We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cock and Bull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkstyle Inn

Kirkstyle Inn
Slaggyford | Brampton, Brampton CA8 7PB, England
+44 1434 381559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Brampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This inn overlooks the South Tyne river and its beautiful fells. Situated "off the beaten track" it well rewards those who travel to find it. It is also a very good lunch spot for those who ride the narrow gauge railway from Alston. The Kirkstyle Inn has just been awarded a TripAdvisor "2013 CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE", placing it in the top 10% of establishments, worldwide,for customer satisfaction!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cock and Bull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Fantastic food. Never disappoints. Good beer and friendly staff and clients. Best to book at weekends. Deserves five stats.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    19
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Try the black pudding and pork sausages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

One of a group of four Hadrian Wall walkers, so very happy to discover a hearty dinner which was based on high quality local ingredients. I recommend the black-pudding and pork sausages. But all the sausages my friends tried were good. And the mash. And the veg. And not forgetting the gravy. Walkers, and others, this food will set you up for great adventures the next day.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious sausages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Sausages wonderful and veg cooked perfectly with great mash and delicious gravy. Sadly we were too late arriving, our fault for looking at countryside for too long. Thanks

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very Handy Little Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My sister has a holiday home in Slaggyford, so we were more than happy to try this little local inn. We had read very good reviews on Trip Advisor and must say that the Kirkstyle Inn lived up to it's reputation.
It is very friendly and welcoming and the food is tasty and appetising.We would be happy to return and recommend to other visitors to this lovely peaceful area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and cosy setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were staying in Maryport and wanted a decent dinner. Since there wasn't much around the area after looking on Trip Advisor we found this pub. The restaurant was located in a very charming old building and it was equally charming inside. The place was warm and quite busy, we asked at the bar for a table and right away he came round from the bar and showed us to a table in the new build extension side. This section didn't have the beams and cosiness but had a lovely view out to the brook and garden.

We both had the roast lamb shank and mash which were very generously sized and really good. We then struggled to stuff the delicious sticky toffee pudding in but it was well worth it. The service was continuously great and overall we we both left feeling very content and full!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirkstyle Inn also viewed

 

Been to Kirkstyle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkstyle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.