We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banchory Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Banchory Lodge to your Saves list
Banchory Lodge
Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banchory
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Romantic location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The whole purpose of our one night stay was just for a respite break. We arrived at the hotel and very quickly were checked in by very helpful, friendly staff. We were shown to our room which had an adjoining conservatory. This would have been wonderful if the rooms had previously been heated up but there was no heating on in either rooms when we arrived and it was snowing outside. We decided to go straight down for some lunch to leave time for the rooms to heat up. The lunch menu was quite nice and we had no problem choosing. The food that arrived was very tasty and we sat for a good while as the view was amazing and there was a large roaring fire. A wedding party had also arrived so we sat and watched them all getting photos etc outside.
After a few hours we decided to go back up to the room and relax a while but both rooms were still freezing and we also noted that the bathroom had no heating! The décor in the bathroom was also very dated and tired and could definitely do with an upgrade!
Later we went down for dinner and was given exactly the same menu which we had been offered for lunch which did feel a little disappointing. My food was quite nice again but my partner had a steak, which he left more than half as it was chewy and gristly. When they asked if everything was ok with the meal we said we had left such a large piece of steak as it was chewy but nothing more was said....
We stayed down in the lounge for some drinks, it was quite busy as there was a wedding dance on and after a few hours we went up to retire in our room. The music from the band was extremely noisy in our room which was very frustrating but perhaps we should have asked if there were any functions before booking a respite break! Fortunately the large bed was very comfortable so if there had been no loud music I`m sure the break would have been very relaxing.
Breakfast in the morning was a combination of cereals, fresh fruit etc, which was self service and we were also offered a selection of hot foods from the kitchen. It was all very yummy!
Check out staff were very friendly but we did feel the need to say that the music had been very loud which she apologised profusely for.
Overall I feel the hotel is a little dated but it has a charm about it and the location is beautiful and relaxing.... Just a pity we chose the wrong day.

Room Tip: The conservatory room would be great in the summer but definitely not for the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    57
    15
    16
    7
See reviews for
42
70
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel has a grand appearance and comfortable interior. The access drive is long and in parts weathered to a bumpy finish! Well sign posted from the road making it easy to track down. The Hotel has a superb location right next to the River Dee, with outside seating and grassed areas for guests.

Staff were most obliging upon my arrival with a quick and efficient check in process They were courteous and helpful with a bright smile which does go a long way to making the guest feel welcome.

I was immediately shown to my room which was a large en suite room overlooking the river and access drive. The room was clean and well laid out with required coffee making facilities and bottles of the local water. The bed was large and comfortable with plenty of room lighting to light up the darkest of corners. I requested an ironing board and iron, which was promptly delivered to my room, nothing was too much trouble.

The evening menu was very good with a fine selection of starters and main courses, ranging from Venison to Fish and much in between. The quality was good with excellent friendly efficient service. The dining room had a good view over the river Dee and was well lit, making reading the menu easy!

Breakfast was a combination of self service and hot food ordered from the kitchen. The cold selection was good with fresh fruit, cereal, croissants and dried fruit most prominent. No complaints with the ample breakfast facilities. The coffee was served promptly and was hot.

The only criticisms I may have, and they are only very small, is that the bathroom was somewhat tired, and the bath rather flexible, leading me to worry it might give way while I showered. The TV reception was lacking on some of the standard stations and the tea cups a little dainty for my taste, some nice mugs please!

Overall nice hotel, excellent food, would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a fantastic venue! Full of character and right on the banks of the River Dee. Views outstanding! Just attended a wedding (3 day event) and hats off to all of the great staff who were polite and always smiling and work really, really hard. Thanks to Carol, John and all who made it a great weekend :) rooms large and again full of character, and to top it all off food was amazing!! Def a high 5 five star hotel and looking forward to going back to visit at some point. Will advise to all my oversea friends to pay a visit when they come over :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over the weekend. It is fantastic to receive such great comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Banchory lodge has revamped its image in the past 12 months which is refreshing and uplifting for the hotel. The food served is well presented and nicely cooked with very friendly staff and a great manager. The prices are fair and the location beside the river is hard to beat. Highly recommend this hotel for a dinning experience, so much so were planning our wedding here in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here at Banchory Lodge Hotel. We look forward to helping with your wedding planning and to making your wedding day very special.

Kind regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My friend and I went for lunch to the Banchory Lodge on a Saturday. We booked a table in the bar and were impressed with the menu. (I understand the hotel has recently changed hands and I am certain the new owners will be planning tp upgrade many of the oublic areas - they are tired and in need of refurbishment).

Despite the fact that there was a wedding on at the same time as we were having lunch and guests were arriving for pre wedding drinks the staff were very attentive and service was excellent. The dinner menu looks lovely with unusual dishes - must go back for dinner!

We bith had a glass of the house rose with our lunch - really delicious - French apparently,

Will definitely go back - will let you knowhow dinner goes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us here at Banchory Lodge Hotel.
There are refurbishment plans for the hotel, the first phase was our Function Suite, Bar and Dee Room which was completed in October 2012 and planning is in hand for the next stage with details to be announced shortly.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Delightful Scottish country hotel on the banks of the River Dee. We went for an evening meal. Winter, so no views, but really cosy fire in the bar for a pre-dinner drink. Attractive menu, I had pear, walnut and blue cheese salad, followed by slow cooked belly pork. Food well cooked, and well presented. Staff very attentive and friendly. Definitely will eat there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your evening meal with us here at Banchory Lodge Hotel and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Best regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Recently had afternoon in the large dining room looking out of the large windows at what must be one of the best views and settings on Royal Deeside. Even though the weather outside was not to good the warmth of the welcome from the staff and a large fire more than made up for the dreich day outside. The afternoon tea was good. We will return on a day when the weather is better to enjoy the view and lovely surroundings sitting at on of the table placed around the grounds. \well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_S191281, General Manager at Banchory Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon with us here at Banchory Lodge Hotel and very much look forward to welcoming you back on a warm sunny day.

Best regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banchory Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banchory Lodge

Address: Dee Street, Banchory AB31 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banchory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Banchory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Banchory Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banchory Hotel Banchory
Banchory Lodge Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banchory Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.