We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay for us and well behaved dogs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivermead Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodmin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivermead Holidays
Save
You added Rivermead Holidays to your Saves list
Lower Penquite | St Breward, Bodmin PL30 4LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bodmin
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous place to stay for us and well behaved dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Calm, peaceful and tranquil. A beautifully maintained small site offering excellent high quality caravans.
Bodmin Moor is just a stone's throw and the town of Wadebride a few miles away.
Steve and Julie very approachable and friendly, always available yet not intrusive.
Recommend this to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed with our dog Oscar for ten nights in early June in the 4 berth "Garrow" caravan. The caravan was immaculate and cosy and had everything you needed to be comfortable. We were very fortunate with the weather and St.Breward proved to be the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Should we decide to return to Cornwall we will definitely return to Rivermead. We will be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from a short break at this fantastic, quiet site.
This time we had the one bedroom, 4 berth caravan with the walled garden. This was ideal as we have a dog and as I was recovering from surgery allowed us to let the dog out without having to keep him on a lead.
The weather was good considering the rest of the country was getting rain for most of the week.
With Tintagel, Boscastle, Bodmin and Camelford on your doorstep there is no need to travel too far afield.
The fish and chips from Camelford are must when in the area (award winning).
The Darlington Inn, which is a 13th century building, is worth having a meal in, but be aware the the food is cooked to order and this will mean that you will have a quite a wait from ordering to receiving the meal but it is worth it. Also take note that it is cash only in this establishment.
We were going to eat at the Old Inn in the village but as it is up hill and I couldn't walk too far we did not get to do this this time as the car park was full when we tried to go.
We will return for definite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Well what do i say,as a Cornishman revisiting and having stayed at numerous sites River mead was something i wish i had found years ago.
From the minute we arrived the hosts were on the doorstep to greet us (How do they do that ?) everything went from good to great.

The site is immaculate and in a wonderful location,i really cant fault the hosts the site nor the accommodation.

My only fear is getting turned down with no vacancies next time i visit .

Rivermead just ticks every box.....................Thank you for a great week.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivermeadHols, Owner at Rivermead Holidays, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review.
So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you soon.
All the best.
Julie & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton Uk
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We hads spent a week in September 2012 on the North cornwall coast at Trebarwith and decided to return to the area to spend the 5 days before Easter in Cornwall and found this deal on Ebay and made an offer which was accepted.

The site is on Bodmin Moor with idyllic countryside nearby. We stayed in the one chalet on the site, the rest of the accomodation is all caravans. As it was the begining of the season we were the only ones staying. The accomodation was clean and well maintained, Steve was out most days working around the site; we had everything we needed including very good Wi-Fi. Even though it was very cold we had ample oil filled radiators which kept us warm enough. There was a small private area with table and chairs adjacent to the chalet with a washing line, we did not sit outside - it was too cold! The washing line was used to hang out our swimwear as we did manage to find a nice swimming pool in Newquay www.oasis-hendra.co.uk that we used.
Whilst there we visited the Eden Project for the second time making use of our September ticket for the second free visit and also went to Land End, St Michaels Mount, Padstow and Port Issac. We had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing week! The pub in the village (The Old Inn) was lovely, friendly staff with a roaring log fire and as the weather was cold and frosty it was very welcome. The food was good either standard pub fare or a carvery option; they have good deals on most evening ie 2 steak dinners for £20 which were very good. The restaurant was nice with floor to ceiling windows offering a good view which must be lovely in good weather when it is opened up fully. We definitely needed our Sat Nav in the Bodmin area but the direction given to get to the site were very good. The supermarkets in Bodmin were very good especially Morrisons. The village shop was not too far away and made a nice morning walk to buy a newspaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights over the Easter of 2013, it really is out of the way on Bodmin Moor but the instructions supplied were very good. There is very little in the village of St.Brewards except for the local pub that does yum yum food.
The Caravan itself slept 2 people and had every convenience you could think off. But my god was it cold, even with the support of 2 oil filled radiators to boost the heat from the gas fire we could not get the place warm. We didn’t like to leave any heating on when we out.
Anyway it was just a very cold Easter. There is a small grassed area with a picnic table for each caravan for the warmer months and I would imagine a very nice and quiet holiday could be had here
A tip would be to use a Sat nav to get about as being out in the “bush” like this with iffy signposts and numberous road options a sat-nav could be a good time saver

Room Tip: a sat-nav would be useful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivermeadHols, Owner at Rivermead Holidays, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review.
It was cold, I think it was the coldest Easter since records began. Hope that hasn't put you off.
Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

for us as a couple with one dog a great short notice break in an excellent location. The caravan is comfortable, had everything we needed. It was nice to have wifi and it was close to the Moor and easy to drive to the beautiful coast. We would recommend the Old Inn for food.

Room Tip: this is a small caravan park which suited us perfectly. Can't comment on swimming pool or room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivermead Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivermead Holidays

Address: Lower Penquite | St Breward, Bodmin PL30 4LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Bodmin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small,unique,tranquil holiday park situated in the moorland village of St Breward, Bodmin Moor, Cornwall. With the moors on the doorstep, with its rugged scenery, babbling brooks and endless walks: and the nearest beach on the north coast only 11 miles away; we are centrally based for exploring the whole of Cornwall.Fishing, horse riding, cycling and walking all close by; a haven for those who love the great outdoors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivermead Holidays Bodmin, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivermead Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.