We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oliver's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver at Bollington Green

Oliver at Bollington Green
22 High Sreet | Bollington, Macclesfield sk10 5ph, England
01625 575 058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 155 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $54
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: SK10 5PH
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Oliver's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Visited with my wife & friends on Sat.the 6th. Oct. The service was very good & the staff were very pleasant which was good to start off with.The food both starters & main courses were all excellent and a delight to eat.The presentation was also excellent with nice little touches e.g. The onion bread, popcorn & olives to nibble. We would recommend this restaurant for its quality to any discerning person. The only let down is the interior, which is obviously new but is dull, dreary and very uninviting. This is a shame but you go for the food which I say again is excellent, well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    37
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We called in on a Tuesday evening. We were staying at the nearby Shrigley Hall Hotel.
The restaurant was quiet and we learnt that Scott Oliver and his partner had moved from Leeds about a year ago. Leeds loss is Bollington's gain.
The restaurant has about 40 covers. It is well presented and has a cosy feel. On Tuesday and Wednesday there is a fixed price menu offering a choice of four dishes for each course. All the food was locally sourced.
Both my wife and I rated the food as amongst the best we have tasted. It was beautifully presented and piping hot. Two courses were less than £15 so it was great value.
Scott was compiling his Christmas menu so offered a sample of his Dutch Mustard Soup which we both enjoyed,.
If we return to the area we will definittely be calling again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“scrumptious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I have been to Oliver's a few times, so I'd just like to say that the waitresses were very attentive and helpful and that the food was delicious.

I highly recommend the ham hock for starters and the mouth wateringly good pan fried supreme of chicken for mains. (Possibly now one of my favourite dishes)

keep up the good work at Oliver's!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I can thoroughly recommend this lovely little gem hidden away in Bollington, nr. Macclesfield.
This young hard working couple are doing their best in hard times to get a name for themselves and i've no doubt they will if they keep going like this.
I visited with 2 friends for lunch and was surprised to find such quality food with beautiful presentation.
The choice of menu is very good with prices to match. If this restaurant was in the centre of Manchester you'd be paying a lot more.
I had the Goats cheese & caramelised beetroot salad and a white chocolate brownie with homemade ice cream...excellent!...and a good size cappuccino. Friends had the battered fish and beef ciabatta and both were delighted. The sticky toffee pudding I believe was very good too.
Such care, time and effort with everything...decor has a clean fresh modern feel...comfy chairs...good music etc.
We're going back to try the dinner menu which is a different one to the lunch menu. They also do Sunday lunches.
Much deserved compliments to the chef!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A grand experience - food and service really good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Food and service at this small friendly restaurant which is situated overlooking a village green was very good. The restaurant had a really welcoming and relaxing atmosphere. The food was home cooked and the homemade caramalised onion bread rolls were a simple, but a lovely touch as were the homemade chocolate truffles rolled in coconut served with our coffee.

The staff were really warm, friendly and attentive.

We look forward to returning very soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver at Bollington Green also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Kerridge, Bollington
 
Bollington, Cheshire
 

Been to Oliver at Bollington Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver at Bollington Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.