We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sandringham Hotel to your Saves list
The Sandringham Hotel
1-9 Victoria Square, Weston super Mare BS23 1AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went with David Urquhart on 6th August. Everything went like clockwork, don't know how they can do it for the price. Can't fault the hotel. All the staff were excellent, special thanks to Sue in the dining room. Our room was very spacious, a flat actually which was an unexpected bonus. The food was far better than expected and the evening entertainment was aimed to suit the guests. What more could we want? Would definitely return. There is plenty to see in this area as well. Bristol nearby, lots to see there and easy to get to on public transport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    99
    46
    25
    33
See reviews for
49
125
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

myself,wife,2 friends and my son his partner and 2 children have just returned from a weeks stay at the hotel all the staff were friendly and most helpful the rooms were excellent and the food very good the waiting staff in the dining room went out of their way to ensure the children were looked after and the bar staff friendly and helpful would recommend this hotel to couples and families alike. looking forward to seeing the new smoking area to be erected by esmeralda on our next visit roy derbyshire

Room Tip: rooms may be noisy on friday and sat but quiet enough with window closed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from another visit to The Sandringham. Stayed on second floor in one of the recently refurbished rooms. Excellent value for money. Food really good with lots of choice. The staff at this hotel remain helpful and friendly.

The hotel is in a fantastic location opposite the pier and central to everything.

Will definitely visit again :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Before the negative - let me talk about the positives. Was welcomed on my arrival by friendly staff who couldn't do enough for me. I had a single room on the 3rd floor which although small was clean and tidy however when I closed the door to the shower room/toilet someone had obviously forgotten to clean behind as there was a lovely wad of toilet paper on the floor! Breakfast was excellent and again staff were very attentive. I asked for Full English with no fried bread and got exactly what I wanted. Now the negatives. The communal areas of the hotel appeared slightly dated. The lift was antiquated and after the first time, I used the stairs as I didn't like the concertina doors. There was no hairdryer, shampoo or shower gel in the bathroom. When I asked at reception I was told I had to pay a £10 deposit for the hairdryer which would be refunded when I returned the item. They also advised they don't supply any toiletries other than the handwash. I was surprised - even the most basic of B&Bs I have stayed in have supplied at least sachets of shampoo and shower gel. Although they provided tea and coffee in the room there were no biscuits. After a long journey I was looking forward to settling down with a nice cup of tea and a biscuit and again was surprised a hotel of this size didn't provide such things. The television was an old fashioned portable TV that took up half the space on the dressing table unit and only received channels 1 - 4. I would stay again but only because the staff were so helpful and friendly. For the amenities provided it definitely gets poor rating but overall because of the staff and the excellent breakfast I have raised that to an average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night.The staff from start to our leaving were excellent.Nothing was too much trouble.The hotel was clean and the rooms were adequate.Breakfast in the morning was very good and again excellent service.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel right on sea front but next door to shopping centre for those rainy days. Food of very good quality and comfortable beds. Staff very helpful and nothing seems like to much trouble. Would be happy to return to this hotel.
No parking at hotel is only problem but car parks very near.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here recently with a coach party. Had a ground floor room which was very nice, although no view, the bathroom and shower were clean and spacious, with plenty of hot water.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good. As I am a vegetarian I was disappointed there was no veggie option on the menu, but that was not a problem after the first night as I was given veggie choices which were good and plentiful. The breakfasts were also very nice and ample. The hotel is in a great location opposite the pier and with a shopping centre quite close.
Only one bad thing, the mattress had a horrible waterproof rubbery thing on it which didn't fit well and rucked up and became uncomfortable. Other than this we enjoyed our stay at this hotel..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandringham Hotel

Address: 1-9 Victoria Square, Weston super Mare BS23 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Weston Super Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandringham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.