We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buchanan's Bistro

Buchanan's Bistro
Woodend Barn, Banchory AB31 5QA, Scotland
01330 826530
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Banchory
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently had dinner here with my family the night before my wedding day. It was a lovely relaxing evening, the food was delicious and the service was great. The homemade bread was really tasty and we were throughly impressed with the quality of the food and the range of different dishes on the menu. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Ate here on a recent trip to Scotland food was excellent and the speciality seeded bread with coriander seed especially so! Not cheap but to be honest if that's what you're after stick to weatherspoons but you get what you pay for would recommend if in area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food...but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went on Saturday night and found everything to be nice and airy, if a teensy bit soul-less. Staff were welcoming and menu had a good variety of dishes. Food was good but there could have been a little moremof the Tagliatelle dish at 15 pounds!! The only gripe I have is that we ordered the (£14) cheeseboard to share as our 'afters' and got a nice selection of three cheeses that were accompanied by a paltry four rhomboid oatcakes smaller than the average cracker and one digestive type biscuit between two people! I asked for additional biscuits and received two more of the home-made rhomboids (delicious) and two Walkers Oatcakes. A disappointing end to an otherwise good meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Food fine, but very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Buchanan's Bistro is part of a small theatre/gallery complex just outside Banchory up the river Dee from Aberdeen. It's in an airy modern extension with tall windows providing a good view, but also making diners situated close by far too hot on a sunny day. (No shading is available). There is also some outside seating. There is pleasant informal, slightly "artsy" feel to the place with mixed seating and a bakery counter where the delicious bread and buns they bake on site are sold. There are good soups, salads and "boards",which are wooden platter covered with imaginative mixes of various cuisines. There's also a reasonable wine list. Perhaps the day I was there was unusual, but the service was poor, although there did seem to be quite a few staff (only around three quarters of the tables re occupied and few fully). Having been seen to our table and promised bread and water, it was 40 minutes before they arrived, while our requests to place our orders and get the wine list also required more than one attempt. Our very nice food took one hour to appear. I hope our experience was unusual, because this is otherwise a pleasant place for an informal meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Has potentials but let down by the limited menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

An out of town friend eventually dragged me there as he heard rave reviews. We came for lunch on a wet but warm day, the place itself is modern, well yes barn type lean- to conservatory giving it a Scandinavian flavour as are the furniture. 4 star for decor and furniture .

We came in for lunch and it was not busy . Young , very young staff are pleasant and friendly, We started with soup which was lovely, followed by a salmon dish each. The dish did not come with potato but some basic portion of 'world salad' i.e healthy bits of seeds and chopped beets etc. If you are a vegetarian or non meat/pork eater this will be a difficult place as the menu is limited.

Staff should come back to check on diners before they eat as we would have liked some more food . We left quite hungry and my friend felt the food was overpriced for the meagre helpings although we are n't big eaters.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buchanan's Bistro also viewed

Banchory, Aberdeenshire
Banchory, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Buchanan's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buchanan's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.