We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tor-na-Coille

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tor-na-Coille to your Saves list
Tor-na-Coille
Inchmarlo Road | Royal Deeside, Banchory AB31 4AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Banchory
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We really liked this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at this likeable boutique country house hotel for a two-night stay last week on our tour of Scotland. This hotel offered a lovely room in the master deluxe category, amazing service from every employee working in this hotel including their restaurant. Restaurant was very good and well priced.

Room Tip: We liked our master deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    54
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
49
92
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We spent a lovely night away in the Tor-na-Coille. We had a gorgeous room with an adjoining sitting room and couldn't have asked for better! Our meal was lovely and the service from GM was excellent.
Only one complaint was that you either had to both have the bar menu or both have the restaurant menu. Me being a fussy eater needed a plainer dish where as my husband wanted to chose from the fine dining menu. All dishes were individually priced so I wouldnt have thought it would have been a problem but we both had to have the same.
However we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This recently refurbished hotel is lovely - the decor, staff & food couldn't be faulted. A room issue we had was dealt with generously and quickly. We were there on a Sunday night and so more or less had the restaurant to ourselves but we had beautiful service and gorgeous food - very reasonably priced too. Tiny negatives are the soundproofing in the rooms - someone need to visit the ENT specialist re their snoring (!) and that the dining room was a wee bit cool to be comfortable (for us anyway). Seems petty to list though considering everything else.

Re the last review about the King Scallops - this wasn't a scallop dish, it was a Wild Garlic Veloute with a scallop garnish. We had to re-read the menu as it was slightly unclear but the soup does have the top billing.

Final comment goes to the General Manager - you fully deserve your personal award and the various hotel awards. Thank you for a brilliant stay!

Room Tip: Pay the wee bit extra and go for the Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband took me here for our 16th anniversary.

There were no vegetarian canapés and a small choice on the menu, but to be fair the chef went out of his way to prepare two meals off the menu for us.

We did not feel rushed or watched over at all during our meal and it was nice to sit and feel relaxed in the lovely surroundings.

The food was excellent and would highly recommend it to anyone.

I certainly hope to return again very soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at Tor-Na-Coille over the Easter weekend this year with my three chidlren (12 1/2; 10 1/2 and 8) and very much enjoyed my stay there.

The staff is incredibly nice, helpful and good-willing. They accomodated my children's food requirements (a bit of this, a lot of that, this but without that, etc.) with a lot more patience than me, I changed the time I had booked dinner on both evenings without any problem, and reception got me the Sunday papers I would normally read at home. We spent a whole afternoon reading and chatting by the fire place undisturbed but were served tea straight away as we asked for it.

The rooms are nice, very cosy and comfortable, the bathrooms are more basic but sparkling clean, and all the things you may need are already in your room! As I booked late, I could not have the second bedroom next to my daughter's and mine but considering my boys' age, this was not an issue.

My own bedroom was next to the main staircase and I could hear the fireproof door when it was closed/opened. This did not bother us but I think it would annoy guests with a light sleep.

I highly recommend Tor-Na-Coille both as an hotel and as a restaurant.

Room Tip: Avoid room next to main staircase (noisy fireproof door).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Having looked at the menu we booked a meal in the restaurant for the final night of our holiday. Unfortunately all did not turn out well. Service was quite slow - 40 mins to get our starter - seared king scallops - what turned up was 1 scallop - cold. The main course was nice, we were asked if we wanted desserts - yes we did - but after 20 mins no-one turned up to take the order. When someone finally turned up we were fed up of waiting - we asked for the bill - £65. My advice is that if you must eat here, have a bar meal - the service seems to be far superior to the restaurant and the food quantity and pricing is far better.
What a pity as the setting is quite nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a terrific, warm place. The hotel itself is really beautiful and has gone through a well done renovation. The room was very cozy and warm. An extremely peaceful place. THe dinner was excellent. The wait staff were a bit green and there was some mix ups, They could use some training. They seemed young and sweet...very eager but not completely effective. But not a big issue. The woman at the front desk reception area was so lovely and made us feel completely welcome immediately. The price was very good...we were shocked. And the breakfast was ample. I liked that there were hot options as well as a cold breakfast bar. We only had one night here and were sad to leave. A great spot to have a quiet weekend...the area is so beautiful...Braemar, Balmoral, etc. I sigh just thinking about it! Wish I was there now!! I just love Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tor-na-Coille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tor-na-Coille

Address: Inchmarlo Road | Royal Deeside, Banchory AB31 4AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 4-Star Country House Hotel in the heart of Royal deeside. Offering luxury accommodation where the care and attention of our guests is paramount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tor-na-Coille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tor-Na-Coille Hotel Banchory
Tor-Na-Coille Banchory, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tor-na-Coille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.