We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Colonial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Old Colonial to your Saves list
The Old Colonial
30 Knighstone Road, Weston super Mare, England   |  
Hotel amenities
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shame about the rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just spent the night at the Old Colonial the postives are its location right on the seafront near the Pier, good parking and the young lady on reception was outstanding. Polite and very helpful probably the best thing about our stay. The negatives would have to be the room we were allocated, which although acceptably clean and tidy and comfortable every floor board creaked and groaned if you stood on it, the walls are paper thin and Iam not exaggerating ! If you broke wind Iam sure your neighbour would hear it. We were woken up by the room next door coming in at 3am and then being kept awake by every movement and word they uttered when they eventually went to sleep we were kept awake with their snoring, absolute nightmare. Ended up watching the TV until about 5:30 went fatigue took over and managed to fall asleep until guest started moving about from about 7am. Had booked for 2 nights but checked out after 1. would not stay there again. Its a shame the rooms were not up to the standard of the staff who really first rate.

Room Tip: If you are not a sound sleeper do not stay at this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    32
    7
    29
See reviews for
19
76
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed for one night, staff were all very helpful. The room was clean, the only way I could fault it, it was very warm. The location is excellent 200 meters from the pier and across the road from the beach. Best feature car park next to the hotel and cost of the room included parking fee. Might not be suitable for very young children as the bars close by were noisy. There was no lift so if stairs are an issue this might not be the hotel for you

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here may 2014 for two nights small hotel, ok for a night or two, rooms clean and tidy, if you have front sea view room expect some noise not only from traffic but from bars next door.
Breakfast good but no fresh fruit offered just cereal.This is a cheap and cheerfull hotel with no
thrills, for longer breaks i would not stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very busy, short staffed, they had run out of pie only had one left of Steak and Kidney and one of Chicken and Mushroom. Were told we had a 40 min wait although the food arrived within 30min, served by a surly waitress. Pie was dry the filling questionable, chips slightly warm. Very disappointed would not eat there again.

Inside and out in need of some attention all felt quite tacky, all set up to cater for tourists and not for locals who might want to visit on a regular basis.

Would not give a second chance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Good location right on the seafront, 2-4-1 value in the pub/restaurant, very large room - plenty of room for our 4 suitcases! - with large wardrobe and drawer space. Good desk/workspace with wi-fi free of charge. Very helpful staff carried our very heavy suitcases (our 2-night stay was part of a longer holiday) up to the second floor. Be aware there are 40 steep steps up to the second floor, no lift - a bit wearing if you want to nip back to your room for something. Only other negative was don't think our room had daily hoovering (if so needs either new vacuum or vacuumer!) Oh, I didn't like the breakfast sausage but my partner thought they were lovely! A definite plus is the availability of free, allocated parking space. Ideal base for visiting Weston's annual Sand Sculpture Festival.

Room Tip: I would imagine the first floor rooms are not so quiet, being above the very large pub/restaurant bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Used this bar/ restaurant for 3 nights. Was with a large group of friends and 2 of us decided to have the 14oz rib eye steak with all the trimmings as it seemed good value at the price. Worked out at £8.00 each. At that price I didn't expect much, but the food when it arrived was simply amazing. A thick well cooked steak with chips, onion rings, tomato and peas. One of the best steaks I have eaten at any price. Seemed almost to be fillet. I went back the 2nd night and had the same again. Just as nice. On the 3rd night it was chicken melt at £6.00 each. 2 large moist chicken breasts with bacon, cheese and bbq sauce. Once again perfectly cooked.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a starter, unless a big eater. You may even have trouble managing a desert. 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews on here and was a little unsure about eating here. We had eaten here in the past when we visited Weston.
I had the pork loin with black pudding, it was delicious. My husband had the jalapeño burger & enjoyed that too. The staff were friendly and it has a nice atmosphere. It is a 2for1 pub, but one of the best I've been to in its chain.
Will be going again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Colonial

Address: 30 Knighstone Road, Weston super Mare, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Weston super Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.