We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollin Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hollin Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Hollin Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jackson Lane | Kerridge, Macclesfield SK10 5BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Macclesfield
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“This is a good hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After reading the trip advisor reviews on this hotel I so very nearly did not use the voucher I had bought for my partners birthday present .
We went and had a really lovely stay . Room 62 a standard twin room was fine and of a good standard . I left a note after the first night saying that we had found the room very hot the previous night and please could we have a fan . It was there when we got back .
The staff were all so pleasant and eager to please . The meal on the first evening really was very nice and breakfast the next morning equally as good .

Thank you to all the staff for a very pleasant stay and hopefully we will be returning in the not too far distant future .
Please do not be put off by previous reviews . I do believe there are some people who only complain and never compliment ! If you have a complaint you should see the staff NOt put it online and damage their business . All hotels are experiencing difficulties at the moment due to the recession and having to do special deals which leave rather less disposable income for refurbishment . Support them and stop complaining !!

Room Tip: Talk to the receptionist about your requirements .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    217
    186
    139
    127
See reviews for
103
428
17
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Please Please dont listen to the rubbish written about this hotel. l think People Just go to places to complain. I have stayed in many 5 star Hotels And have travelled a lot so consider Myself experienced in this field and the bad Comments written about this hotel are ridiculous. The rooms are good, and went in several of them, bathrooms excellent, food good, staff good. The only 'Problem' was the Cleaners a bit slow at dusting and hovering! Please ignore these idiots writing rubbish, it makes me so mad that People Write negatives all the time do everyone a favour and stay at home!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were apprehensive to say the least after reading the reviews . We had purchased the voucher from Travel Zoo and considered getting a refund,but eventually decided to try it for ourselves.Hard to find, but got there eventually Litter and cigarette ends by the door.There had been a Wedding the day before. Beautiful hall dining room and bar. Small reception window but we were dealt with efficiently. large ornate staircase and more steps to negosiate, but managed. There actually is a lift ( ask a member of staff, they will help you to find it ). Our room was down a long modern corridor( Room 54 ). Lovely surprise... large room, decent bathroom, huge TV, nice furniture but dirty window and a clean but stained carpet. After a rest we went down for our glasses of bubbly and afternoon tea, the weather was very humid so we elected to sit outside .....mistake all the smokers were out there, but, they have to light up somewhere don't they ? We enjoyed our scones and cake...lovely......evening meal was beautiful, my steak was as good as any I've had before.....Beds comfortable no problems, nice buttery biscuits on the drinks tray which was well stocked. At breakfast my husband was delighted to discover that kippers were on offer, I prefer fried eggs but only scrambled offered with the cooked display so I asked a staff person and she kindly brought me two fried eggs within 10 minutes. All in all an excellent experience, we would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with our room ( 54 ) but we didn't have any aspect except a tree at very close qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here because we had a Travelzoo deal. It was very good value because it included Champagne cream tea, three course meal with a bottle of wine, accommodation and full breakfast. It was worth the money because the food was lovely and the staff were friendly. However our room was awful. Very basic and shabby with a view of a brick wall. We accepted it because it was only one night and a good deal however had we have booked at the usual price or been staying longer there was no way we would have stayed in this room (number 43). It is not how their website describes it. To be honest the whole place needs a facelift and it's a shame as you can see it was probably nice once.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our second visit, we stayed here last year in a superior room top floor at front for 4 nights, this visit in a standard room middle floor at the back whilst not as modern as the superior room it was certainly good value for the money ( wowcher X 2 ) the room was clean with all the things you expect included although the king size bed was a little firm. The staff are great and nothing is too much trouble, The restaurant offers an excellent if limited choice of evening meal but the quality of the food is superb and the house red wine is very good. Breakfast is a self service affair with regularly refilled fresh food. There was a wedding on when we visited and the hotel was very busy for 24 hours so the public rooms were hectic, but this did not detract from our stay.
I have read many uncomplimentary reviews about this hotel, but our experience is that it offers good value for money and has the character that many modern hotels lack ie friendly staff and good food. We will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I booked afternnon tea for two with champagne at Hollin Hall. It was a hot day when visited and hoped to sit outside and walk in "the landscaped gardens". We arrived to see a dated, dirty hotel, the outside seating area was in the car park and was full of smokers so we had to sit inside. The area we where told to it in was dirty and dated, the waitress although pleasant had a dirty apron on and were left without cutlery and a small pot of tea between us. The 'champagne' was disgusting , the sandwiches far from fresh and made with cheap meat. The scones had Clearly been made some time ago and we had two very small prices of brownie. we went looking for the gardens to walk in and found a very small field, down a steep hill. I often but deals like this but could not recommend this one.....bit of creative writing in thier marketing me thinks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here in the last week of June for just 1 midweek night.
The hotel claims to be a country house but in all honesty I'd disagree on that label. It certainly looks grand from the photos, and indeed, the views from the front of the hotel are of fields and trees which is appealing.
When viewed from the side/rear/any angle other than the front it is difficult to call it anythinig other than a standard hotel which is backed on to by a housing estate.
Our room was a standard double but my goodness it was old! It really was one of the worst rooms we have stayed in in terms of decor, appearance, tattiness and general upkeep. The shower was, well, it got you wet. The toilet paper was actually reminisant of school toilet paper, so cheap it was awful. If a hotel claims to be a country hotel then you'd at least expect them to be able to afford supermarket paper if not better. The bed was fine, well, it was 2 singles pushed together with a bracket keeping them together. It was comfy though. The room really was showing it's age, a refurb is a must for sure. It was also quite dim in there. Luckily we were only staying 1 night.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant and that was a rather mixed experience as well.
The restaurant has been recently refurbished, apparently, and it did appear inviting and it had a good atmosphere.
Our main gripe is the wine. It is shocking that a country house hotel can have such a limited selection of wines, but more importantly, serve supermarket wines at the prices it advertised. I don't mind paying for a decent wine with my food, and if it's one I don't recognise then even better as I like trying new wines. However, serving Banrock Station (£4.99-£5.99 Sainsburys)and Valencia (£5.99) at £18.95 and higher is disgraceful! It is simply cheap plonk. That was the cheapest wine on the menu, no house red or white. In a country house hotel dining restaurant you'd expect better. The food was fine, nothing special, so no complaints there.

