We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food let down by the service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plas Maenan Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Plas Maenan Country House to your Saves list
Plas Maenan Country House
| Maenan, Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park LL26 0YR, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Llanrwst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food let down by the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Food is good. I rarely choose steak, but their beef filet was the best I'd had in many years. The lemon posset was also noteworthy. However, this was negated by the poor service. To illustrate I had to find the waiter in the hotel bar having waited around 15 minutes too pay my bill

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    21
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
107
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A few of us recently went to the Plas Maenan hotel for Sunday lunch. We have booked this venue for our daughter's wedding in the summer, so this was a good opportunity for us to get a feel for the place. We won't have any worries. The ambience, service and food are excellent.

We were shown into the lovely lounge for a pre-lunch drink whilst we perused the menu. Our lunch was served in the room where the wedding reception will be, along with music from a harpist, which added to the elegant experience.

Or food was exceptional, and all members of our party were extremely impressed. The sweet trolley has been mentioned in previous reviews, and I can only echo these sentiments. Amazing choice and huge portions.

The staff are all very attentive, but unobtrusive. The whole hotel has a lovely warm welcoming feel to it, and we were not rushed in the slightest.

It all bodes very well for the wedding!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and myself had always admired this hotel and its grounds and when it cam to choosing our wedding venue we had no hesitation in choosing the Plas Maenan. From the first to the last the owners and the staff were helpful, kind and courteous. The rooms are beautifully finished and furnished. Would not hesitate to recomend.

Room Tip: Do not think they have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent a lovely New Years Eve with our family in the beautiful setting of Plas Maenan.The rooms were all candle lit,and the Music Room was beautifully set out for a splendid lavish buffet.We had a welcome glass of champagne and a warm welcome by our hosts.The food was delicious with great choice and Crayfish cocktail was my absolute favourite,oh and the pate with fresh crusty bread!The Deserts were served at our table which were divine too.Then we enjoyed a relaxing evening of jazz music,beautifully played by the band with dancing.At midnight a firework display with warm mulled wine,under the verander to bring in the new year.A magical evening with a great crowd ,thank you all at Plas Maenan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 25 and had pre booked a celebration evening. The food was good but the service could be improved. You don't expect waiting on staff to be wandering round tables with plates if food searching for the correct customer. Cold milk was served with coffee however we did ask for cream which we did get although by the time it arrived the coffee was cold.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plasmaenan, Owner at Plas Maenan Country House, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Normally for a party such as the one attended by this reviewer we request a pre-order and a seating plan to ensure speedy, direct service to the guests. However, on this occasion, the host and hostess requested that their guests should choose from an a la carte menu on the day and sit wherever they liked on the beautifully festive table for 24 we had prepared for them in our lovely Music Room. Thus, as is always the case without a seating plan, a certain amount of enquiry was nececessary to establish wyho had ordered what dish - not helped by the fact that some diners could not remember what they had ordered and some were absent from the table during the time the three courses were served! I was waiting on myself for this oparty and it is rarther unfair to say that the staff were 'wandering round with plates of food' when they trying to establish the correct destination of the dishes! The fact that the host and hostess were complimentary and left a generous gratuitity for the staff rather indicates that not everyone felt our service was not up to our usual standard.

However, cold milk and late cream is definitely not our usual standard and I apologise unreservedly for this - must and can do better! Although, as I am sure every hotelier would agree, we would much prefer a request for hot milk and a fresh pot of coffee on the day (a request which would have been met with pleasure) to a comment on Tripadvisor some three weeks afterwards when nothing can be done to rectify an unfortunate oversight on our part!

Caroline Burt
Owner
Plas Maenan

But
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey Wales
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Warm and welcoming on a cold dark December night
Nice staff
A building which felt like it had a history
Beautifully decorated for Christmas
Cosy comfy beds
Quiet (after our crowd went to bed!)
Stupendous views on a crispy sunny morning (Wished we'd stayed longer)
Amazing cooked breakfast
Sorry to leave!

Room Tip: We peeped into the bridal suite-you cannot imagine the view so ask if you can have a look!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We chose Plas Maenan as our wedding venue in January 2012 and were married there on 28 Sept 2012. It was everything we could ever have wished for and more. Caroline, Nerys, Carol James and all the staff made everything so easy from beginning to end, nothing was ever too much trouble. We made numerous visits for meals, coffee before our big day and the level of service and attention to detail is something you would see in some of the most exclusive hotels in London.
Sunday Lunch is outstanding (the sweet trolley a highlight). Everyone at our wedding commented on the amazing carvery and evening buffett.
The bedrooms are all individually desgined and are impeccable with some suites offering catering facilities, perfect for a weekend away, which we will definitely be taking in the years to come. We cannot wait to return for our anniversaries, or any other special occasions we have coming up. We will visit every opportunity we get. Plas Maenan really is a magical place, where memories and friendships of a liftime are made.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plas Maenan Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Maenan Country House

Address: | Maenan, Llanrwst, Snowdonia National Park LL26 0YR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Edwardian manor house situated high on a sunny bluff overlooking the mountains of the Snowdonia National park. The perfect choice for a short or long stay, dinner, Sunday lunch, a wedding or private celebration. Tastefully furnished and comfortable rooms. The perfect place to relax and unwind. 'To enter Plas Maenan is to feel like a welcome guest at a private country residence. Plas Maenan - you should experience it once in your life' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Plas Maenan Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Maenan Country House Hotel Llanrwst
Plas Maenan Country House Wales/Llanrwst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plas Maenan Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.