We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Macclesfield South West

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Macclesfield South West to your Saves list
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West
Congleton Road | Gawsworth, Macclesfield SK11 7XD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Macclesfield
United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfortable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good stay and comfortable, no issues. car parking is also available. very friendly staff and the pub next door serves good food. would recommend if you need a place to stay for a couple of nights. wifi needs to be free though for the whole duration of the stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey A, Manager at Premier Inn Macclesfield South West, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Macclesfield South West Premier Inn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. Tracey Armstrong Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
26
33
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We chose this Premier Inn because of its location close to Gawsworth Hall where we were going to a concert. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and the staff very helpful. The restaurant next door was a disaster from start to finish, evening food was great vale for money, but the service was terrible we waited 1 hour for our meal. Breakfast was dreadful, hardly any choice, miserable staff, and we were treated like naughty children because we sat at the wrong table. We sat at that table because we had a wheelchair, how naughty of us!! If you stay at the Premier go elsewhere to eat. Tracey Armstrong the manager from the hotel came in and sorted the staff out, it need completely new restaurant staff starting with the management.

Room Tip: Don't eat nextdoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey A, Manager at Premier Inn Macclesfield South West, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Gawsworth Hall. Your feedback from the restaurant has been noted and has been duly investigated by the Management team, I am delighted to inform you that the restaurant is now under new management.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Macclesfield South West Premier Inn. Kind regards, Tracey Armstrong Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for one night, and found the reception staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was ok with a good sized bed. The cooked breakfast was not too good - rubbery scrambled eggs, an inedible vegetarian sausage, poor quality tomatoes, and a shortage of crockery. They need to employ some more staff for breakfasts. The waitress was very helpful and couldn't be faulted, but was rushed off her feet. We think it is generally overpriced

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The main hotel staff were very good, helpful, friendly and welcoming it's just a shame that they are badly let down by the bar/resteraunt. The rooms are basic but adequate and clean no complaints there. The Bar and Resteraunt are desperately in need of refurbishment and the food is of poor quality and poor value for money - stay here but don't eat here.

Room Tip: Stay here but don't eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

On our first night of a 3 night stay we went to the bar/restaraunt attached to the hotel. We joined a long queue to order food and when we finally got to order we were told that they had no steak of any kind (even though it featured strongly on the menu) and that there would be a wait of 45 mins. to an hour for food. Breakfast in the morning for which we had pre paid was not much better as they had run out of bacon and the following morning the coffee machine was not working and all they could offer were sachets of decaff. They also ran out of plates and the staff in the restaraunt (apart from one young lady) were rude and offhand. This was in sharp contrast to the staff in the hotel itself who were friendly and helpful and who seemed embarassed by the chaos in the bar/restarant next door. The outside eating/sitting area at the restaraunt was filthy with spilling over ash trays and food on the ground and it certainly was not cleaned during the 3 days that we were there. While the hotel was a typical no frills Premier Inn offering with pleasant, helpful staff we certainly will not return until they sort out the chaos in the attached restaraunt.

Room Tip: Less car park noise on the restaraunt side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Overcooked sausages and bacon tasted awful. Really annoyed that I paid for a premier breakfast and ended up having a croissant and coffee for the £8.25 because the chef couldn't cook.
Rooms were lovely and very comfortable. Staff friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Macclesfield South West, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our breakfast service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As a regular customer of the Premier Inn i was appalled by service in the so called Restaurant at this location, I have never written a bad review of a Premier Inn but this place was beyond belief,
The Menu was poor at best & for most of the time we were staying more than half of it was not available. One morning no kitchen staff turned up to cook Breakfast, There was not enough crockery to eat Cereal from & we were reduced to eating from Costa Coffee Cups??? When we complained to Bar Staff the reply was "Its all right for you mate you don't have to work here"????
Gangster Rap Blared out of the so called Kitchen & you were greeted by the smell of stale fat on arrival in the Car Park. The accommodation was OK but a bit dilapidated. Don't Stay Here!!

Room Tip: Stay at the Premier Inn Macclesfield North, First Class & a world apart from this Dive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Macclesfield South West, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. I

t really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, and for this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

Thank you also for your comments regarding the adjoining restaurant. This is not a Whitbread run establishment, but we will ensure that your feedback is passed to the company responsible for this establishment.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Macclesfield South West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Macclesfield South West

Address: Congleton Road | Gawsworth, Macclesfield SK11 7XD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macclesfields South West Premier Inn is within easy reach of the M6, M62 and M56 and close to Macclesfield train station. Situated in a scenic area of Macclesfield yet only 5 minutes drive from the town centre and local business parks. Local attractions include Gawsworth Hall, Jodrell Bank Science centre and Arley Hall. Our Macclesfield South West Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, free parking, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn Macclesfield South West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Macclesfield South West England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Macclesfield South West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.