We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little faded grandeur in pleasant settings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollin Hall Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Hollin Hall Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Jackson Lane, Macclesfield, England
01625 573246
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 147 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Restaurant details
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little faded grandeur in pleasant settings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A lovely looking old hotel with a wonderful sweeping staircase, a grand drawing room and quite a high standard of food, even if the menu was a little limited. The rooms are large enough with fab ensuite, but the decor is looking a little tired and our room had a little mould in the corner. The restaurant was a little chilly in the evening, but fine for breakfast. Booked this with a groupon voucher, so was excellent value as it included dinner, wine, b&b and a cream tea & prosecco.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    13
    5
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great value break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked this break from Travel Zoo (great bargain).
Arriving on Friday evening we were checked in and were pointed in the direction of our room - which i was disappointed with. There was a musty smell and a view of air conditioning units - which made a 'humming' noise, not what i expected from a country break! However, a phone call to reception brought a young man to the room who agreed that the noise was not good. Half an hour later we had been moved to a much quieter room on the other side of the hotel. Both rooms were basic and clean. We had a problem with the TV not working and again we could not fault the helpful staff member who swapped our TV with several other sets until he found a fully functioning one (apart from BBC channels which he said was down to the signal strength).
I guess i had expected more of the room from looking at the website (All 58 bedrooms are different and distinctive) but that is not how i would describe the 2 identical, characterless rooms we visited! But for the money we paid it was amazing value!
We had our evening meal (and wine) included in the deal - the food was great, very good quality, choice and served in a lovely romantic restaurant (which was a little cold and draughty - take a cardie if visiting in the winter!)
Breakfasts were amazing, all home cooked and high quality products, with cereals, fruit, yogurt etc readily available.
All in all a very good break, not the best rooms (maybe because we paid so little) but food and service couldn’t be faulted!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nicely presented”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We did think that the Evening menu was a little limited however, the food we had was nicely presented and tastey.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“great value and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My parents have just come back from a stay at this hotel via a travelzoo deal that I booked - I was slightly worried about them visiting after the negative reviews on this site but they had a great time. Four poster bedroom, afternoon tea (huge scones with cream & jam, flapjacks, brownies, glass of prosecco, pot of coffee..) and a 3 course evening meal (incl bottle of wine) which they thoroughly enjoyed, and a very good breakfast the next morning.
So for good food, friendly staff and superb value for money this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loggerheads, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hot, tasty and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely setting...great for walking and exploring the Macclesfield area. Wonderful for a wedding!Great staff...very helpful.Needing a little TLC but well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollin Hall Country House Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Hollin Hall Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollin Hall Country House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.