We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hengar Manor Grand Name, Poor Accommodation and Facilities!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hengar Manor Country Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hengar Manor Country Park
Save
You added Hengar Manor Country Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   St. Tudy, Bodmin PL30 3PL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bodmin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hengar Manor Grand Name, Poor Accommodation and Facilities!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile


We have been to over 5 different hoseasons lodge sites and this was defiantly not one of the best.
The lodge was ok, very basic, we stayed in a hengar manor lodge which sounds very grand, however it was very basic, a oven which looked like it came from the 70's, no dishwasher (which I know wasn't advertised but is usually standard). The carpet was really dated and worn. The living area was a good size and the furniture ok, was well used but clean. The bathrooms were nice and clean and showers good. This was defiantly the most basic we have stayed in, we were given a washing up cloth and a scaurer but nothing else, not even an oven cloth or tea towel which we have always been given elsewhere. I was surprised with this accommodation, having a hot tub, that no bath mat was supplied to put on the bathroom floor for catching drips after use and so the tiled floors got very wet and slippery.
The heating (storage heaters) were ok could have been a bit warmer but we couldn't adjust the controls as they had previously been snapped off.
The pool on site was freezing, which was such a shame as we were really hoping to make good use of it, however after 20 minutes of trying to keep warm my toddler was shivering like made and we had to get out, so we didn't bother again & stuck to our hot tub.
The restaurant was dire, the seating around the entertainment area was ok, but the quieter bit which we chose to use was thilthy, the material on the padded benches and seats was black with so much use. The menu was pretty good, a little on the expensive side, but the food was below average and my husband was really disappointed with his watery chicken tikka, especially after waiting over half an hour with a 2 & 5 year old for it to arrive!
We had initially gone into the restaurant to order takeaway, but the menu was limited and the prices were the same as if you ate in, hence our decision to eat in.
So in the end I had to cook most evenings unless we ate out somewhere at lunch time, which wasn't really what we'd hoped as was supposed to be a break (especially away from cooking) !!

The other thing was everything was so far to get to you had to drive at least half an hour to get anywhere, we did visit Padstow and Newquay which were nice but bodmin was no so.

My parents stayed at the same time as us in a caravan, it was disgustingly filthy and the heater had been ripped off the wall in the main bedroom. My Mum had to go and ask for another heater, it felt damp as hadn't been stayed in for months (not surprisingly!) The bedrooms were ok but the seating in the lounge was black it was so dirty and the bar fire in the lounge was too dangerous for kids. Shame as it had a nice lake setting but really should be condemned as someone else commented In their review!

We have stayed in Devon in two other hoseasons sites which were much nicer and more reasonable. Finlake has the same facilities and is of a much higher standard, and we stayed in one near ilfracombe which didn't have any facilities but was a much nicer modern and well kitted out cabin & close by to takeaways and restaurants.


So if you don't mind basic for an executive price, a cold pool, dirty restaurant and having to travel miles to get anywhere stay here!

Oh and the last thing.....
I got home hoseasons emailed me asking me to fill out two feedback forms over the Internet, the links didn't work so I emailed them only to be told they didn't do feedback on the net anymore there feedback links no longer work and to email them with any comments. So they are happy to take your money, but neither Hoseasons on Hengar Manor care what you think about the place or are interested in any improvements that could be made!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    154
    75
    40
    30
See reviews for
262
55
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at Hengar Manor. We stayed in a 2 storey 4 bed lodge which was very comfortable. I cannot praise the staff highly enough; the ladies on reception were very helpful and attentive, Sarah who ran the 2 children's clubs that my sons attended was very enthusiastic and clearly enjoyed being with the children, and even down to the cleaning staff I met at various times who were all chatty and friendly. The indoor pool has the benefit of a small but fast slide and a great plus I found were the changing rooms - private and plentiful. My only criticisms would really be down to the appearance of the lodges (now looking dated in style) and also that quite a few things were broken in our accommodation (door handles, drawer fronts, door locking mechanisms). But I would definitely return in the summer months to see what it is like at the height of the season and to make use of the lovely open spaces next to the lodges for my sons to play.

Room Tip: Number 33 has a lovely open space to the rear for children to play on. Upstairs double room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from a week ataying in the Garden view apartment at Hengar manor.
Firstly I would stay that the park itself is not too bad. The pool is good and the kids loved it, when they say it's a mini gym it really is, two treadmills, two rowing machines, two crosstrainers and yes you guessed it two bikes. The Italian restaurant is nice but the other described to us as a brewers fayre type place is very average. Hengar Manor is in an excellent location for visiting all areas of Cornwall.

Now for the garden view apartment, it is described on Hengar manor's website as new for 2012, what a joke. as you walk in the door the smell of damp and mustyness hits you. It is true that the place appears to have had a lick of paint, unforunately all the woodchip wallpaper that is peeling off the walls has simply been painted over (it is still peeling off the walls). The lounge has a new carpet but not very well fitted, all the other carpets are old and dirty. There is a lot of what appears to be second hand pine furniture with two double wardrobes in the main bedroom, unfortunately with only a total of three hangers between them. There are numerous cracked windows which have simply had masking tape put on them to hold them together. The kitchen is out of the seventies and not very clean. The shower in the bathroom needs gravity to assist in getting the water to you, it is pathetic. There are two storage heaters in the apartment which basically don't work, there were two el;ectric heaters which also didn't work so we got them swapped. There was no heating whatsoever in the second bedroom where the kids were sleeping, we had to put the oven on to get any sort of warmth in the apartment. The outside light mentioned in previous reviews still doesn't work and nothing was done to fix it whilst we were there.

