We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a chain hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banchory Lodge

Save Saved
You added Banchory Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Banchory Lodge
Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Banchory
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Definitely not a chain hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Found courtesy of Trip Advisor and it certainly lived up to all of the positive reviews. A quick two night stay intending to use Banchory lodge as a base to tour that part of Scotland. Arrived early evening to receive a nice warm welcome and everything as requested ( late phone call to have a bottle of fizz waiting in the room ! ) Large room overlooking the front of the hotel - including the car park - and across the lawns to the River Dee. Pleasant outlook and despite a wedding being held no real noise from the car park at all.
Booked dinner in the restaurant both nights and was not dissapointed. The daily specials menu - and it is daily, a new, dated, selection appears from lunchtime onwards - was very, very good indeed ( as good a fillet of beef as I've had for a long, long time ). Small quibble with the main menu is that it contains all of the food offerings including bar snacks and items that are only available daytime, would have thought a separate menu would have been more in keeping with the style and quality on offer
Breakfast contained the usual suspects but to quality much higher than most - delighted to see potato scones and not hash browns !!!!.

Bedroom was spacious, well appointed with a large bathroom and everything one requires. A very good touch that so many places miss was a book charting the history of the area in general and the lodge in particular right up to the present day.

Despite the high standard of the bedroom and the food, the real stars of the show for me were the staff; Naturally friendly, helpful and professional. they knew their jobs. they have obviously been well trained but are still allowed/have the confidence to allow their personalities to come through.

In summary great location, very good food and accommodation and excellent staff. As they ask " whats not to like ?"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    48
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
28
49
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cruden Bay (Port Erroll), United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Just a first class experience. Eclectic mix of traditional furniture, spotless,all 3 rooms had their own character, staff very friendly and the food just fantastic! In fact the food was unbelievable! Great value! We will go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was in Banchory on business mattors and had driven past the hotel as it looked out of my price range. After driving all over and not being able to find a room I took my chances. On speaking with reseption I was able to negotiate the price of the room to the amount covered by my company and was taken to the Victorian Room. What a treat indeed, it was plush to say the least and the dec was fantastic. Real Vicotian feel with an electric log stove for added touch. The huge old wordobe looked like something from Narnia stories and i half expected it to be full of fur coats or have the propper evening wear for dinner. The bed was very good and with the window open a jar for the sound of the river I slept like a log. The food in the bar was brill and well prices.
I was so glad i was able to stay here and really want to bring my wife up one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Food was very good, as was the service, the outlook over the river Dee on a lovely evening was very nice, dining room was a bit of a miss match of tables and chairs, but in a nice old fashioned way, although would have preferred to have table cloths. Prices were value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a four poster room which had french doors opening out onto a terrace area. We were visiting for our friends wedding which took place at the hotel. We had a very pleasant stay, lovely food and cheery staff. Overall very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The whole purpose of our one night stay was just for a respite break. We arrived at the hotel and very quickly were checked in by very helpful, friendly staff. We were shown to our room which had an adjoining conservatory. This would have been wonderful if the rooms had previously been heated up but there was no heating on in either rooms when we arrived and it was snowing outside. We decided to go straight down for some lunch to leave time for the rooms to heat up. The lunch menu was quite nice and we had no problem choosing. The food that arrived was very tasty and we sat for a good while as the view was amazing and there was a large roaring fire. A wedding party had also arrived so we sat and watched them all getting photos etc outside.
After a few hours we decided to go back up to the room and relax a while but both rooms were still freezing and we also noted that the bathroom had no heating! The décor in the bathroom was also very dated and tired and could definitely do with an upgrade!
Later we went down for dinner and was given exactly the same menu which we had been offered for lunch which did feel a little disappointing. My food was quite nice again but my partner had a steak, which he left more than half as it was chewy and gristly. When they asked if everything was ok with the meal we said we had left such a large piece of steak as it was chewy but nothing more was said....
We stayed down in the lounge for some drinks, it was quite busy as there was a wedding dance on and after a few hours we went up to retire in our room. The music from the band was extremely noisy in our room which was very frustrating but perhaps we should have asked if there were any functions before booking a respite break! Fortunately the large bed was very comfortable so if there had been no loud music I`m sure the break would have been very relaxing.
Breakfast in the morning was a combination of cereals, fresh fruit etc, which was self service and we were also offered a selection of hot foods from the kitchen. It was all very yummy!
Check out staff were very friendly but we did feel the need to say that the music had been very loud which she apologised profusely for.
Overall I feel the hotel is a little dated but it has a charm about it and the location is beautiful and relaxing.... Just a pity we chose the wrong day.

Room Tip: The conservatory room would be great in the summer but definitely not for the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel has a grand appearance and comfortable interior. The access drive is long and in parts weathered to a bumpy finish! Well sign posted from the road making it easy to track down. The Hotel has a superb location right next to the River Dee, with outside seating and grassed areas for guests.

Staff were most obliging upon my arrival with a quick and efficient check in process They were courteous and helpful with a bright smile which does go a long way to making the guest feel welcome.

I was immediately shown to my room which was a large en suite room overlooking the river and access drive. The room was clean and well laid out with required coffee making facilities and bottles of the local water. The bed was large and comfortable with plenty of room lighting to light up the darkest of corners. I requested an ironing board and iron, which was promptly delivered to my room, nothing was too much trouble.

The evening menu was very good with a fine selection of starters and main courses, ranging from Venison to Fish and much in between. The quality was good with excellent friendly efficient service. The dining room had a good view over the river Dee and was well lit, making reading the menu easy!

Breakfast was a combination of self service and hot food ordered from the kitchen. The cold selection was good with fresh fruit, cereal, croissants and dried fruit most prominent. No complaints with the ample breakfast facilities. The coffee was served promptly and was hot.

The only criticisms I may have, and they are only very small, is that the bathroom was somewhat tired, and the bath rather flexible, leading me to worry it might give way while I showered. The TV reception was lacking on some of the standard stations and the tea cups a little dainty for my taste, some nice mugs please!

Overall nice hotel, excellent food, would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banchory Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banchory Lodge

Also Known As:
Banchory Hotel Banchory
Banchory Lodge Scotland
Address: Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Banchory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banchory Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.