We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a chain hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banchory Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Banchory Lodge to your Saves list
Banchory Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Definitely not a chain hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Found courtesy of Trip Advisor and it certainly lived up to all of the positive reviews. A quick two night stay intending to use Banchory lodge as a base to tour that part of Scotland. Arrived early evening to receive a nice warm welcome and everything as requested ( late phone call to have a bottle of fizz waiting in the room ! ) Large room overlooking the front of the hotel - including the car park - and across the lawns to the River Dee. Pleasant outlook and despite a wedding being held no real noise from the car park at all.
Booked dinner in the restaurant both nights and was not dissapointed. The daily specials menu - and it is daily, a new, dated, selection appears from lunchtime onwards - was very, very good indeed ( as good a fillet of beef as I've had for a long, long time ). Small quibble with the main menu is that it contains all of the food offerings including bar snacks and items that are only available daytime, would have thought a separate menu would have been more in keeping with the style and quality on offer
Breakfast contained the usual suspects but to quality much higher than most - delighted to see potato scones and not hash browns !!!!.

Bedroom was spacious, well appointed with a large bathroom and everything one requires. A very good touch that so many places miss was a book charting the history of the area in general and the lodge in particular right up to the present day.

Despite the high standard of the bedroom and the food, the real stars of the show for me were the staff; Naturally friendly, helpful and professional. they knew their jobs. they have obviously been well trained but are still allowed/have the confidence to allow their personalities to come through.

In summary great location, very good food and accommodation and excellent staff. As they ask " whats not to like ?"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    87
    20
    19
    9
See reviews for
60
90
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cruden Bay (Port Erroll), United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Just a first class experience. Eclectic mix of traditional furniture, spotless,all 3 rooms had their own character, staff very friendly and the food just fantastic! In fact the food was unbelievable! Great value! We will go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was in Banchory on business mattors and had driven past the hotel as it looked out of my price range. After driving all over and not being able to find a room I took my chances. On speaking with reseption I was able to negotiate the price of the room to the amount covered by my company and was taken to the Victorian Room. What a treat indeed, it was plush to say the least and the dec was fantastic. Real Vicotian feel with an electric log stove for added touch. The huge old wordobe looked like something from Narnia stories and i half expected it to be full of fur coats or have the propper evening wear for dinner. The bed was very good and with the window open a jar for the sound of the river I slept like a log. The food in the bar was brill and well prices.
I was so glad i was able to stay here and really want to bring my wife up one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Food was very good, as was the service, the outlook over the river Dee on a lovely evening was very nice, dining room was a bit of a miss match of tables and chairs, but in a nice old fashioned way, although would have preferred to have table cloths. Prices were value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed two nights in a four poster room which had french doors opening out onto a terrace area. We were visiting for our friends wedding which took place at the hotel. We had a very pleasant stay, lovely food and cheery staff. Overall very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The whole purpose of our one night stay was just for a respite break. We arrived at the hotel and very quickly were checked in by very helpful, friendly staff. We were shown to our room which had an adjoining conservatory. This would have been wonderful if the rooms had previously been heated up but there was no heating on in either rooms when we arrived and it was snowing outside. We decided to go straight down for some lunch to leave time for the rooms to heat up. The lunch menu was quite nice and we had no problem choosing. The food that arrived was very tasty and we sat for a good while as the view was amazing and there was a large roaring fire. A wedding party had also arrived so we sat and watched them all getting photos etc outside.
After a few hours we decided to go back up to the room and relax a while but both rooms were still freezing and we also noted that the bathroom had no heating! The décor in the bathroom was also very dated and tired and could definitely do with an upgrade!
Later we went down for dinner and was given exactly the same menu which we had been offered for lunch which did feel a little disappointing. My food was quite nice again but my partner had a steak, which he left more than half as it was chewy and gristly. When they asked if everything was ok with the meal we said we had left such a large piece of steak as it was chewy but nothing more was said....
We stayed down in the lounge for some drinks, it was quite busy as there was a wedding dance on and after a few hours we went up to retire in our room. The music from the band was extremely noisy in our room which was very frustrating but perhaps we should have asked if there were any functions before booking a respite break! Fortunately the large bed was very comfortable so if there had been no loud music I`m sure the break would have been very relaxing.
Breakfast in the morning was a combination of cereals, fresh fruit etc, which was self service and we were also offered a selection of hot foods from the kitchen. It was all very yummy!
Check out staff were very friendly but we did feel the need to say that the music had been very loud which she apologised profusely for.
Overall I feel the hotel is a little dated but it has a charm about it and the location is beautiful and relaxing.... Just a pity we chose the wrong day.

Room Tip: The conservatory room would be great in the summer but definitely not for the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel has a grand appearance and comfortable interior. The access drive is long and in parts weathered to a bumpy finish! Well sign posted from the road making it easy to track down. The Hotel has a superb location right next to the River Dee, with outside seating and grassed areas for guests.

Staff were most obliging upon my arrival with a quick and efficient check in process They were courteous and helpful with a bright smile which does go a long way to making the guest feel welcome.

I was immediately shown to my room which was a large en suite room overlooking the river and access drive. The room was clean and well laid out with required coffee making facilities and bottles of the local water. The bed was large and comfortable with plenty of room lighting to light up the darkest of corners. I requested an ironing board and iron, which was promptly delivered to my room, nothing was too much trouble.

The evening menu was very good with a fine selection of starters and main courses, ranging from Venison to Fish and much in between. The quality was good with excellent friendly efficient service. The dining room had a good view over the river Dee and was well lit, making reading the menu easy!

Breakfast was a combination of self service and hot food ordered from the kitchen. The cold selection was good with fresh fruit, cereal, croissants and dried fruit most prominent. No complaints with the ample breakfast facilities. The coffee was served promptly and was hot.

The only criticisms I may have, and they are only very small, is that the bathroom was somewhat tired, and the bath rather flexible, leading me to worry it might give way while I showered. The TV reception was lacking on some of the standard stations and the tea cups a little dainty for my taste, some nice mugs please!

Overall nice hotel, excellent food, would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banchory
2.4 mi away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burnett Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
19.8 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
12.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banchory Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banchory Lodge

Address: Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banchory Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Banchory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banchory Hotel Banchory
Banchory Lodge Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banchory Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.