My advice would be that if you have booked this apartment, swap for something else. If you are thinking about booking it, please don't.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkberrow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This was the most disappointing place I have ever stayed at. Booked a Hengar Park Villa (from recommendation of the nice man at Hoseasons) and to whom I will write and give my feedback to also. Allocated no 114 which externally looked nothing more delightful than a coal bunker, seriously we are talking pebbledash meets Scandinavian style, absolutely hideous. The villa itself was an ok size (3 bedrooms) for our family of 5 but the basic expectations one would expect we're distinctly lacking. The place looked like it had last been cleaned a year ago, the dining table was so sticky and no matter how much I cleaned it the stickiness stayed. Every room had an abundance of cobwebs and spiders, the lampshades were full of dust, the duvet covers were torn, the velvet curtains in every room inc bathroom were stained and dirty, the cutlery was from the 70's, the microwave was dirty, the fridge was broken and froze all the food and the Hoover left in the villa had an awful smell when switched on. Expect nothing in this villa, not even a token tea towel. You can use the oven but you won't find any oven cloths so prepare to burn your hands! No bath mats either, basic requirement you would think. The Park itself is tired and an 80's throwback. No care taken in any part and very neglected. Don't rely on there being a shop on site as it is the poorest stocked shop I have ever seen, it looked like it had been robbed!! The swimming pool is so cold it's not pleasant. There were a few positives, most of the staff were friendly although expect to wait at reception while they finish their chat or route out a new box of tea bags. The heating is full on and welcomed at this time of year.

My family and I will not return here and I will not recommend it to anyone........if you don't mind dated, poor level of cleanliness both in accommodation and around the site then fine but I still wouldn't recommend it to you. You can go to a very modern holiday park in the Isle of White for the same amount of money and that includes ferry crossings too and it puts Hengar to shame, happy to recommend if you contact me.

The only one good thing was close location to visit places such as Port Isaac, Polzeath Beach, Padstowe and Fowey but still inane you missed it earlier, I wouldn't recommend, don't book here as you will be deeply disappointed. No I know why nobody smiled!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We've just come back from a Monday to Friday stay at Hengar Manor. We had a great time! After the mixed reviews we really didn't know what to expect and when we first arrived our first impressions really weren't great as it did seem tired and run down from the outside. However, it is actually a really lovely place. When we checked in to our lodge (number 11 park lodge plus, with hottub) we were delighted. The lodge was really modern, decorated in a lovely way and the rooms were spacious and had everything we need.

The staff there were helpful and when we had a problem with the oven, they offered to fix it right away (although we said to wait until we left on the Friday as it was a good excuse for us not to have to cook!).

The facilities were good. The swimming pool was nice (although very very cold, thankfully our 2 year old had his warm wetsuit on otherwise it would have been too cold for him).

The hot tub at our lodge was lovely and was a big hit for us all! The entertainment was ok, food was slightly overpriced on site but then I would expect this.

Overall we were really pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Lodge 11 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford le Hope, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at Lodge number 3 for a week in September. This lodge is situated right near the facilities, yet from your patio doors are lovely views of the lake with no obstruction of other lodges. It was our sons first holiday and he quickly learned the word 'Duck' as he got to feed them everyday from our terrace. While the weather was a little rainy, the lodge provided a warm and cosy atmosphere for us to relax with our relatives yet was well provisioned for our needs, including having a small child in our group. The Manor house is a beautiful building and although we didnt use many of Hengar Manors facilities, there seemed to be lots of things to do onsite and locally. Hengar Manor is the ideal base to explore this area of Cornwall, with many local towns and interesting places a short drive away along some beautiful country lanes. We will definitely be visiting here again in the future and recommend this lodge in particular for its newly decorated, yet warm and comfortable feel situated in a tranquil part of the country.

Room Tip: Lodge number 3 newly decorated and well provisioned for a family with a small child. Unmasked views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at Hengar Manor for a week in september, 6 adults and our 2 1/2 year old little girl, our lodge was number 34. The lodge was a good size with two upstairs bedrooms one with a lovely balcony, a nice good sized bathroom, 2 twin bedrooms and shower room downstairs. The furnishings could do with updating however. The kitchen was small but had everything we needed the oven was hopeless though and toaster was a tiny 2 slice one (not great when the accomodation is for 10 people)! we were visited by the ducks every morning which our little girl loved. The play area was great but a little hidden away, wouldnt like to see children there alone. The grounds are lovely and well kept. We used the pool which was nice and clean, had a slide and hot tub. The club was really good and the entertainment staff do a great job. Sporty Fox was the highlight of our little ones holiday and she enjoyed dancing and listening to the stories. The park is quite central to everything we went to Looe twice and Newquay. Its really close to Padstow and Rock has a lovely beach. All in all we all had a fab time and would return to Hengar Manor again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hengar Manor Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hengar Manor Country Park

Address: St. Tudy, Bodmin PL30 3PL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bodmin
Hotel Class:4 star — Hengar Manor Country Park 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Also Known As:
Hengar Manor Country Park Hotel Bodmin
Hengar Manor Country Park Bodmin, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hengar Manor Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.