We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality fine dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver at Bollington Green

Oliver at Bollington Green
22 High Sreet | Bollington, Macclesfield sk10 5ph, England
01625 575 058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 155 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $54
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: SK10 5PH
UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good quality fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our first visit and we were not dissapointed by the experience. I had "pig" which was pork cooked in several different ways with a rich jus. Very tasty! Ambiance in the resuarant good. Cost £40 per head with wine so not an everyday dining event for us

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    37
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've been wanting to try Oliver at Bollington Green for a while now so when my boss wanted to take me and my husband out I suggested this is the place we should go! I'm very glad I did, the food was excellent, I can't pick out one course as they were all equally delicious, but the homemade peanut brittle was particularly good! Service was great, attentive but not overly so. Will be going back as soon as we can!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I loved this restaurant, as did my husband. Gorgeous food and they will let you bring your own fine wine for £10 corkage. (They have a wine list themselves but the friends we went with have a fantastic cellar). Service excellent, beautiful onion bread freshly baked on the table, terrific choice and deserves all the accolades it receives.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our third visit to Oliver at Bollington Green and again it offered excellent food and service.
We eat out on a fairly regular basis and have tried all restaurants in the local area. Oliver has raised the bar for 'fine dining' with an excellent restaurant offering fantastic food and extremely efficient service.
Mmmmmmmmmmmm Pig!
We will be back again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I went to Oliver after my son had mentioned it a few times, he kept going on about how good the food was. I was not disappointed!

The restaurant itself has a lovely décor with a fantastic ambience. The service was excellent, with staff being very friendly and helpful.

The food was exquisite - to die for. Presentation - exemplary. All three courses were outstanding and you would have to go a very long way to beat this restaurant.
I would highly recommend it to anyone who appreciates fine dining. With the prices being so reasonable for such a wonderful experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver at Bollington Green also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Kerridge, Bollington
 
Bollington, Cheshire
 

Been to Oliver at Bollington Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver at Bollington Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.