We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot better than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legh Arms Adlington

Legh Arms Adlington
London Rd | Adlington Station, Macclesfield, England
01625 829 211
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 147 Restaurants in Macclesfield
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lot better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had the carvery, it was gorgeous. fantastic choices of meats etc, all the trimmings! Really hot, freshly replaced all the time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    22
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great prices but don't expect to get served!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have had 4 bad experiences in the Legh Arms. The service is terrible. It's a shame as they have a good menu and good prices, but they never have enough staff to provide a good service. Last time I ventured in I was sure the experience would be better than the previous occasions. We were shown to a table immediately and ordered our drinks. 20 mins later no drinks and no menu. My husband went to the bar to ask about our drinks and received an apology and told they would bring the drinks over. 15 mins later no drinks and no menu at which time we decided to leave. On previous occasions my daughter received an undercooked chicken burger after waiting 30 mins. On another occasion we waited over 30 mins for our sweet and decided to leave. On each occasion I decided to give them the benefit of the doubt. My mistake! I won't be visiting again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Visited for lunch on Sunday. Very busy place and restaurant full, so opted to eat outside as it was just about warm enough. Will book in future as we enjoy coming here. The menu changes and the choice is good, not limiting to Sunday Lunch which suits us. The carvery looks really good and seems to be very popular. Although busy the food came quickly and was very good. The decor is modern and welcoming and the outdoor seating is good too, just need the weather to go with it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Faboulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We visited the legh arms yesterday for a meal and the food is delicious I had carvery and my husband had gammon my waiter was lovely and smiley and polite excellent fabulous experience would definately recommend!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Visited the Legh Arms for a colleague's birthday and a spot of lunch. We waited for ages at the bar to be served, ordered food and then waited. And waited. And waited. I went up to the bar to point out we were on a break from work and needed to get back before close of business. Huffy barman went off to chase up the order and then reluctantly reappeared with some of our meals. I ordered the fish finger sandwich on malted bread. What arrived was translucent slabs of undercooked fish wrapped in batter with the consistency of play dough slapped between slices of dry brown bread, and a bowl of partly cooked frozen chips. We then waited for an age for condiments to be brought over - one by one. Two of my colleagues ordered the enticing sounding "carvery stack" and were served with a rubbery slice of meat on dry bread! How is that a stack?!? Very poor. Won't eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legh Arms Adlington also viewed

Macclesfield, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 
Prestbury, Cheshire
 

Been to Legh Arms Adlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legh Arms Adlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.