We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor deal” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Abruzzo

Abruzzo
116 Milll Street, Macclesfield, England
01625 502937
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 139 restaurants in Macclesfield
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Postcode: SK11 6NR Phone: 01625 502 937
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Poor deal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had visited here previously and enjoyed the meal and service. This fell well short of acceptable.
They offer a meal deal of £30 per couple for starter and main with a bottle of wine. We both decided to have the steak for which there was a £2.50 supplement. The steak while cooked as requested was not the best with quite a bit more fat and gristle than you would reasonably expect. There were no vegetables just chips, except they were plastic french fries which we hardly touched.
We didn't complain but we won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    99
    17
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food, Great Service, Warm and Friendly Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently visited Abruzzo on a busy Saturday night but the staff still managed to give all the time that their customers deserved with the warmest and friendliest of smiles. I was dining with a blind friend and the service was of the highest order, as were the explanations as to how some of the dishes were cooked and served. Nothing seemed too much to ask of them.

There was also a hen party, a table celebrating a birthday, as well as the usual assortment of diners including several couples just enjoying a night out - which made for a very good atmosphere without being too loud or intrusive.

We both chose the Code di Gamberoni for starters. I think it is important to choose food in a restaurant that you would not normally eat at home or necessarily cook. The king prawns in a white wine and lemon juice sauce with chilli, garlic and cherry tomatoes were cooked just right and combined with the sauce were truly memorable for the subtle flavours.

The main course of baked tuna was chosen off of the specials board and was baked in foil with lemon and cherry tomatoes. The fish was cooked to perfection as were the accompanying vegetables of broccoli, cabbage, carrot and new potatoes. For desert the home made creme brullee didn't disappoint nor did my friend's cheesecake.

Will definitely be back. In terms of food, service and atmosphere, a definite value for money winner !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“You shouldn't have to ask for water more than twice...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

...but we did. After the 3rd time we did get it, but then they brought my partner the wrong main, so I would say maybe customer service could be improved. The food itself was nothing special either. We didn't bother with coffee. Or dessert. Maybe they would suddenly have surprised us with excellence but I doubt it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited Abruzzo for the first time on my dad's birthday, and it didn't disappoint! The food was beautiful, made with fresh ingredients, generous portion sizes and really well presented....the white chocolate profiteroles were to die for! The service was also excellent, no request was too small and the homemade limoncello was a great touch.

Our whole table really enjoyed the whole evening and we will be making regular visits from now on!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Huge let down!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I booked a table for 11 people on a Saturday night for a birthday celebration. When we arrived a stern faced male host showed us to our table..where's the warm welcome? Were about to spend a fortune in your restaurant and you cant even crack a smile?! I explained on arrival that there was infact 12 of us not 11 thinking 1 extra chair wouldnt be a problem. The table we were shown to only seated 10 and the host was very rude when I asked for 2 more seats saying 'were busy, we don't have space for all of you' well im sorry but I booked for 11 and only got a table for 10 definitely not what I asked for and if you cant seat us all we will leave. One of the friendly female waitresses quickly pulled up a small table and 2 extra seats.

Now for the food, we all ordered starters which were nice and very good portion sizes but the same cant be said for the mains. Some were overcooked and some were smaller portions than the starters! The whole way through the meal we were made to feel rushed and none of us would be prepared to return again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abruzzo also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Abruzzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abruzzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.