We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't believe this...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banchory Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Banchory Lodge to your Saves list
Banchory Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I don't believe this...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Refusing to pay the inflated prices in Aberdeen I found myself driving from Aberdeen to Balmoral looking for somewhere to stay. At 9pm I was getting a little concerned, having found nothing, when we saw this Hotel.

OK whatever it costs it has to be better than sleeping in the car. Kate was on the desk and she is an absolute star, has to be with a name like that.

I expected to be robbed, how wrong was I. A great rate, 3/4 of the Aberdeen rates AND it included breakfast AND it included parking AND it included WiFi.

We were to late for dinner, that I can understand. Open the French Doors onto the small terrace outside our brilliant room, watch and listen to the river Dee as it meanders through the grounds, a bottle of wine, free internet, what is going on here. Waking refreshed after a good nights sleep, breakfast overlooking the Dee, stroll in the beautiful grounds. I gladly pay my bill, an Old Fashioned Lodge Hotel, with Old Fashioned Values and Old Fashioned Service,

I can be very critical when necessary, this was a 'Truely remarkable experience'. Thank you Kate, thank you Banchory Lodge.

Room Tip: The upper terrace has great rooms, great views and French Doors leading to a pretty terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that we provided excellent service and good value for money. I will pass on your thanks to Kate as well.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Banchory Lodge in the future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    72
    19
    17
    9
See reviews for
54
77
4
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Herons, river, cows and pastoral scenery. These are the main elements of the Banchory Lodge Hotel. Plus excellent food and service at the restaurant. Spending two nights here we had time to visit two castles with gardens and the amazing Dunnottar in Stonehaven.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Helena
Thank you very much for your recent feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Banchory Lodge and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just back from our honeymoon after our superb wedding at Banchory Lodge Hotel on 29th June 2013.
We cannot praise this hotel enough! Just a small wedding with friends and family travelling up from Newcastle and we can't stop talking about how perfect everything was. We would not change a thing about the whole weekend.
Catherine was brilliant sorting everything out for us beforehand. She is the nicest most helpful Irish lassie ever! Nothing was too much trouble for her and she made the whole process fun from start to finish.
John was absolutely fab on the day too. I really can't emphasise enough how amazing the whole experience was.
The setting is beautiful, the rooms are charming, the food is delicious and the staff are all lovely.
I don't think there is anything more I can say to sum up the experience, 10/10 for sure.
We are already planning to come back with as many of our family as possible for our 1st wedding anniversary. :)

Nic and Gary

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Nicola and Gary, hope you are both well and had a fabulous honeymoon. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure to have you and your family here for your wedding and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future and to seeing some of your photographs!

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just back from honeymoon, we had our wedding on 8th June at Banchory Lodge, and we couldn't have asked for a better wedding venue. We were lucky enough to have our wedding outside and the scenery was just beautiful.

From the moment I arrived on the Friday night to the time we left on the Sunday morning we were spoilt rotten by all the staff, nothing was too much trouble for them.

I must mention Catherine and Amanda for all their assistance prior to the wedding and on the day - thank you very much, you were great.

And an extra special mention to John, you couldn't have done anything else, you went out your way to make us happy on our day, including moving last minute seats at tables during the piping to taking our little girl up to her room to find a comfy pair of shoes during the meal / reception!

The venue, the staff, the food, everything - FIRST CLASS!!!!!

Thank you to everyone at Banchory Lodge for making our wedding day a very special day that will never be forgotten.....

Debbie & Liam Murray

Room Tip: I stayed in room 16 (conservatory) and 18 as they were adjoining rooms so it was perfect for the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Debbie & Liam

Hope you had a fabulous honeymoon. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, it is very much appreciated.
We look forward to seeing some of your photos, and to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Probus, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Only stayed one night (for business purposes) but wish it had been more.
Beautiful setting beside the river, excellent service, extremely comfortable room, food fantastic - just sorry I did not have the time to go right through the menu! If I'm ever in the area again I will come back here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My brother and sister in law had their wedding at Banchory Lodge this weekend. They were married outdoors beside the river. The setting was perfect, food first class but it was the attentive staff that made this venue out shine the competitors! Noting was too much trouble. Do not hesitate book Banchory Lodge for your wedding venue!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your brother's wedding at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a beautiful setting in which to have lunch looking out at the River Dee - quite idyllic
Food is very good and not overpriced and the staff very friendly. Just one complaint and that is the tables. Unless you are in the dining room where you get nice tablecloths the other rooms in which they serve lunch have just wooden tables which are quite old and very sticky and tacky to touch. You certainly don't want to rest your hand or arm on the table in case you get covered in something nasty. Now the tables might not be dirty but just sticky from furniture polish but it is not a nice experience and unfortunately the friend I was with does not want to go back there because of the tables. What a shame when everything else is so lovely. They really should do something about them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us. Unfortunately some of our tables had become tacky with a build up of polish but we have recently had these tables taken back to their original finish. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banchory Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banchory Lodge

Address: Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banchory Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Banchory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banchory Hotel Banchory
Banchory Lodge Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banchory Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.