We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Room Rotten Noise all night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Smiths Hotel to your Saves list
Smiths Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 - 24 Knightstone Road, Weston super Mare BS23 2AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Clean Room Rotten Noise all night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here just for one night.
The room was great a triple room with spotless bathroom.
However none of us got any sleep due to the incessant drone of what we can only assume is an extractor? at one point we had two droning noises at different pitches....Chinese torture indeed!
Why on earth these extractors are on all night defies description? We left early very tired and fed up.
Maybe the hotel should consider the rooms at the back of the hotel to avoid other clients having to suffer all night its really thoughtless to have these machines on all night!!

Room Tip: By all means stay here its a good place but make sure that you sleep at the front of the hotel not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    50
    33
    18
    18
See reviews for
41
48
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Llangollen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Check in was very professional. Parked in a pay and display just down from hotel for £10 for 24hrs. Room 26 was a nice room, bit on the small side for a family room, but had a nice balcony. Sea view was nice. Although I was surprised to find lots of cig butts in the flower pots! Asked in the bar for an extra pillow as no one on reception. Unfortunately the lady had no clue what I was talking about (English not her first language) and we never got a pillow!
Went to bed - but not able to sleep due to very loud music from next doors karaoke until late. Eventually dropped off and then woken by the hen and stag of parties returning home. In fairness I did hear someone shouting at them to shut up! They woke up my little one - not much sleep for us! Didn't pay for breakfast - but noticed that not many people seemed to be eating there. Got stuck in the lift - don't use unless you have too - looks ancient!! It's a nice hotel, not really worth £124 per night room only though. Especially when we didn't sleep!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Smiths is on the sea front and we had a sea view which was great, convenient for the shops
The hotel is a bit on the dark side, hated the lift which is carpeted, ceiling an all. The staff were all very freindly and helpful, food was good.The double room was a tad small, but the bed did have mattress protecters on. We stayed four nights here and really enjoyed it, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed here for one night whilst all my family stayed in another hotel (which was fully booked) so I only used this room to sleep in and hardly spent anymore time there. I had a single room and it was very compact with very little room to walk around the bed and move around in the bathroom. My view was of the kitchen extraction fan which was very noisy and meant my room smelt of grease and this was made more unpleasant by the fact it had been a very hot day so my room was nice and toasty and smelly!

Having said all of that, for £42 room only, I thought it was pretty good value and a very good location on the sea front.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here last weekend, we booked to stay for 2 nights as we were attending a concert being held on Weston Super Mare beach. The location of this hotel is fantastic, convenient for the beach and a short walk to bars/shops/pier etc. The receptionist who greeted us was friendly and check in was quick. Disappointingly, this is about the extent of the positive aspects of our stay.

We were shown to room number 8, on the ground floor. As soon as we walked in we we're hit with the temperature of the room and realised that there were no windows at all, just a small ceiling 'window' in the bathroom letting in minimal light, this felt quite chlaustrophobic.
We found a fan and turned it straight on, but it wasn't very effective, seemed to just circulate warm air. We resorted to propping the door open to try to circulate a breeze which resulted in everyone who walked down the corridor being able to see into our room.
We had breakfast in the morning, in a deathly silent restaurant. As we walked in we were greeted by a young waitress, then a member of kitchen staff stuck his head out of the kitchen door and shouted at her, she turned around and apologised to us for him shouting! Another couple came in and had their orders taken, food arrived, missing toast, so the young waitress proceeded to go into the kitchen to shout at a member of staff, which was awkward for us to listen to as the restaurant was so silent we heard every word! Very unprofessional. Food tasted ok but so blandly presented, just very plain, and not much food on huge white plates.
We were woken up on a couple of occasions in the night as the walls were thin and we heard people stomping down the corridors.

I'm not normally one to write negative reviews, and I'm in no way snobby about hotels, but I'm sorry to say, that we just did not really enjoy our stay here :(

Room Tip: Avoid room number 8 as no windows, very very hot and stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

strongly recommend to everyone, had a beautiful double room with balcony & stunning sea view, food fabulous, staff friendly & helpful especialy the young man on reception!!! absolutely will be going to stay again!!!!! if I had to find a negative it would be that no mattress or pillow protecters on beds, overall top marks on everything smiths hotel, thanks for a great wkend stay.......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

lovely hotel service was excellent and staff very friendly and accommodating. Recommend this as a great place to stay, nice and clean. food was really good full English breakfast and a choice of evening meals.

Room Tip: we had a 1st floor room cases were taken from us and put outside our allocated room. the hotel is op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Address: 20 - 24 Knightstone Road, Weston super Mare BS23 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smiths Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smiths Hotel Weston-super-Mare features a range of 48 comfortable, stylish and spacious en-suite bedrooms and 8 luxury suites, many with spectacular sea views. Make Smiths Hotel your first choice when choosing a holiday hotel in Weston super Mare or Somerset. The hotel is Situated in a prime location on the beautiful seafront of Weston-super-Mare in Somerset. Smiths Hotel is a family run hotel that affords spectacular views across Weston bay from the Victorian theme terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.