We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first timers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Macclesfield South West

Premier Inn Macclesfield South West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Macclesfield South West to your Saves list
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West
Congleton Road | Gawsworth, Macclesfield SK11 7XD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Macclesfield
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“first timers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

An excellent stay with very friendly and informative staff
Great help with arranging taxis
Food was very good value for money
Hot and at a reasonable price
Other friends staying were similarly inpressed with hotel and food
Will be stayiing at Premier Inns in future

Room Tip: We prefer not to have ground floor as we like to have window slightly open
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey A, Manager at Premier Inn Macclesfield South West, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Macclesfield South West Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Tracey Armstrong Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    37
    14
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
45
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived late in the evening, but received a warm, friendly welcome. Our family room was perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids (aged 4 & 9). Freeview TV was welcomed in the morning by the kids! The room was clean, fresh and well presented. The hotel was nice and quiet. Breakfast the following morning was lovely - freshly cooked and prepared - with friendly and attentive service. Extremely good value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey A, Manager at Premier Inn Macclesfield South West, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Tracey Armstrong Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good stay and comfortable, no issues. car parking is also available. very friendly staff and the pub next door serves good food. would recommend if you need a place to stay for a couple of nights. wifi needs to be free though for the whole duration of the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey A, Manager at Premier Inn Macclesfield South West, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Macclesfield South West Premier Inn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. Tracey Armstrong Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We chose this Premier Inn because of its location close to Gawsworth Hall where we were going to a concert. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The restaurant next door was a disaster from start to finish, evening food was great vale for money, but the service was terrible we waited 1 hour for our meal. Breakfast was dreadful, hardly any choice, miserable staff, and we were treated like naughty children because we sat at the wrong table. We sat at that table because we had a wheelchair, how naughty of us!! If you stay at the Premier go elsewhere to eat. Tracey Armstrong the manager from the hotel came in and sorted the staff out, it need completely new restaurant staff starting with the management.

Room Tip: Don't eat nextdoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey A, Manager at Premier Inn Macclesfield South West, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Gawsworth Hall. Your feedback from the restaurant has been noted and has been duly investigated by the Management team, I am delighted to inform you that the restaurant is now under new management.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Macclesfield South West Premier Inn. Kind regards, Tracey Armstrong Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for one night, and found the reception staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was ok with a good sized bed. The cooked breakfast was not too good - rubbery scrambled eggs, an inedible vegetarian sausage, poor quality tomatoes, and a shortage of crockery. They need to employ some more staff for breakfasts. The waitress was very helpful and couldn't be faulted, but was rushed off her feet. We think it is generally overpriced

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The main hotel staff were very good, helpful, friendly and welcoming it's just a shame that they are badly let down by the bar/resteraunt. The rooms are basic but adequate and clean no complaints there. The Bar and Resteraunt are desperately in need of refurbishment and the food is of poor quality and poor value for money - stay here but don't eat here.

Room Tip: Stay here but don't eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

On our first night of a 3 night stay we went to the bar/restaraunt attached to the hotel. We joined a long queue to order food and when we finally got to order we were told that they had no steak of any kind (even though it featured strongly on the menu) and that there would be a wait of 45 mins. to an hour for food. Breakfast in the morning for which we had pre paid was not much better as they had run out of bacon and the following morning the coffee machine was not working and all they could offer were sachets of decaff. They also ran out of plates and the staff in the restaraunt (apart from one young lady) were rude and offhand. This was in sharp contrast to the staff in the hotel itself who were friendly and helpful and who seemed embarassed by the chaos in the bar/restarant next door. The outside eating/sitting area at the restaraunt was filthy with spilling over ash trays and food on the ground and it certainly was not cleaned during the 3 days that we were there. While the hotel was a typical no frills Premier Inn offering with pleasant, helpful staff we certainly will not return until they sort out the chaos in the attached restaraunt.

Room Tip: Less car park noise on the restaraunt side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Macclesfield South West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Macclesfield South West

Address: Congleton Road | Gawsworth, Macclesfield SK11 7XD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macclesfields South West Premier Inn is within easy reach of the M6, M62 and M56 and close to Macclesfield train station. Situated in a scenic area of Macclesfield yet only 5 minutes drive from the town centre and local business parks. Local attractions include Gawsworth Hall, Jodrell Bank Science centre and Arley Hall. Our Macclesfield South West Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, free parking, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Macclesfield South West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Macclesfield South West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.