We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and better than its AA 2* rating, yet a slightly strange mix of styles” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westberry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Westberry Hotel to your Saves list
Westberry Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rhind Street, Bodmin PL31 2EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable and better than its AA 2* rating, yet a slightly strange mix of styles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel doesn't quite seem to know what it is; new buildings and styles seem slightly ill at ease with the older parts of the place.
My room was perfectly clean and comfortable with everything i needed (although slightly on the small size for my liking), and yet seemed to be furnished from bits left over from a sale at Ikea. Having said that, the mattress and pillows were very good.
The restaurant isn't sure if its a Thai or a steakhouse, but seems to be pretty competent at both if my mixed menu meal was typical. The decor is nice enough but still has that B&Q meets Wilko feel to it.
I think that this hotel is reasonable value for money and i would happily stop there again. As there isn't a 3.5 star overall rating on Trip Advisor, i wavered over whether or not to give it 3 or 4.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    66
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
60
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the Westberry because there was little choice for group bookings in Bodmin. Although the rooms are clean they clearly have not received any updating fot the last 15 years! We arrived at about 8.30pm and were offered an overpriced menu so were forced to go out for an Indian. The staff were generally Ok, however, the gentleman on the reception clearly needed to be sent on a customer relation course.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Warm welcome, large well appointed room. Decor & cleanliness of very high standard. Really good selection & well cooked breakfast and the Thai meals were 1st class. Ample free parking on site. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Tea, coffee and bottled water in room, was replenished on a daily basis. If you like a biscuit, take your own, which wasn't a problem to us. Sleepy town, ideally located to visiting both north & south coast. We consider this hotel to be higher than 2 star.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We recently spent the weekend at this hotel in the middle of Bodmin. It was lovely and clean, with good staff and the breakfasts, and couple of evening dinners we had there were great. we have no complaints at all, only the fact that this hotel is AA listed as a 2 star hotel, and should definately be upgraded to a 4 star.we wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Thanks to the hotel for a great weekend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My Wife and I stayed at the Westberry from the 20th August until the 25th August the staff employed by the Hotel are a credit the the Owners the Rooms are clean the breakfast had a variety of different things to taste and Enjoy we had 2 evening meals within the restaurant and they were very enjoyable the dessert menu could do with having a less sweet variety of desserts on the menu for people who cannot have sweet stuff eg Fresh fruit salads we both enjoyed our stay and will go again good location to visit cornwall

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with elderly mother and father in law. Staff very friendly, good choice of food for breakfast, our 2 rooms (no's 10 and 11) were large with modern bathrooms. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

As a last minute booking, this exceeded my expectation of a 2 star hotel. The room was clean and well kitted out. The vegetarian breakfast was good - a substitute for sausage and bacon would have been welcomed rather than simply not being served. Evening meal was excellent - their Thai restaurant comes recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westberry Hotel

Address: Rhind Street, Bodmin PL31 2EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Westberry Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westberry is 2 star rated and boasts an intimate restaurant with bar. Premier dining room and Function suite with bar and Games room with Full size Snooker table and Darts. All of the 21 bedrooms are en-suite, with Sky TV, radio, Ironing facilities, telephone, free wireless internet access and tea/coffee making facilities. Try an evening meal in the Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the town, serving A la carte menu, Traditional Favorites and Table d' Hôte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Westberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westberry Hotel Bodmin, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westberry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.