Breakfast was served in the same room and it was limited. Scrambled eggs only choice of eggs, sausages, beans, tomatoes, hash brown, toast.
It was poor because the bread was just plain white/brown supermarket bought. No rustic/speciality breads at all. No locally sourced products (which it claims to use) were displayed at all. The yogurts almost resembled Asdas own brand.
It staggers me that they didn't take any effort with breakfast. Little cards explaning that the sausages were from a farmer down the road, same for the other products would have gone so much further and showed they cared. This is what I'd have thought people wanting to stay in a country house hotel would be expecting.
On viewing the refurbished restaurant in the mornig, it was clear that it was done some time ago. The wooden chair legs were all scuffed, the carpet dirty in places, lampshades broken, lights not working and the wooden doors out to a patio were rotten at the bottom. It doesn't take a handyman much time to tidy these things up but as guest you see them clearly and it leaves an impression on you.
On leaving we did ask to see a superior room to see how it compared. The one we saw was certainly decorated to a higher standard but they had only done 6 of the 50+ rooms. This needs to be a touch quicker I think as I would not recomend staying in the rooms not yet touched.
The service was very good by the staff though. Very pleasant and helpful. Well done.
I'm glad we didn't pay full price for our stay as we were using a Dealmonster voucher.
A shame it didn't live up to our expectations of a Country House Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollin Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollin Hall Hotel

Address: Jackson Lane | Kerridge, Macclesfield SK10 5BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Macclesfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollin Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing elegantly in landscaped grounds, Hollin Hall Country House Hotel & Restaurant offers a tranquil retreat in one of Britain's most beautiful locations. The 19th Century Victorian House is set in four acres of wooded gardens surrounded by Cheshire countryside which brings a sense of occasion to any visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hollin Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollin Hall Hotel Macclesfield, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollin Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.