We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular place to eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club to your Saves list
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lostwithiel Road, Bodmin PL30 5AQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
South London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Popular place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We managed to book a table for Easter Sunday lunch at around 3pm and it was well worth waiting for! Atmosphere was buzzing - it was really busy -and in the main the service was really good. I was a little disappointed with crab and prawn starter - hardly a teaspoon of crab and short on dressing - othere starters went down well - pate and soup. The fantastic quality of the carvery meats soon had shortfall of crab forgotten! The Beef and the lamb almost melted in the mouth - beef was nice and pink and was so so tasty - great range of vegetables and lovely Yorkshires ( roast potatoes werent anything special though!) Gravy was tasty. Desserts - the Lemon Possett was fantastic - topped with nice sharp redberries and a lovely piece of shortbread DELICIOUS! Nobody else left any of theirs so they must have gone down well too! Overall a great lunch experience - hopefully to be repeated soon!

Room Tip: Was not a resident - using the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    76
    18
    11
    0
See reviews for
37
90
13
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had the great opportunity of having our Wedding reception at Lanhydrock Hotel and we couldn't of asked for a better venue. Their service is second to none and their staff our so helpful and welcoming. The food was of the highest standards with all our family and friends loving the selections. Our room was spotless and perfect with beauitful views looking out over the golf course. Breakfast was amazing and first class service to our bedroom door. We will definitley be going back there every year for our wedding anniversary and their wonderful food in the evenings. Rob and Lindsay Wood

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarebond, Owner at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We were thrilled to be associated with Pirate FM and to give you the wedding of your dreams. So glad that you both enjoyed your big day and we look forward to keeping in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Easter Sunday set menu lunch was superb. Choice and quality of food faultless. Staff friendly and attentive. Warm welcoming atmosphere. Other occasions to visit for bar meals consistently good. Restaurant views out across golf course pleasant. Non golfer but that did not seem to matter. Our family group was aged 16 to eighties and we all had a lovely treat. We travelled from Plymouth and the 55 minute drive was not an issue.

Room Tip: Sleep review kept recording on iPad but not deleting so ignore that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarebond, Owner at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your Sunday visit. Easter Sunday was particularly busy and I am delighted to hear that we catered successfully for the various ages of guests in your party. Please let us have any helpful advice in order to improve on the Sunday Carvery as we are good listeners! We hope to see you again soon.

Clare Bond
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Belated family celebration which is always a favourite with the elders, providing an economical venue for a two course meal for four with soft drinks at under £80. The food and selection was very tasty. The restaurant and bar areas were fully packed and service was a little slow possibly due to not enough staff on duty and a full cover.
On the whole one of the nicest carvery restaurants for a Sunday afternoon you could encounter at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarebond, Owner at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We do appreciate the time you have taken to tell others about your recent visit to us and to mention that you feel we give reasonable value here at Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club. Our Carvery is not the cheapest in the area but we do use quality Cornish produce and great care is taken by our team of Chefs. We stagger the bookings between 12 noon and 3.30pm on most Sundays to avoid slow service. I must apologise for the speed of service on your visit and hope that it will not deter you from returning to see us. Thank you again.

Clare Bond
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on business, lovely clean hotel, rooms are spacious, nice comfortable bed, perfect nights sleep, lovely views across golf course. There was not much choice for dinner in the restaurant although breakfast selection was excellent. Staff were very friendly and professional. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley and Bolton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely clean hotel,good reasonable price meal at the nineteenth hole.
Non golfer but was visiting Eden project which is about nine miles away
Room with Juliet balcony which is directly onto the golf course.
Most rooms are directly overlooking the course.

Room Tip: We were in room 38 on first floor overlooking course as most rooms are. Only there one night on was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the lanhydrock for 2 nights on business . Service staff very friendly rooms were good overlooking course loads of free parking but hotel is in middle of nowhere so you need the sat nav and car if you venture out in evening. Breakfast was individually cooked 1st morning but was a slow congealing buffet on morning 2. Bar and restaurant homely however the staff left the same cd (background music) on for 2 days. I counted Kama chameleon, Gold by Tony Hadley and we are young 8 times! At least.. Broadband is free and sky sports on TV but channel selection was a lottery and complicated. I would stay here again for the price

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Lostwithiel Road, Bodmin PL30 5AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel and Golf Course in Bodmin, North Cornwall The acclaimed Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club is a luxury hotel in Cornwall, located on the outskirts of the old county town of Bodmin in the heart of the county. Easily accessible via the A30/A38, Lanhydrock is only one hour's drive from Exeter and boasts one of the finest golf courses in Cornwall along with a brand new purpose built Fitness Suite. Our central location makes an ideal base for holidays and short breaks in Cornwall. The hotel is a stone's throw from the Eden Project and within easy driving distance of the coast, moor and several great Cornwall attractions. UK golf hotel in a tranquil corner of Cornwall Owned and managed by the Bond Family, who created the Jack Nicklaus Course at St Mellion, Lanhydrock provides a beautiful 18 hole course which is set in mature parkland complemented by contemporary 44 bedroom accommodation with conference and function facilities. The area provides fantastic and varied attractions including the nearby Lanhydrock National Trust House, Eden Project and Fowey. Padstow and Truro are also only a short drive away. We are also very close to the Camel Trail, a popular cycling and recreational route that links Bodmin with Padstow, predmoniantly along a disused railway line and taking in the beautiful Camel Estuary. If you plan a golfing holiday, business or leisure break in a Cornwall hotel, Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club in Bodmin, north Cornwall, is the place for you. A picturesque wedding venue in Cornwall Lanhydrock Hotel hosts a range of stylish and friendly weddings throughout the year. We specialise in provising a personlised, attentive service to every couple, ensuring that your day goes smoothly and you have everything you need. Whether a ceremony or reception, we offer beautiful photo opportunities, delicious food and spacious wedding suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanhydrock Hotel Bodmin
Lanhydrock Hotel And Golf Club Bodmin, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.