We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice Bangladeshi food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bengal Raj

Bengal Raj
18-20 Boulevard, Weston super Mare BS23 1NA, England
01934 420 824
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value, nice Bangladeshi food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff. Good standard curry house grub. Tarka dal very tasty but a bit thin. Bill less than i expected. Recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    4
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penguinofdunster
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The day of the Raj!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a rainy, cold Saturday evening and wanted a quiet place to talk over dinner. The Raj was quiet compared to other restaurants in town, but what a find!!
Atmosphere, food and service were all good / very good, with an excellent range on the menu.
The best thing about the food was that it was freshly cooked, served piping hot and on hot plates.
The only slight downside was a slightly undercooked onion bhaji!

We'll be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“They couldn't care.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We were told that our delivery order would take 30 minutes but after an hour and a half they had not arrived. After two phone calls they said that they could not find the address although we had several deliveries in the past. They also said they would cancel the order. After several years of great service we wont be using them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Consistently good, now our regular Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have been looking around for a good local Indian restaurant to replace our old favourite, which we no longer enjoyed after a change of ownership earlier in the year.

Luckily for us we tried the Bengal Raj and we have now eaten here many times over the past two months,This is one of those traditional Indian restaurants where the food is more important than the decor!

The food is always very good, with generous portions served on piping hot plates and well-priced. The service is efficient and friendly and we are made to feel very welcome.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great price and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ate here on Saturday, 20th October 2012. The restaurant was chosen by friends who live locally as being of consistent quality and good value for money. I read some of the Tripadvisor reviews before going and really had mixed feelings. However, I am so glad we did not change our booking: the service was very jovial and friendly (you don't always get that); service was attentive but not overly so; food was your standard Bangladeshi fare but very well prepared and flavoured. I think the only slight downer for us was that it was a bit of a walk from our B&B on the other side of town, but I guess I'm just plain lazy!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Raj also viewed

Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 
Weston super Mare, Somerset
Weston super Mare, Somerset
 

Been to Bengal Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bengal Raj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.