We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banchory Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Banchory Lodge to your Saves list
Banchory Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent four nights here last July and found the rooms beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable. If I had one disappointment, it was that my teenage grandson was staying with me and since my large room had only one bed (which I don't really understand—there was room for two), an inadequate, small cot was brought in for him to sleep on. It squeaked and groaned with every movement and I worried it would collapse in a heap at some point. A purchase of a newer, larger rollaway bed or regular bed would be advisable. Wi-fi was sketchy, but I expect that someday that will improve. We ate in the dining room for breakfast and a couple dinners, and found the food quite delicious, even though there was not a large menu. No place has a better setting than this lodge. NO PLACE. I definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the River Dee are enchanting. I've never seen a prettier view out a window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Susan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay but sorry to hear that there were problems with the WI-FI, we have had our IT supplier check all connections. Thank you for making us aware of the squeaking cot, this has now been replaced. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    72
    19
    17
    9
See reviews for
54
78
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our party (two rooms) stayed here for 4 nights. My room was spacious and very comfortable with a view of the River Dee. The bathroom was large but the shower small. The staff was polite and efficient but not overly friendly. The breakfast was wonderful.. lots of choices and delicious. We did eat dinner at the hotel twice and found the dinner was equally delicious although the menu was not extensive. WiFi was nearly non-existent. We had to sit in the hallway on the stairs to get any reception at all. All that said, we loved the place and would stay there again. After a long day of sightseeing, it was the perfect place to rest and rejuvenate. I would definitely stay there over and over again (some of the other guests that we met said they had done just that).

Room Tip: If you can get one on the river side of the hotel, it is well worth it for the view and the sounds o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Lynn42013,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay but sorry to hear that there were problems with the WI-FI, we have had our IT supplier check all connections. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This property is approximately 20 miles away from the city centre and very close to the village of Banchory. The approach to the hotel is quite picturesque, lined with many tall trees.

I believe there are about 28 rooms in total. Mine was spacious and the furniture was in tune with the general feel of the hotel, if that makes sense. The food was very tasty although the menu wasn't that extensive. Apart from a soup of the day, there is no rotation on the menu so any long term or regular stayers might get quickly bored with the choice of food. The same meals are served in both the bar and restaurant, although the bar has an extremely limited amount of seating.

The service was very good and nothing was too much trouble.

All in all, this is a very pleasant place to stay and one I would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Celtic_traveller165,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are currently in the process of creating a new menu. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked here for dinner, bed and breakfast as as surprise for my husband's birthday.
It was outstanding, the room and bathroom was stunning. It was the Oriental themed room, we had great views over the river and the stunning grounds of the hotel. Dinner and breakfast were both delicious and staff so friendly and helpful. I can't wait to return for my birthday.

Room Tip: I can't imagine any of the rooms being unsuitable as the setting so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear karensilver,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and meal. The beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully on your birthday!

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night and were upgraded to a river view room / suite (room 7). The hotel has a wonderful location beside the river. Being an old building it has its 'character' features, If you don't want these, head into Aberdeen and stay in a Premier Inn, which might even cost you £10 less. We ate in the hotel lounge and were very encouraged to see several local parties experiencing the great dining experience - surely a good sign on a Sunday evening. If anything, the service in the lounge was too formal and I'm glad we didn't attempt the full dining room service (with white tablecloths on which to spill one's red wine and coffee). Breakfast was also a hearty meal with slightly less pretentious service: even got a 'my dear' from the waitress, which was just great!
Only downsides were: slow Wi-Fi (absolutely no chance of watching BBC iPlayer) and bathroom could have been very slightly cleaner.

Room Tip: River view if possible, as long as you won't be disturbed by the inevitable sound of running wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Paul A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, the beautiful location is something that we all love and are privileged to enjoy every day. The issues that you experienced within your room have been addressed by the housekeeping team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Located on the banks of the river Dee my wife & I have visited this hotel over the years to enjoy both the hospitality and surroundings and have never felt dissatisfied with either. Today was our first visit for some time but decided to call in for coffee and cream scones, which we had enjoyed on previous occasions. Extremely disappointing as the scones were old, very dry and what was supposed to be fresh whipped cream was'nt. All the wonderful old historic photographs of fishing exploits, V.I.P.'s which previously adorned the hotel walls were also missing. Before departing (possibly for the last time) & during enquiry I was informed that the hotel was under new management from last year - oh dear!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Jim988,

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.

I am sorry that your coffee and scones was not of our usual high standard on this occasion and that the hotel was not as you remembered. The refurbishment programme is a continuous project; the Function Suite was completed at the end of 2012, with the stairs and hallway redecorated last month. Plans and a time schedule for the bar and lounge should be available shortly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here whilst on a cycling trip. Nice country house hotel in need of a little TLC although refurbishment is ongoing! Plumbing left a bit to be desired shower was a trickle of Luke warm water. However staff very helpful and attended to shower problem immediately. Overall a little bit expensive until the refurbishment is complete. We ate in the hotel restaurant and food was good.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear nicehotels4me,

Thank you for taking the time to write you recent review.

The hotel refurbishment programme is a continuous project; the Function Suite was completed at the end of 2012, with the stairs and hallway redecorated last month. Plans and a time schedule for the bar and lounge should be available shortly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Many thanks

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banchory Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banchory Lodge

Address: Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banchory Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Banchory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banchory Hotel Banchory
Banchory Lodge Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banchory Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.