We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Abingdon House

Abingdon House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Abingdon House to your Saves list
Abingdon House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   197 Locking Rd, Weston super Mare BS23 3HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Castres, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Host very friendly, room clean but in need of updating. No bedside lamps, no shaving point, no towel rail or toilet holder in shower room, no soap to wash hands. Kick board on wardrobe missing, lightswitches not matching. Bed aweful ( hard) pillows foam, noise from the main road dreadful and from the room above. Plenty of towels but need bath sheet size. TV balanced on top of wardrobe, not good. Will not be making a return visit

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have stayed with Elaine several times over the last year and it is always the same - Excellent. Rooms are always clean and tidy. Elaine is always happy, very friendly and helpful. We always have breakfast, which is more than adequate and of a high standard and the price is superb. It is within easy walking distance of the town centre and seafront. We would certainly recommend the Abingdon for a comfortable and good value stay in Weston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as a break to celebrate my 70th birthday. The noise from the main road was horrendous and the location of the property was very poor. The 'Guest House' advertises a bar but we were told that had ceased a couple of months previously and they hadn't taken the notice down. We booked for a £5 breakfast on the first morning. I bought cereal bars for the rest of our breakfasts. The linen was clean and the beds were OK but the TV is balanced on the top of the wardrobe and impossible to watch without getting a stiff neck. The en suite is miniscule but clean.We spent as little time as possible in the establishment. The only redeeming feature of Abingdon House is, it's cheap !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ravageagain, Owner at Abingdon House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
in response to your review i explain to everyone that we no longer have a bar but all are welcome to bring their own & store it in the fridge provided, breakfast is extra as clearly stated on all websites so everyone has a CHOICE to have it or NOT, i cant do anything about the situation of the guesthouse, all the guesthouses are on the main road in weston so their is going to be traffic noise so may i suggest that next time you do some research into your trip before you book a BUDGET GUESTHOUSE & expect all the luxuries of the ritz for the price of £18. We are a clean & down to earth guesthouse & provide everything you would expect from a guesthouse, As i have said before WE ARE NOT A LUXURY HOTEL so dont expect that for the price you pay, if luxury is what you want then please go to a plush hotel & not to a small guesthouse & do nothing but slate it!, also i would have appreciated you coming directly to me with any issues rather than be false to my face then write a bad review which is not really justified!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was very impressed with the value of The Abingdon. There was free parking available in front and to the side, and although it is a busy road the double glazing ensured that I was not kept awake. The room (Room 6 - 2nd floor) and bathroom were absolutely spotless, with tea and coffee making facilities and a colour TV with freeview. The room was plenty big enough with twin beds. The mirrors in the room and bathroom were a little small but sufficed. The only criticisms I would have are to do with the lighting; the single ceiling light over the TV was not very bright, a bedside lamp would have been very useful - you would then not have to switch off the ceiling light and cross the room to go to bed, and I have never before had a bathroom light with a timer! Let's just say that if you were in the bathroom for more than a few minutes you would be plunged into darkness!!! I did not book the breakfast so cannot comment on that, but the hostess was very welcoming and friendly. Overall excellent value for money and I would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for only one night can't comment on good.lovely people who run the house. Very good price aswell. I will say a few things to make possibly aware off but not slating it. Just making people aware of the very thin walls but only from the room next door but u hear everything! The room we stayed in on the top floor the tv is on it's way out. & the shower was stop start and got tap was falling off & the noises from extractors & flushing the toilet were mental! The rooms were a great size & the bathroom was a lovely size & shower was nice ( maybe a little metal shelf in there because there's nowhere to put shower gel etc & too small to bend down) all in all I recommend this place to rest your head as bed was very comfy & felt very safe & location was great

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Greeted with a warm welcome. Room was nice and comfy and easy parking at the front. I stayed 2 nights, and the room and bathroom were cleaned when I was out. If you're looking for a basic place to stay but with friendly service, then this hotel fits the bill. I didn't book breakfast so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfy - great nights sleep.
Walkable from town centre, so taxi not essential.
Easy to book online - paid in advance.
Friendly welcome from owner.
Didn't have breakfast so not able to review.
Would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abingdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon House

Address: 197 Locking Rd, Weston super Mare BS23 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abingdon House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Abingdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abingdon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.