We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chris's Restaurant

Chris's Restaurant
12-16 St James Street, Weston super Mare BS23 1SS, England
01934 620 731
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited August bank holiday Sunday, around 7pm. There were a few people in the restaurant but it wasn't busy. We were greeted with friendly smiles and asked to sit where we wanted. The decor is a little tired but please don't let this put you off. The menu had a good choice I had gammon, chips, egg and pineapple. My husband had steak, chips, mushrooms and peas, ordered rare. We could smell the food being cooked in the kitchen it was lovely. The food was delivered to our table in good time, and now the best bit.... The food was exceptional, fresh and full of flavour, the plates were extremely hot as was the delicious food. Price was very reasonable, you should try this place. We will certainly return when we're in the area again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-restaurant, Owner at Chris's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive review, we are delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your meal. We pride ourselves on our food and service and try to insure that this is the best it can be for all our customers. We very much look forward to welcoming you on your return to Weston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

So it's bank holiday Sunday evening and were staying at the premier inn, with the standard brewers fayre underneath. What to do? Looked up tripadvisor and came up trumps.... What a place, don't be put of by the tired decor, the welcome was warm and friendly. The menu had a good choice. My wife had gammon and chips served with pineapple and egg. It was cooked to perfection, the egg just as she likes, but very very hot. I had a sirloin steak with chips, peas and mushrooms... Perfect steak, just perfect. Again everything was so very hot delicious. Portion size was on the larger side... Wonderful... We will go back if we're ever in the area again.... Many thanks...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-restaurant, Owner at Chris's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are very pleased you both enjoyed your evening meals with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chris’s Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Family Run Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this restaurant many times over the past 50 years, a Family Run Restaurant that serves Quality Food at reasonable Prices, and one of the few restaurant that I have visited that serve Real Chips not frozen chips, the Family are very nice friendly people, Try it for yourself you won't be sorry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-restaurant, Owner at Chris's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for the delightful review, we are pleased that you enjoy the experience to such an extent that you have taken the time to offer such a positive recommendation for others to see. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was in Weston on honeymoon and was looking for somewhere to eat, chose Chris's Restaurant and was very glad I did. My husband has to have a gluten-free diet and they made sure that this was followed. Nothing was too much trouble, the service was excellent and the food was so good, we ate there every night of our honeymoon! We will certainly be returning on our next visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-restaurant, Owner at Chris's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, we are pleased that the experience added to your honeymoon. We very much hope to welcome you both back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to eat, a must place to visit in Weston.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Myself and my family have been going to Weston Super Mare on holiday for the past 9 years and during that time the only restaurant we ever use is Chris's. From the moment you step inside you feel you are part of the family. Customer service is excellent nothing is too much trouble, the food is cooked to order and you get generous portions. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris-restaurant, Owner at Chris's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your delightful review and your continuous custom. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chris's Restaurant also viewed

Weston super Mare, Somerset
Milton, Weston super Mare
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Chris's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chris's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.