We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chark Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chark Farm
Save
You added Chark Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Chark Farm | Redmoor, Bodmin PL30 5AR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bodmin
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Skyber with our 4 year old daughter. The cottage itself was clean, well equiped, and the living room being converted to our daughters bedroom didn't comprise on space at all.
Jenny and Clive were excellent hosts. Our daughter absolutely loved helping with the animals every morning, pony rides on Billy, seeing the calves on the tour of the dairy shed, and the horse and cart ride.
Good location too - easy access to both north and south coast of Cornwall and plenty of local attractions.
Will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Had a fantastic time at Chark that good we even extended our stay!

Lots to do Jenny & Clive make you feel so welcome and plenty for the children to do feeding the animals, going on a diary farm tour

We will be returning again soon for our fifth visit cant understand why we left it so long last time beautiful place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasandBilly, Owner at Chark Farm, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments Kirsty! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you all again next time.
The Muscovy duck is still sitting in the tree trunk, the eggs still haven't hatched yet!
For updates on what is happening check out our Facebook page Chark Country Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Just returned from a short break (5 days) at Chark Farm and it couldn't have been better. An excellent location (Eden project 15 minutes, both coasts within 25 minutes and surrounded by open countryside). The standard of accommodation is outstanding and provided everything we needed for self catering as well as lots of outdoor space. (even in February the sun shone and we were able to sit out and spend time around the farm). Although we didn't have our son with us (now growing up and doing his own thing) the facilities to provide hands on farm experience and interaction with the animals is a plus point. (so don't forget the wellies !)
Jenny and Clive went out of their way to make us welcome and shared their knowledge of the area to ensure we made the best use of our time there.
Highlights of the trip - bike ride along the Camel trail, fish and chips at Rick Steins in Padstow, several walks along the coastal paths ( Looe to Polperro and Tintagel to Boscastle) and not forgetting Chark farm experience.
We will certainly return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: We had the opportunity to view most of the cottages and all are of the same high standard. One is ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We have been back for five years in a row and we will be back again. Excellent in every way; whether you just want to unwind, enjoy the farm and the animals or sightsee the many historic sights (many English Heritage and National Trust properties in the vicinity and the location is central for all of Cornwall), lounge on a beach, go horse riding make new friends including getting a warm welcome from Jenny and Clive Littleton and their family and so much more....... Chark Farm has everything. The standard of accommodation and facilities are first class too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is located just off the A30, easy to find after the long journey. Accommodation in Skyber was perfect for our 2 year old. It's all on one level - minimal tripping, swallowing, breaking hazards. There was even a secure garden overlooking a field with goats, hens, horse, ducks, geese etc. Jenny and Clive were exceptionally good hosts - showed us round the Dairy, rides on the horse and tractor for our little boy. Lots of attractions near by to minimise driving with the little one. We'll be back with our wellies next year!

Room Tip: Skyber is great for small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Lovely cottage - Fenten Chy - excellent facilities;dishwasher, microwave, whirlpool bath etc. Spotlessly clean. A great base for touring the local area. Would highly recommend!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We took our horse and dogs to Chark Farm on 2nd July 2011. What a fantastic place - our horse was chilled out as soon as he arrived. Jenny provides some excellent horse ride information, peaceful farm in a beautiful setting. Nothing was too much trouble and it was a really nice relaxing holiday. Great for children too - see the goats, chickens, Billy the minature pony and bottle feed the calves. Collected fresh eggs from the hen coop daily - excellent holiday - have not hesitation in recommending...will be going back in spring 2012....

Room Tip: cottages are specially adapted for disabled, children or couples - see the website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chark Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chark Farm

Address: Chark Farm | Redmoor, Bodmin PL30 5AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bodmin
Hotel Class:4 star — Chark Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious quality self-catering accommodation on picturesque farm in beautiful mid Cornwall. Some with superb wheelchair access. Family friendly. Open all year. Free wi-fi. Optional complimentary horse and cart ride for all guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chark Farm Bodmin, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chark Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.