We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seaward Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seaward Hotel to your Saves list
Seaward Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44-46 Knightstone Road, Weston super Mare BS23 2BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We arrived after a long coach journey and were greeted by smiling staff. The location is perfect, across the road from the beach. A short walk to the Pier and into the town. Bus stops right outside the hotel. Our room was small but beds were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The bathroom was tiny. The decor is dated but the staff made up for that, nothing was too much trouble, for them. The food was excellent, thanks you to Miguel and David. Miguel came and spoke to all the residents and made sure they were satisfied. We took a local resident for lunch on Sunday and he said the Carvery was the nicest he had eaten. Lee, Sunday night's singer, was a great entertainer .
With a little TLC, this would be an even better place to stay.
Thank you to all the staff at the Seaward

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems, ask for a room with a bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    32
    21
    23
    31
See reviews for
19
46
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Soham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights from the 14th-17th March 2014. After I had booked the hotel I started to read the reviews and started to panic as to what I was to expect once we arrived. However, the hotel was quite cheap 150 pounds for three nights, on arrival we were pleasantly greeted and the room was ample in size. The room smelt musty, and was quite cold as the window was open and the heating was turned off at the radiator, a quick window closure and turning the radiator on and the room was nice and warm for when we returned from our evening meal. The musty smell, as I discovered and informed reception when we left was a faulty extraction fan in the shower room.
We had a double room, the bed was a good size and was very warm at night. There was a small tv which we managed to watch laying on the bed with no issues and a good sized wardrobe big enough to hang our enough clothes in for a short break. There was a nice view of the Grand pier and the sea with shared balcony and a small but manageable shower, it did take some time to figure out how to regulate the temperature but it was great after that.
The hotel as a whole was clean, we have no complaints about its cleanliness.
There was a coach tour staying at the hotel all of which were elderly but active and this seemed to be the appeal of the hotel with its quite dated interior, very much a blast from the past, but it was a cheap hotel, a place to sleep and relax in, that was the purpose of my partner and I coming down to Weston-super-Mare.
The first morning breakfast let the hotel down. There were two people taking orders, the coach tourists were seen to first and then the other guests, which I thought would be the case, as they were all sat in the dining room as you entered and the other guests seated closer to the kitchen. The breakfasts were good the choice of cereal, grapefruit or juice before the fried breakfast, but the toast two consecutive mornings was cold. They were quite disorganised, firstly there being no butter for toast and then missing cutlery. The top tip I can give for breakfasts here is to come down 5-10 minutes after 8:30, on our departure day we were down around 8:35 ish we were served quite promptly, had larger cereal portions and a larger fried breakfast, even the toast was hot this morning. All in all, it is a very dated hotel which caters for the older residents, but it is a good hotel for the bed and breakfast aspect, I would stay here again if we ever visit WSM again, it is a very good value hotel. I cannot comment on evening meals in the hotel as my partner and I did not eat in, not because of any reason other than wanting to get out the hotel to see a bit more of WSM.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

You maybe surprised by my opening title but I tell it how it really is, to begin with I am a coach driver who visits many hotels, I know what the companies charge etc etc, having just spent the weekend here at the seaward, I think a lot of you are members of that exclusive club. Hrc better known as the holiday refund club !!!!!!!!!!!! I have nothing to gain or lose by my thoughts I tell it how it is and from arrival to departure the staff could not do enough for my group and the entertainment was outstanding with no cover charge, I cannot wait to go back, thanks guys and gals, hope to see you all soon. A+++++++++. If you want 5 star quality then you don't belong on a budget low priced coach holiday. Rant over from Brian in North Wales

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed in this hotel as part of a National Holidays tour to Weston super Mare for 4 nights. To start off the week, we hadn't even got off the coach when someone from the hotel came on and said what we were having for dinner then scuttled off. Room very small, bathroom was ok but very tiny. When we mentioned this we thought something may have got done, but nothing did. Our window couldn't open and we had problem with the lock to the door to the actual room. Breakfast was limited, the coffee jug on the table was expected to go round 4 people and when we asked for more coffee and a pot of tea we felt like naughty school kids. As for asking for fruit juice - we may as well not have bothered. Dinners for the rest of the week were not that great either and the staff seemed to give the impression that we were all a burden to them.

Enjoyed Weston super Mare and Bristol but would not use this hotel again. It looked lovely on the website but looks can be deceiving.

Room Tip: Definitely look round at other hotels around Weston super Mare. We were very disappointed with our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and i are frequent visitors to the hotel on a sundays, i would recommend their Carvery to anyone, superb quality and value also the service in the bar is always excellent and staff welcoming and friend and being its in a great location its the perfect place to go and stay in the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I decided to take my girlfriend here for the night as it was valentines. As I briefly scrolled the website, I thought the wording and the pictures looked quite appealing.
Up on arrival I was soon to realise that I was wrong. As we arrived they said they don't have a clue who I am, even when I showed them my online booking. They said they had no more double rooms, but they had room '53'. So that was our room for the night, at the bottom of a long corridor we were greeted with no heating, shocking furnishing and minimal space, I carried on to open the closed curtains only to find that our ''seaside view'' to be a storage shelter for the kitchen of the restaurant next door, with chefs and other staff roaming and using the area as a smoking hut.
We ignored all of this and proceeded to go for food, and hit the town, returning back at 1:30 am looking forward to getting in bed, as we tried to unlock the front door, we soon found out that neither keys we were given fitted the lock!! We rang the phone, no answer. The doorbell, no answer. Banged repeatedly on the door, shock, no answer. Roughly 30 minutes after being stood freezing cold on the door step I spotted a open window in the lounge, so my girlfriend had to climb up through the tiny hatch window and let me in!! Finally getting to our room, we were kept awake by a barking dog until about 4:00 am.
The next morning we refused breakfast, and I asked for a refund and there reply was 'you slept in the bed in the end, so no chance'
After a few words were said, I got a full refund.
Didn't think they expected a teenage couple to have such an amount to say.
I would not wish anyone to stay at this dump. Ever.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in 2014 with a David Urquhart tour. Despite being moved to a second room at our request the bedrooms were so awful had we been on our own not a tour we would have moved.
The cleanliness was minimal in both the rooms and public areas. The food was terrible not the same as the general public were served. It was so bad I could only take toast for breakfast and ate out during the day. Hotel has nice kerb appeal and on internet looks good but photos must have been taken in the late 1970s. Ancient lift does not go to top rooms.
Unless completely refurbished - do not stay here.

Room Tip: Do not take ground floor room as it faces the kitchen and is very damp and so dull you need the ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaward Hotel

Address: 44-46 Knightstone Road, Weston super Mare BS23 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaward Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Seaward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaward Hotel Weston Super Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.