We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and inspiring garden, generous gardener” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinsla Garden and Nursery

Pinsla Garden and Nursery
Bodmin PL30 4AY, England
01208 821339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Attractions in Bodmin
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pinsla is a two acre artists garden and nursery in a picturesque Cornish woodland. We are one of the most peaceful gardens you will find, easily accessible and welcome dogs. We are open from the end of February until the end of October.
Towson, Maryland
1 review
“Charming and inspiring garden, generous gardener”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

After visiting Hidcote and Snowshill, we found this extraordinary little gem where we saw plants in an ordinary scale garden setting. The nursery owner, Clare, couldn't have been more delightful, sharing plant names and propagation tips. The garden grounds are filled with imaginative, striking planters, gates, walls, arches and -- my favorite -- a gazebo with a ceiling mosaic of bits of mirror. Everywhere we looked there were examples of how to create beauty and whimsy from what you have at hand. Truly an inspiring visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W, Manager at Pinsla Garden and Nursery, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I am very pleased you were inspired by Pinsla, we think it is a special place too. I love having the opportunity to share ideas about gardening and landscapes with visitors. Thank you for your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Peaceful and fascinating garden, open to the public”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Pinsla Garden & Nursery is a medium size garden, open to the public, more or less in the middle of Cornwall, just east of Bodmin. They tell us that the garden now is the result of about 30 year's work. It's one of the most imaginative medium size gardens I know, full of mature, attractive and colourful flora. The thing that makes this garden stand out, is the profusion of discovery art that the garden incorporates. There are hidden corners, well chosen & weathered statues and stones, collages made from garden materials (like snakes of flower-pots), even a stone henge (!) Everything has been laid out to delight the eye. It's a photographer's dream, with a tempting image around every corner. We found the garden delightfully peaceful and lingered at the end over a cup of tea and a slice of excellent cake.

Mark and Claire Woodbine
Pinsla Garden and Nursery
Glynn
Nr. Cardinham
Bodmin
Cornwall
PL30 4AY

Phone +44 (0)1208 821339

http://www.pinslagarden.net/

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W, Owner at Pinsla Garden and Nursery, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
I'm very happy that you enjoyed our lovely garden, thanks for the excellent review, it reflects the spirit of Pinsla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandlers Ford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We were told about these gardens by our B&B hosts three years ago and have visited them each year since on our annual holiday in Cornwall. Tucked away dwn winding lanes, the cottage garden is a riot of colour, and the wooded area is a delight to explore, with it's quirky art works everywhere. Teas and lovely cakes are served on the patio outside the Hansel and Gretel looking.cotage and we never come away without buying several plants to take home. Helpful advice given and much cheaper than most garden centres!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Plants hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Tucked away under the moor, a charming nursery. The drive there is interesting and the produce has items not available elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire W, Owner at Pinsla Garden and Nursery, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
I am so pleased you enjoyed the variety of plants and sculpture we have in our nursery, I hope you can visit again soon. Best Wishes, Claire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and original gardens.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012 via mobile

I visited these fabulous gardens last summer during a trip to Cornwall last summer. They are arranged around a beautiful old cottage which is nestled in the centre of garden. I believe the owners of the garden live in house. The gardens are not your average garden attraction they are unique and very imaginative including various outdoor pieces of art dotted around. There is also an extensive nursery to buy plants and a charming little picnic area to order (in our experience - delicious) cakes and cream teas. Perfect way to spend an hour or two on a sunny afternoon in a different and beautiful part of a fabulous county. Oh and there is a brilliant little dog running around the place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinsla Garden and Nursery also viewed

 
Bodmin, Cornwall
 

Been to Pinsla Garden and Nursery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinsla Garden and Nursery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.