We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The York Hotel to your Saves list
The York Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 - 3 St Margarets Terrace, Weston super Mare BS23 1AH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a group of friends for a night out in Weston-Super-Mare. Ive got to say this hotel topped off a great weekend.

Positives
-Had a seafront executive room which was clean throughout and very modern compared to most seaside accomodation.
- beds were very comfy and had a great nights sleep
- bathroom was clean, plenty of towells and shower was very powerfull
- 2 minute walk from the central pier and other attractions in WSM
- Staff were all in uniform and very eager to help
- plenty of staff on hand to serve all your needs and throughout the whole day
- I had an evening meal here for just £5.95 and the service and standard of the food was very high.
- breakfast was £4.95 full english plush as much coffee tea toast cerial etc as you wanted .....Bargain.
- eating area was modern and nicely decorated and very clean.
- Bar inside the hotel was stocked with various alcoholic drinks
- Outside bar was brilliant , overlooking the sea with plenty of seating
- only cost £80 to sleep 3 adults ......again bargain.

Negatives
- no lights worked in the bedroom or en-suite??? we could have spoken to the hotel but it was late at night and was we didnt really need them and im sure if we asked they would have been sorted
- no remote for the tv had to get from reception
- Parking was a 50 yards away at a separate hotel, this wasnt a problem but may cause problems for the elderly or with familes with children. There is however a car park directly at the back of the hotel which is £10 for over night

Even though there were a few minor problems that is not enough to put me off giving this hotel 5/5. If you want to visit Weston-super-mare and want a modern hotel, great price , excellent food , friendly and welcoming staff and a good nights sleep....then you should not look at any other hotel than the York hotel. I will be coming back here again for sure.

Room Tip: Choose a premier family room for plenty of space and a seafront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    32
    19
    23
See reviews for
27
65
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thorngumbald.Hull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

luckily members of my coach trip to hotel,helped me with the steps ,also staff were more than obliging.Had I been left to my own devices i could not have managed to climb the stairs and carry my walking frame.There was 1 small lift to floors,but nearly all guests on our trip had some mobility problems.One old lady,who was in a wheelchair,was forced to walk up stairs and consequently fell over a doorstep in the doorway,she broke her shoulder.Despite all of this I thoroughly enjoyed my stay,food was average,rooms could have done witth some attention,but for what I paid I cannot grumble.The friendliness of staff and eagerness to help made up for all of bad points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two friends (all female) stayed here for two nights after initially only booking for one night - managed to book an extra night at short notice although we had to stay in a family room for one night and then the sea view room which we had originally booked. From the minute we checked in the staff were very friendly and helpful. On our first night, the family room was in the basement, but surprisingly had a lot of window light. Ample space, 1 double and 3 single beds with a large bathroom. It wasn't particularly fancy but comfortable and clean. On our 2nd day we moved to room 103 with a sea view.... absolutely lovely! Fabulous views, very comfortable, spacious boutique-style room with a double and a single bed (all the beds were very comfy too!) and a nice bathroom. The transition between rooms was simple. The restaurant and bar by night is very chic and cosy, price of drinks here were the same as everywhere else in Weston. Breakfast was really nice. The beer garden at front of hotel was great to watch the world go by. Food in day wasn't as nice as breakfast though. Hotel is ideally situated and only two minute stroll to the pubs/clubs and pier - I would definitely stay here again without a doubt :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was sent to the York when Premier Inn let me down despite a confirmed booking for two nights.
The York is obviously a lower standard than Premier Inn, reflected in the price, and I would not ordinarily have booked there myself. However, they did step in to the breach and helped me out in a time of need when I am sure great demands were placed on them.
The room was dated but comfortable. The smoke alarm cover was open with no battery. The staff were friendly and accommodating, despite putting me in the wrong room on arrival I only experienced breakfast but this was plentiful.
The public areas were perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Room 304 has a good view over the Winter Gardens and the old town - as well as the sea front towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

If you want a good night sleep & nice food then DON'T book at the York hotel!
Room was out-dated, scruffy & discusting (toothpaste splats on wall, mould etc). Loose toilet, mouldy grout, ripped quilt cover... Yes quilt in summer, no sheets!
Food- overpriced slop, had to gulp a drink with each mouthful, grease all over the plate.
Sleep??? Erm no! Fans humming ALL night like a jet plane and too hot to have windows closed! My daughter was crying at 5:30am cos she STILL couldnt sleep.
We got up and left but no one was around to complain to so ditched the keys in reception and went hunting for breakfast. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We take your complaints very seriously.
Did you come to reception to report the state of the room.?
We have fans in the office to help with the heat did you ask a member of staff if we had any fans.?
The night-porter was on duty & his number is in every room.
Did you complain about your meal to a member of staff.
If you have spoken to myself or a member of staff about any of the issues raised in your review we would of been able to rectify them.
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I must admit reading some of the reviews after i had booked 3 nights left me a little worried,but once my wife and i got to the hotel my fears soon dissolved as we were greeted by friendly staff..We arrived between 4pm and 5 settled into the room which was decorated to a good standard and was clean and tidy.. granted the view from the room wasn't great but that really did not bother us.. we went to the bar to get a couple drinks and were served by the manager who was both friendly and welcoming then went out to the outdoor seating area which is perfectly positioned to enjoy an ice cold cider while looking out over the water and at the pier.. We went down to the restaurant and had a meal which was served quickly and was delicious, also had a carvery on Sunday which was awesome so no problems with the food whatsoever! All in all we had a great stay in the york hotel and plan on going back there again..Keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked one night away and was impressed at the friendliness of the staff. We had room 308 which unfortunately has a hot water pipe running through it. In the heat wave conditions it was very hot! The staff were apologetic and provided a fan. This was all they could do, but at least it was something. Overall a good stay in a great location, with fabulous weather'n

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at The York Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
The hot water pipes are a problem in hot weather but we don't usually have such hot weather, we have quite a few fans now to help with this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 St Margarets Terrace, Weston super Mare BS23 1AH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The York Hotel Weston super Mare in Somerset, a beautifully styled hotel on the seafront. Commanding a premier position opposite Weston Pier it combines breathtaking design with warm, friendly service and stunning sea views across Weston Bay. Featuring a range of newly refurbished, comfortable and spacious bedrooms, chic wine bar, contemporary lounge and stylish restaurant, an unbeatable seafront location in the heart of Weston super Mare makes The York Hotel the place to stay, dine and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.