and well presented.
Dinner in the restaurant was most relaxing. with a wide choice available for all courses. The food was absolutely first class. Breakfast was just as good. Despite the hotel being full on our visit the staff coped well and service was great.
The hotel is well situated near Llanrwst, in a fantastic position on the hillside. In easy reach of Conway & Snowdon. Well worth visits are Bodnant Gardens (only 10 mins away) and Portmeirion Village (40 mins away, where the TV series The Prisoner was filmed).
A most enjoyable stay, we have already booked for a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a lovely afternoon tea here today with my sister to celebrate our dad's birthday. We sat outside on the terrace with beautiful views of the valley, and delicious cakes and sandwiches. Service was attentive without being intrusive, and the food was exactly what we had hoped for, a traditional afternoon tea, with some unexpected elements such as the lemon posset. The Bakewell tart was my favourite! We'll hopefully be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent a weekend at this beautiful country house for a friend's wedding this June. It is absolutely beautiful and the views are breathtaking. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The food was excellent, the rooms were tastefully decorated and we would definitely visit again. It's location makes it an ideal base for walking holidays and touring North Wales, with lots of activities nearby (including Mount Snowdon). Leaflets are available in reception and in the guests welcome packs in the rooms. It's really not that far from Conwy rail station and worth the trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have small balconies for smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Maenan Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Maenan Country House

Address: | Maenan, Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park LL26 0YR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Edwardian manor house situated high on a sunny bluff overlooking the mountains of the Snowdonia National park. The perfect choice for a short or long stay, dinner, Sunday lunch, a wedding or private celebration. Tastefully furnished and comfortable rooms. The perfect place to relax and unwind. 'To enter Plas Maenan is to feel like a welcome guest at a private country residence. Plas Maenan - you should experience it once in your life' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Plas Maenan Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Maenan Country House Hotel Llanrwst
Plas Maenan Country House Wales/Llanrwst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Maenan Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.